We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold standard for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Compass Point Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Just got back from Grand Cayman today. Stayed 5 nights at Compass Point with my son (he's 30) and a friend. Other reviews are spot on. I took the certification course. The instructor- Britta- was excellent and the whole operation is top drawer. We'll be back. Even if you are not diving, East End of Grand Cayman is definitely where to stay if you want to relax. West End has grown hugely in the 8 years since our last visit. Yesterday there were four, count 'em four, cruise ships tied up at Georgetown. The West End looks like Florida 20 years ago, but once you get to Bodden Town you are back in the Carribean.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Brophysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2007

Repeat visitor - rooms are very nice diver style in excellent condition - steps from the boats. Dives are Caribbean scale 9+. Fish life is variable by season - always good numbers - sometimes lots and variety from tiny to Hammerheads. East End location is quiet but shopping, restaurants and entertainment within a few minutes drive.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

The units are very nice! Recently decorated, and nice water views. The location is in the middle of Grand Cayman, not near the honkey tonk of 7 mile beach, but not near the nicer part either, Rum Point. Can't walk on the beach, on a main road so can't jog, had to drive to restaurants which are not nearby. The pool is used for dive refresher courses so it is kinda lame, but clean. The diving wasn't so good. NO FISH, and staff didn't seem to care or make an effort to find any. They were nice and energetic but the dive sites were amateurish at best. They had us doing "dive throughs" like that was a big thrill, and a videotogher was following us about! We cancelled our last day of diving. I don't recommend this place for anyone with any serious dive experience. Its probably safe to say that Grand Cayman isn't a divers paradise afterall, the fish just aren't there anymore.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank lillibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Our experience at Compass Point is similar to the other reviews. If you are a diver you will love this place. The dive masters are some of the best in the world. The diving locales are varied and numerous. You will love this place.
For snorkeling around the Island you must take a boat to access the best sites. In December/Jan there is a bit of wind.
The condo was great. Very comfortable, relaxing, and convenient to the dive boats. The website properly represents what you get.
Provision yourself at the supermarket at the airport before heading to the East End. The condo has toilet paper and trash bags. You might want to get coffee filters, paper towels, bar b q brickets and lighter fluid, seasonings, etc to make your stay more comfortable. There is a small convenience store nearby but your limited on fresh produce, meats, fish, etc. Dining out? Try the Lighthouse and Portofinos. Pricy- dinner for two $130US, but that is par for the course on the Island. We ate in mostly and found it to be relaxing and money saving.
If you have a chance, go to Rum Point for the day. About 30 minute drive and worth it. You can purchase food and drinks there at prices you can deal with. Great place for the whole family.
The seven mile beach is beautiful and nice for swimming and general water sports. There is a public beach next to the Governer's House just a bit north of the Ritz Carlton. Nice way to spend an afternoon if you want to see that part of the Island.
Would we go back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank artful9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

I love Little Cayman where its quiet and remote. People have suggested I try Compass Point, saying that it was a lot like LC, and the reviews for it here are fab. People had told me that the east end of GC was like LC. Reality check - not really.

All of Grand Cayman is like a a big suburb in that you have to drive somewhere to do anything, and there is one busy main road around the island. This main road is @ 20' from the CP condos. On both sides of CP are private houses so you couldn't have a nice quiet walk along the beach or inland from the condos. We could walk down the busy main road to another more secluded beach along the main road.

You can however drive your rental car to secluded quiet beaches and places around the island which is nice but still its a lot of driving and where ever you go you are almost always near that main road. Except the botanic park - that was nice and quiet.

The condos get an A+ - they're in tip top shape. And the local grocers have everything you can get at a US grocery store so you don't even feel like you've left the US.

Re: snorkeling: I don't think there is any decent snorkeling on GC. We tried several places and they all paled in comparison to Little Cayman and Mexico and everywhere else I've snorkeled.

I got my fill of diving on LC so I didn't dive at CP, but their opertaion seemed tip top and everyone says its a great operation. (Note: A few people have told me that diving is better on LC).

I won't go back to GC (unless I get a job there heh) but I would certainly recommend CP to friends as long as they know the above.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

We just arrived home last night and I can't wait to go back. My group consisted of 12 family members (4 that were under 8) and none of us dive.

As a result we had the pool and beach to ourselves. We were looking for a lazy and relaxing vacation and we got it.

The condos are fully equipped and you can save a lot of money by buying groceries and eating in. There are beach front grills and the elevated pool deck has one too.

The only down fall was that the resort is at least 20 minutes from Rum point and about 40 from Georgetown. We kept our trips limited and spent a lot of time at the resort. It is hard to access the ocean since there is a barrier of coral, but the pool is a great substitute.

The customer service is top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank winter-schminter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank scubacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,780 reviews
18.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Dive Resort

Address: 346 Austin Connoly Drive, East End KY1 1801, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East End
Price Range: £138 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Compass Point Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAID BACK LUXURY....Located on the untouched, pristine East End of the Island. Situated approximately 21 miles East from Grand Cayman's international airport and approximately 1 mile past the sleepy village of East End.Compass Point Dive Resort Compromises of 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom oceanfront and poolside condominiums, each with their own private patio or balcony. Each condominium is beautifully appointed with stylish island decor and fully equipped with all of the comforts of home. New in 2013, Eagle Ray's Bar & Grill, dockside overlooking the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Point Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Dive Hotel East End
Compass Point Dive Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - East End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing