We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous eco resort - perfect for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I spent a week at this resort and loved it. The condos are very eco friendly and the wireless internet access is fast and reliable. We loved being right at the dive resort and dove with Ocean Frontiers all week. The resort is super quiet and the nights are calm. There is a pool on site but no jacuzzi. They will rinse and store your dive gear in secure lockers below the pool. They also have great bikes and kayaks that you can use at no extra charge. During the day, they have a small store open where you can get snacks, food and souvenirs. A few things to note - it can be very bright in the unit. My husband likes the dark when he sleeps so we hung a blanket over the window (there are blinds but no curtains). There is no sandy beach area so you can't really swim in the ocean right next to the boat. Also, do not leave any food out on the counters - the ants will swarm it. But, if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, state of the art place to stay on the East End, then this is the resort for you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78brooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

Compass Point Condos, and Dive op, is by far the Best place I have Stayed, and Dived. The staff is TOP notch, The condo appeared Brand new, (though I know it is not). Condo is well equipped with Everything to make your stay feel like home in paradise. Ocean Frontiers is by far the Best Dive op I have ever dived with, they really do have a handle on Customer service, they are very safe, but let you dive your own profile. Non Divers, please do not write Negative reviews, because YOU failed to do your home work before traveling. Will be returning here for sure.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank dive328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

rooms are clean, good size and great location overlooking the sea. Be advised they are expanding by building new rooms across the road which will not be facing directly at the sea. We had a twin bedroom(larger) condo which could have slept 6 but is suited to 4 adults as 2 of the beds are in the living room(murphy beds) and really best suited to children. You have all you need to cook your own food and wash/dry your own clothes etc. There is a mid size grocery store about 3 miles away(north east) which sells everything you need, 15 miles away in Savanna(west) is a large supermarket(same brand as local store, Fosters) which has a wider choice. Note; liquor is not sold in the grocery but each one has a liquor store near to it so you can buy your beer/wine etc at the same time.

The resort location is quiet and peaceful. The diving operation is well run and the diving is very good. Having dived in many places this has the best corals and swim throughs we've ever seen but the Maldives has more fish life. the diving is all boat diving and we advise travel sickness tablets if you're at all seasick, the dive shop sells them if you are caught short and the large grocery sells them at half the dive shop price. If you are a beginner the diving could be a little challenging as its typically deep ~100ft(30m) for the first dive including swim throughs which can be totally dark and 20-30ft long. Second dive normally 50-60ft and easier. Most deep dives involve swimming over the edge of the drop off through a swim through(tunnel)and along the wall, shallow dives can be in the same area but on the reef top. You can normally avoid the swim throughs by following the bubbles of the others and swimming over the top but it could be a bit scary for a novice diver to be out alone above the bubbles of others in a tunnel. Expect to see turtles, sting rays, nurse sharks, morays, groupers etc.... They also have nice juvenile drum fish on some dives and lion fish(which are vermin on these reefs and are captured and killed buy licence from the government).

The beach is ok but the water is full of sea grass and is not good for swimming. Nearest good bit of beach for weed free swimming is Rum point about 20mins drive north west. If you want to lie on a beach and swim all day then stay on 7 mile beach.

There are 1 or 2 local restaurants in easy walking distance but you really need a car to get to the shops and a wider choice of restaurant.

East End is very quiet and rural compared to 7 mile beach end of the island, if you want to go to McDonalds, KFC, pizza Hut, Domino's, Hiltons, Holiday inns etc and be in a mini Florida then stick to 7 mile beach. If you want peace and are happy trying local foods and making your own entertainment then East End is great.

Summing up;
Good location for peace and quiet
Good diving operation on site
Need to have a car to get to shops and restaurants
Beach is not really suitable for swimming and therefore its not a good place for non divers
Condos are large, clean and everything works

Worth a look are the botanical gardens 15mins drive - great large blue Iguanas and also try the Mastic Trail if you are a hiker. The trail is free and takes about 2 hours to walk one way(its not circular so you also have 2 hours to walk back unless you have 2 cars and leave one at the other end ready. The trail goes through ancient old forest with birds, snakes(not poisonous), agoutis and other creatures. Wear long trousers and long sleeves and take insect repellent or you'll be bitten to pieces. Don't walk in thongs(flip flops) as the ground is very rocky and rough, you need trainers or something similar. there are no shops or anything on the trail so take at least 1-2 litres of water each and a snack if you get hungry easily. Not a good place for a light stroll but if you like nature and can walk for 2-4 hours its great.

We hired a car from Andy's rental cars but it was very beaten up with 55k on the clock and when returned they stiffed me $240 for a damaged door handle that was damaged when I took the car out but which I didn't spot the guy had left off the paperwork. After all I had just got off a 13 hour flight and the car had dents in every panel on it including the roof so it was hard to spot one more bit of damage not being marked on the rental sheet. I am a seasoned car renter having rented well over 100 cars over the years around the world for both business and pleasure and I know what to expect. I WOULD NEVER RENT FROM ANDY'S AGAIN i'd pay the extra few bucks and rent from Hertz or Avis etc...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The diving is incredible - lots to see and the best swim throughs around. The dive organization, Ocean Frontiers, is very well run and they are great to dive with. They have a great "crate system" where all your gear is put in your own crate - and they clean and have ready for you every day. The rooms are very nice and clean and great ocean views. The location is off the beaten path. If you want tons of people and traffic, do not stay at the East End - stay at 7 mile beach. There is a little grocery store nearby and nice restaurants. You can also cook out on Compass Point's grills right on the sand at the ocean front. We have stayed here several times and while my husband and I are diving, our kids are very well cared for by staff going snorkeling, playing at the pool and doing driftwood painting. Very nice divers night with a buffet dinner and movies. Great videographer on staff at Ocean Frontiers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Large condo rooms that are very warm and relaxing. Excellent dive shop with great staff. Diving was awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The crew from Ocean Frontiers is what was "raved" to us about visiting Grand Cayman - loved the condos, but because of OF, we'd sleep in tents if we had to, to have them take us diving every time we return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

What makes this resort stand above all others I have visited is the service, professionalism and friendliness of the staff. Oh, and the diving is the BEST!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaChickFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £138 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing