We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We just got back from a weeks stay at the Sol Hotel. It was perfect. For price and location this hotel is the best on the island. the view from the patio of the marina is outstanding.The hotel only has 10 rooms so it is very cozy and romantic. We were within walking distance to three restaurants that had excellent food. One in particular- the dinghy dock has the best happy hour. What makes the hotel different from most others is Collette, the manager. She was wonderful, anything we needed or had questions about she took care of. We will be going back. Check it out, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjweigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

We had a wonderful 10 day stay at Sol Hotel. Colette, the owner, is very nice and helpful. Every one of her recommendations from rental car company to restaurants to places to visit were perfect. We had a great view of the marina at Oyster Pond. Colette went out of her way to meet us in her office when we needed to print boarding passes. I strongly suggest you rent a car if you want to see the Island, but driving is not for the faint of heart. And be sure to slow down for the speed bumps!
Colette responded quickly to the e-mails I sent before we went and met us at our estimated arrival time. As the hotel is small, she is not always in the office, but goes out of her way to be there when you ask. Oyster Pond (really a bay, with a small opening to the Ocean) does not have a beach, but several nice ones are nearby. Don't miss the Butterfly Farm. Early morning is the best time to visit it. Nana's is a great small eatery for breakfast and a two minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbsvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Wow...leaving the cold to go celebrate our 100th birthday (my husband and I will both be 50 this year) on this beautiful island couldn't have been better! The Sol Hotel was away from all the hustle and bustle in an almost residential neighborhood, yet easily accessible to all the activity. Colette, the owner, was so warm, friendly, and more than accommodating. By week's end, she felt like family. The rooms were simple, yet clean and the view was gorgeous! We would certainly go back again and again...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesadventure04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The place is quiet, the view is beautiful, the hotel is cute, the owner is charming, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomad069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed at the Sol Hotel for the first week of February on what was our first trip to St Martin. We enjoyed our stay very much. Collette who runs the place is very friendly and helpful and made suggestions for eating and sightseeing. The rooms are a good size with a balcony and a small kitchen. There is wi-fi available but you have to position yourself near the office to get a signal. This is no great hardship as the area overlooks the pool and there are loungers and chairs.

We sometimes had breakfast at Nana's which is a cafe/ takeout nearby. On one evening we ordered a meal from Nana's and ate it on our balcony. This proved to be excellent value. However the mosquitoes seemed to also enjoy feasting on our pale, northern European skin so I would recommend sprays and candles etc. if you want to enjoy your balcony. We took a taxi from the airport when we arrived and had a rental car delivered by Automax the following day. We were able to drop the car off at the airport at the end of our stay. In travelling around the island we did not find anywhere that we would rather have stayed and it was always good to come back to the hotel at the end of each day. It would however be very limiting to stay in Oyster Pond without a car.

We enjoyed the happy hour at the Dinghy Dock Bar and afterwards went to local restaurants and it sometimes felt that we were travelling from the USA to France in the space of a few hundred yards!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We did quite some research about Sint Maarten and small scale hotels and B&B’s on the island. We were looking for an atmospheric place with nice rooms, an attractive pool area, friendly service and if possible an ocean view from our balcony. And all this without paying a fortune. Sol Hotel was exactly what we were looking for and exceeded our expectations! Colette’s warm welcome and advice on activities and restaurants were really great. The location is just stunning and a small supermarket (Epicerie), a lively bar in the harbour (Dinghy Dock Bar) and some restaurant options are all within walking distance. Our room (Comfort room) had a large balcony with small kitchen and offered a bit more privacy because it did not have a direct access / open view to the pool area. We can definitely recommend the Comfort room. See the pictures for the view from our balcony. The room was cleaned every day. The only disadvantages we can think of are: the mosquitoes (but they are everywhere on the island) and that you need a car to go to the nice beaches. The closest beaches are Dawn Beach on the Dutch side, with a rather American atmosphere and Baie Lucas on the French side with a deserted feeling and no facilities. In terms of beaches we really liked Le Galion and Pinel Island. Sol Hotel offers great value for money and we had an excellent time at this small and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirjam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 days after returning from a 4-day sail from Oyster Pond with some friends. I can't add much to the previous reviews. Collette upgraded us to Room 9 (the "suite"), and we were very happy. The bed was comfortable; the view beautiful; and the service good. The only thing we wished for were comfortable lounge chairs outside on the porch. We enjoyed meals at restaurants recommended by Collette (especially La Frigate, just a 5-minute drive away, and Quai Ouest (walking distance down the hill at the marina). Recommended!

Our friends have 3 boys, so they stayed at La Louisiane across the street (also managed by Collette) and had a very nice 2-bedroom suite with living room. However, their kitchen was not very well outfitted and could use some updating. They also did not have any lounge chairs on the porch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: £62 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing