We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We choose to stay in Sol Hotel on our way to St. Barths because of the good comments on Trip Advisor. The room is lovely, the view on the bay magnificent. It`s perfect and quite. Colette is very friendly. We will centarly stay their again if we go back to St. martin.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

On our second visit to Sint Maarten/Saint Martin, my wife and I chose this 2-star hotel because of positive comments on TripAdvisor.. and we cannot regret of our choice.

Sol'hôtel is located on a quiet area in the French side. This is great if you just want to get away from everything for a couple of days, but could be an issue if you are planning to roam around the island, because the place is rather far from most of the attractions in the island. During the day this should not be a problem, because the island is quite small, but driving to Oyster Pond at night can be tiring and a bit dangerous, because of the absence of street lighting, narrow roads and poor traffic signing.

Closest beaches are Galion and Baie Orientale (around 15 min drive) while other places such as Marigot, Simpson Bay or Maho Beach are farther (Princess Juliana Airport is the farthest place from the Hotel).

The hotel is composed by a main building (where reception is located) and several rooms located one next to other, facing a parking lot to the front and a common yard and a swimming pool to the back. The view of Oyster Pond (and the boats anchored there) from the hotel is wonderful.

Rooms have a simple and rather outdated deco, no luxury but everything clean and working well. Some basic kitchen appliance are provided, so you can have a pleasant breakfast on the back terrace. Rooms features air conditioning, a small TV (only french channels), a small fridge, a safety box, hot water and coffee maker.

Colette, the owner is a very kind person, as well as his husband. She even helped us to practice our french during our conversations. We did not have to make any advance payment and we payed on our arrival. He had a flight delay on our arrival and Colette left the room open for as, so we could go from the airport right to our room.

PROS: Quiet location, great value, good sleep quality, very clean
COS: Far from main attractions

In summary, Sol'hôtel is a great and affordable choice If you don't mind driving a little more every day. If you don't have a car, don't like long drives or want to enjoy nightlife, I suggest staying at Simpson Bay, Orient Bay or Grand Case instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rastaman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Sol Hotel is an excellent choice. Oyster Pond is a bit out of the way, but it's a small island and nothing is too far away. For this location, you'll want to rent a car. The pool is large enough, warm and comfortable, and there's a well equipped grilling area adjacent to the deck. We stayed in Room 9, which has a larger and more private balcony than the other single rooms. The view from it is exactly what you see on the website. The views from the others may be partially blocked by the trees in the pool area. It's the only one that has its kitchen and sitting area outside the room on the balcony, which we usually don't like, but, because of the privacy, it works very well here. Rooms 1 through 8 have the kitchens inside. Didn't see the Room 10 suite. The kitchen is a two burner electric stovetop with no oven or microwave. Small refrigerator, toaster and coffee maker. The room is air-conditioned, which we usually don't use, but there isn't a good cross breeze, so we did use it here. King-size bed is very comfortable. Rooms 7 and 8 have more private balconies than 1 through 6, and better views. Nice grocery store and good restaurants within easy walking distance. Colette Brulin is gracious and friendly, and responds helpfully to internet requests.
Tip - The GPS in our car was a bit confusing. It's hard to find a good map of the Island, but we did find one at the Sint Maarten Park Zoo. It's well-detailed and includes hiking trails. Published by Mical Kasprowski (midok@midok.com).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaff313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a 10 night stay in St Martin. The hotel is in a great location overlooking Oyster Pond and its marina (which houses 2 good restaurants). The rooms were clean, spacious, and well decorated with a small kitchenette (hob, fridge, sink, coffee machine, toaster) and good bathroom. All rooms have balconies and direct access to the hotels pool and BBQ area. The pool was deserted during our stay which made it lovely and quiet and we had it all to ourselves! We used the BBQ with some friends on one occasion and its a great sheltered spot for a nice BBQ dinner.
All in all, a great value hotel with very flexible management and well appointed rooms, in a great location for exploring the rest of the Island.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hs318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The location is excellent, and the owner is wonderful ! My husband and I stayed here for a week (March 9-16/13) and after being all over the island we both agreed that we were quite sure the view and location we had was one of the best. It was so wonderful to wake up to a beautiful view of the bay, which was nice and quiet and relaxing, and to sit and have breakfast on our own patio. Colette (the owner) is a wonderful lady and cares about the service she provides to her clients. Colette extended herself to her clientel by offering to tell them how to get to places, things they should visit, places to eat. The rooms were cleaned daily, and the place is very clean.

Sol Hotel is in a nice little area with a handful of good restaurants to walk to if you don't want to drive. There is even a little bakery very close by where we picked up fresh croissants/jam in the mornings which were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Well this was our favourite hotel on this trip. Colette makes you feel right at home and she know all the best local places. She even worries about things like arranging your transportation or helping you make a local call. She answered all my emails right away. We had a very nice suite (#10) with two bedrooms and two washrooms and a kitchenette. The hotel is spotless, has a nice little pool and a pretty view of the harbour. The price was very good, half the cost of the nearby Westin but of course with a much more personal touch.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, #10 is very big and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globehopperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in December of last year. When checking out, we forgot our car keys and didn't notice for weeks because we were on a cruise. When we got back to the airport, we noticed them missing. Luckily we had a spare key with us. After back tracking everywhere, we got a reply from Colette, that they found our keys. She had injured her foot and could not walk, but asked one of her friends to mail the keys to us. Unbelievable!! They had kept them for that long and asked nothing to return them. We definitely will recommend this charming Hotel to everyone not only because it is nice but also for the service. Thank you Sol Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
3.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
3.9 mi away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: £62 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing