We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Compass Point Condos, and Dive op, is by far the Best place I have Stayed, and Dived. The staff is TOP notch, The condo appeared Brand new, (though I know it is not). Condo is well equipped with Everything to make your stay feel like home in paradise. Ocean Frontiers is by far the Best Dive op I have ever dived with, they really do have a handle on Customer service, they are very safe, but let you dive your own profile. Non Divers, please do not write Negative reviews, because YOU failed to do your home work before traveling. Will be returning here for sure.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dive328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    60
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
131
204
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

rooms are clean, good size and great location overlooking the sea. Be advised they are expanding by building new rooms across the road which will not be facing directly at the sea. We had a twin bedroom(larger) condo which could have slept 6 but is suited to 4 adults as 2 of the beds are in the living room(murphy beds) and really best suited to children. You have all you need to cook your own food and wash/dry your own clothes etc. There is a mid size grocery store about 3 miles away(north east) which sells everything you need, 15 miles away in Savanna(west) is a large supermarket(same brand as local store, Fosters) which has a wider choice. Note; liquor is not sold in the grocery but each one has a liquor store near to it so you can buy your beer/wine etc at the same time.

The resort location is quiet and peaceful. The diving operation is well run and the diving is very good. Having dived in many places this has the best corals and swim throughs we've ever seen but the Maldives has more fish life. the diving is all boat diving and we advise travel sickness tablets if you're at all seasick, the dive shop sells them if you are caught short and the large grocery sells them at half the dive shop price. If you are a beginner the diving could be a little challenging as its typically deep ~100ft(30m) for the first dive including swim throughs which can be totally dark and 20-30ft long. Second dive normally 50-60ft and easier. Most deep dives involve swimming over the edge of the drop off through a swim through(tunnel)and along the wall, shallow dives can be in the same area but on the reef top. You can normally avoid the swim throughs by following the bubbles of the others and swimming over the top but it could be a bit scary for a novice diver to be out alone above the bubbles of others in a tunnel. Expect to see turtles, sting rays, nurse sharks, morays, groupers etc.... They also have nice juvenile drum fish on some dives and lion fish(which are vermin on these reefs and are captured and killed buy licence from the government).

The beach is ok but the water is full of sea grass and is not good for swimming. Nearest good bit of beach for weed free swimming is Rum point about 20mins drive north west. If you want to lie on a beach and swim all day then stay on 7 mile beach.

There are 1 or 2 local restaurants in easy walking distance but you really need a car to get to the shops and a wider choice of restaurant.

East End is very quiet and rural compared to 7 mile beach end of the island, if you want to go to McDonalds, KFC, pizza Hut, Domino's, Hiltons, Holiday inns etc and be in a mini Florida then stick to 7 mile beach. If you want peace and are happy trying local foods and making your own entertainment then East End is great.

Summing up;
Good location for peace and quiet
Good diving operation on site
Need to have a car to get to shops and restaurants
Beach is not really suitable for swimming and therefore its not a good place for non divers
Condos are large, clean and everything works

Worth a look are the botanical gardens 15mins drive - great large blue Iguanas and also try the Mastic Trail if you are a hiker. The trail is free and takes about 2 hours to walk one way(its not circular so you also have 2 hours to walk back unless you have 2 cars and leave one at the other end ready. The trail goes through ancient old forest with birds, snakes(not poisonous), agoutis and other creatures. Wear long trousers and long sleeves and take insect repellent or you'll be bitten to pieces. Don't walk in thongs(flip flops) as the ground is very rocky and rough, you need trainers or something similar. there are no shops or anything on the trail so take at least 1-2 litres of water each and a snack if you get hungry easily. Not a good place for a light stroll but if you like nature and can walk for 2-4 hours its great.

We hired a car from Andy's rental cars but it was very beaten up with 55k on the clock and when returned they stiffed me $240 for a damaged door handle that was damaged when I took the car out but which I didn't spot the guy had left off the paperwork. After all I had just got off a 13 hour flight and the car had dents in every panel on it including the roof so it was hard to spot one more bit of damage not being marked on the rental sheet. I am a seasoned car renter having rented well over 100 cars over the years around the world for both business and pleasure and I know what to expect. I WOULD NEVER RENT FROM ANDY'S AGAIN i'd pay the extra few bucks and rent from Hertz or Avis etc...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The diving is incredible - lots to see and the best swim throughs around. The dive organization, Ocean Frontiers, is very well run and they are great to dive with. They have a great "crate system" where all your gear is put in your own crate - and they clean and have ready for you every day. The rooms are very nice and clean and great ocean views. The location is off the beaten path. If you want tons of people and traffic, do not stay at the East End - stay at 7 mile beach. There is a little grocery store nearby and nice restaurants. You can also cook out on Compass Point's grills right on the sand at the ocean front. We have stayed here several times and while my husband and I are diving, our kids are very well cared for by staff going snorkeling, playing at the pool and doing driftwood painting. Very nice divers night with a buffet dinner and movies. Great videographer on staff at Ocean Frontiers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Large condo rooms that are very warm and relaxing. Excellent dive shop with great staff. Diving was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The crew from Ocean Frontiers is what was "raved" to us about visiting Grand Cayman - loved the condos, but because of OF, we'd sleep in tents if we had to, to have them take us diving every time we return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

What makes this resort stand above all others I have visited is the service, professionalism and friendliness of the staff. Oh, and the diving is the BEST!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaChickFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The location and weather was unbeatable during our stay. The dive crew was excellent and very helpful. The rooms were clean and perfect ! BUT make sure once you're in your room you don't need anything because if you have the go into the shop its a nightmare! We've never been treated so disrespectfully.... all good outside and underwater but avoid the desk if there are any BLONDE BRITS! If it weren't for my husbands calming efforts we would have moved after we were checked in... until they leave we won't return. Great diving though thank you dive guides!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubasuagr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Compass Point Dive Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2010
Dear Scubasuagr1122,

I was alarmed and concerned to read your review and took some time to try and understood what happened, so it didn't happen again. This is our first 'poor' review and I wanted to assure you that your experience was an exception, not the norm.

However, the person you are referring to is no longer with the company, which has made it difficult for me to figure out what happened and why. I would be most grateful if you could email me directly at steve@compasspoint.ky - I understand that this is a public forum and you are by no means obligated to respond.

I am glad that you enjoyed your diving trips and the rest of your stay with us in the Cayman Islands.

Sincerely,

Steve Broadbelt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Property: Compass Point Dive Resort
Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing