We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must & will go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must & will go back!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I wanted to have a unique 50th birthday & had fallen in love with Grand Cayman on a cruise years earlier. I booked an air/hotel package thru an online travel company & this is the resort I was booked at. I wasn't a diver, but it had always interested me, so I figured that since I was going to a dive resort I might as well check it out. I completed my classroom & confined water dives at my local dive shop & planned on getting my open water certification here. The day I was going to start was two days after the earthquake in Haiti & the water that normally is very calm was really rough. I stepped off the dive boat twice & was just too overwhelmed by the waves & current & decided not to try again. We went back to the shop & found out it wasn't supposed to calm down until the day I left. HOWEVER - not diving did not take anything away from this trip. I have never stayed in a more beautiful, peaceful place. Everyone was so friendly - even when my trip turned into a non-diving one. My room was perfect in every way. I knew enough about the resort to know to bring my own groceries, etc & my stay was everything & more that I could have wanted. I can't wait to go back as soon as I can!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazed755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    62
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
216
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel is located in a relatively remote part of the Grand Cayman, which is a tremendous plus if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of a big city. All rooms have ocean view, which was fabulous. This is a perfect place, for those who want to avoid expensive restaurants and don't mind cooking in a fully equipped kitchen. We also took full advantage of the outdoor grill. The only thing to keep in mind is the limited cleaning service. A maid comes in every day to make the bed, but doesn't wipe floors, or clean the bath tub, or change towels. You have to pay extra for all those perks. We also had trouble with the wi-fi reception, but it seemed to be room-specific.
We selected this resort because of its diving services and weren't disappointed - 5 star rating! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. However, if you're traveling with someone, who doesn't dive, please be aware that the beach is very small and waters are not "swimmable". There is seaweed everywhere. As an alternative to the beach, you can take advantage of the pool and the sun deck. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alonnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We booked a package with Compass Point, and Ocean Frontiers (on-site dive shop; separate review). Our stay was 9 days and we wished it was longer.

The package included a car rental with Avis -- this was a very small Daihatsu, ok for 2 people and dive equipment but if you need more room, upgrade. The rental is for 24 hours; if you go over time they'll charge you $7.50/hour. After a couple of incorrect turns at the roundabouts, we made it easily to Compass Point.

As we requested, we had an upper (3rd floor) room. There are no elevators so you'll get to carry your gear up if you choose this. The view is spectacular -- when you enter the apt, you just see ocean, like I'd imagine a view from a ship. Each 1-br apt is about 725 Sq Ft, a nice size for a week or two. It would be cramped with more than 2 people but there are Murphy beds if anyone wants to try it.

The rooms have queen beds. There's a bath/shower combination, with lots of hot water and Jacuzzi jets. The bathroom is compact and functional. The kitchen is well-equipped, even with a pitcher for drinks and lots of cooking utensils. There's a washer/dryer and a dishwasher. The units are self-catering, but also include a small welcome package of salt/pepper, dish detergent, a roll of paper towels etc so you don't have to run out right away. You will need to take your own shampoo and conditioner etc.

A couple of eco-friendly features -- the toilets are low-flow (6 L flush), and the A/C is set to a low-use mode, which will turn off if the door is left on. There are also sensors in the living room, and if the apt isn't used for a couple of hours, the A/C turns off.

The balcony is large and we enjoyed eating breakfast there every am. There's lots of light in the units, no need to turn on the lights until after dark.

There's no restaurant on site, but apparently will be a bar soon. We enjoyed making our own meals anyway. There's a Fosters Express about 10 min away, and better stores in Savannah, about 25 min away.

Currently there are two buildings, one with 1-br and one with 2-br units. Under construction is a 3rd building across the street. We did a tour -- these new units will be larger, with 1 1/2 baths and king beds and another pool. You can buy timeshares in these.

We awoke every morning with a rooster who crowed at the decent hour of 6:30. The tanks start clanging at around 7 am -- this is a dive resort, not an all-inclusive, and I don't think anyone complains about tank noise. Aside from that and the occasional dog, there's really no noise including very little traffic. The location is ideal for peace and quiet.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and if introduced, remember your name.

Once a week there's a Diver's Night, with food and dive videos. They also have an orientation afternoon with rum punch and an intro to activities. Other diversions offered include yoga, kiteboarding and moonlight bioluminescence kayaking. There are TVs in bedroom and living room with decent channels, and free high-speed internet. There's a beach with lounge chairs and shade. Overall the vibe is "dive and relax".

Housekeeping kept the place clean, although we didn't always need their services. The accommodation was free of bugs.

We really, really enjoyed our stay at Compass Point and are already planning our next trip. Grand Cayman in general is expensive but staying here is very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Just bought a fractional share here -- what more can I say. This is the Cayman you completely miss if you stay in the Seven Mile Beach tourist ghetto. Oh, and the island's best dive operation, Ocean Frontiers, is on site.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrovner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This was a great place to stay if you like diving. They took our gear when we checked in and had it waiting on the boat for us for our diving each day. We felt so spoiled that we didnt have to rinse and hang our gear every night. East end diving was awesome! Makes it hard to dive in California again. We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle, TX
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Compass Point. We were able to walk to the pier for our dives, and loved being away from the traffic. A drive into town took about 30 minutes, but the scenery is wonderful. We drove to Rum Point a few times, and that drive was not bad at all. The restaurants in the area were phenominal. I don't think we had a bad meal out! We also liked the fact we could cook in for some meals. This definitely saved us money. We found the place we will stay every time we go to the Caymans!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Stayed 12 days, dived for 11 of those days.
Great personal service from everyone in the operation (accommodations and diving).
Room was clean, fabulous view from patio (ocean front).
Dive operation was very efficient, everyone we observed was hard working, conscientious, and customer oriented.
No restaurant on site but several located nearby (Miss Arlene's, Miss Vivine's, Portofino's, Over the Edge Cafe).
Microwave, stove/oven, fridge, coffee maker, toaster in the kitchen.
We bought groceries (Hurley's, Fosters/Fosters Express) and cooked in more often than we ate out (can be expensive, depending on where you go).
Enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere of the East End, diving was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TortugaRumCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,647 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing