We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Oliver's”
Review of Captain Oliver's

Captain Oliver's
Ranked #13 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Captain Oliver's
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Captain Oliver's”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Captain Oliver's impressed with some of the worst service experienced on the Friendly Island. Apart from slow and apparently generally unhappy to be in the service industry, the food served (eventually) isn't anything special whatsoever.
They have a great desert, though. You leave the table, walk to your car, get in it, start it, leave Captain Oliver's and pick up some Mövenpick ice cream at the store. I can only recommend it.
Don't go to Captain Oliver's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thmsrbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    112
    89
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turner Valey, Alberta
Level Contributor
281 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Lunch not the best”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The ambience is nice and the staff was pleasant. We sat on the "see-through floor" which allowed us to watch all the fish below while we waited for our food, however the piece of glass that my husband sat on had a huge crack in it which was a bit freaky. He chose to stay there. I had an omelette with broiled tomatoes that tasted good. My husband had a burger that was bland. We also had a 750 ml water for which we were charged $6. Overall, I don't think we would go back, not for the value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast not the best”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Price was affordable, wait staff very nice, but slow and quality only ok. There are better choices to have breakfast.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank familyof4fortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have the fish”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This restaurant is nicely situated on the water. A musician adds to a great atmosphere. We were not seated on the glass floor, but learned later that there is one and you can see the fish swimming beneath you. Ask to be seated there if you go. The food is reasonably priced. I had the beef stroganoff and while the taste was good, it had some gristle. My fellow diners had fish and found it very tasty. Parking is not always easy, but can be found on the street above if you can handle the walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss It”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We ate at Captain Oliver's last night and cannot say enough nice things about this restaurant. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Food was amazing. My sister had the escargot appetizer - 12 escargot in a lovely sauce served on puff pastry - wonderful presentation. My husband had the tuna sashimi with lemon butter dipping sauce - he said it melted in his mouth. Our entree's were superb as well - shrimp, sirloin steak and surf & turf. Both steaks were cooked to perfection, the bearnaise sauce was delicious and the sides were outstanding too. We raved over the tomato provencal that came with my steak. The profiterole dessert quickly disappeared between the three of us. The live music was very enjoyable without being intrusive, and watching our waiter dance with one of the other diners was a high point.
We arrived at the same time as a ferry, which made getting to the parking lot a challenge, but the meal was worth every bit of difficulty. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Oliver's also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Captain Oliver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing