We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island Gem”

Mr. Busby's Beach Bar
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Island Gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We came to this restaurant on our last night on the island. It was a good idea that we did because we would have missed a great place. Daniels is very close to the Westin hotel, so it is very convenient if you are staying there. The owner walked around as well; he made us feel very welcome to his restaurant. The chicken with mushrooms was exceptionally good. Thanks for the great night!

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1928, Manager at Mr. Busby's Beach Bar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much , your review is well appreciated , on behalf of my staff and myself we thank you for taking the time to write your review .

Daniel & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    590
    236
    76
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of our favorites on the island”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Whenever we go to St Maaten we always visit Busby's. My day always starts with a swim at Dawn beach followed by breakfast at Busby's. Love the Johnny cakes with eggs and ham. Kinda like an egg McMuffin only with flavor. Service is a little slow, but that's typical on the island given the laid back attitude. We also had lunch one day, jerk chicken sandwiches and fries (also very good). The atmosphere is outstanding. One of the few beach bars that aren't always packed with people. Did not try Daniels, the evening restaurant because we heard it takes two - three hours to get through the entire affair. Apparently they fancy it up at night, and that's not really my thing. Don't know if that's true, but that's what we heard from others.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RicV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real home italian meal”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

been to this restaurant a couple of time and it keep surprising me more and more.
the food, the ambiance, the staff everything is to die for.
ask for my special tiramisu witch has cacao and cinnamon powder.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendell l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taking advantage of resort patrons without cars”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you are staying on Oyster Pond and you don't have a car Mr. Busby's will be glad to take your money, give you so-so food and provide you with some of the worst service I have ever had. Don't get sucked in, walk around the marina, there are much better places to eat for the same or less money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xplic1tbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grilled Grouper and Rum”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our first lunch in St. Maarten was at Mr. Busby's Beach Bar. A wonderful, flavorful fresh Grouper sandwich and a rum drink is the perfect meal here. The restaurant is right on the water next to the Oyster Bay Resort. If you walk here from the Westin (and you should) wear tennis or reef shoes. Sandals will not survive the walk. The staff is really friendly. They have a nice menu that includes pizza. You will be very happy you had a meal here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Busby's Beach Bar also viewed

Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Mr. Busby's Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing