We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice rooms”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Sit on the porch and look over the pond at the boats, walk to several good restaurants, Oyster Pond is situated in the best place on the island, a short drive will get you to all the places you will want to see

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my friends have been to Sol Hotel several times now and the experience is always great! This is the best value and what's great about it is the location for sailors and the wonderful attitude of the owner. It has great views of the bay and the rooms are clean and have big balconies. There is a great pool which is protected from the wind (when it's blowing) and the view of the stars at night is great.
Have been to the area a number of times and it is the best deal going!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms so whatever you get will be quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The pool area is a nice place to hang out, the views are great, but what impressed me the most was the cleanliness. The towels were fresh, as were the sheets and the bathrooms was spotless. Colette, the owner also provides towels for the pool. A balcony, cold air conditioner and an icy mini fridge were the perfect touches. We stayed here on our way to and from a sailing trip. Captain Oliver's marina is a 1-2 minute downhill walk from the hotel. Within a 5 minutes walk there is a mini market and several restaurants. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our group of 4 couples stayed at the Sol Hotel after we returned from our 7-day charter sailing adventure with the Moorings before heading back home to Texas. What a wonderful way to end our trip! Colette was so hospitable. The hotel had rooms with views that were absolutely breathtaking! Each room is decorated in different colors and so lovely, you just feel so warm and cozy. Even though there needs some work done around, you just seem to overlook with all the good stuff going on! We just fell in love with the place. It's a very small hotel, so you have to get your reservations in quickly - it's so worth it!!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Rooms are very clean and you can not beat the view of Oyster Bay(Pond) Marina when sitting out on your balcony. Colette was very accommodating. Although this was our first visit (hopefully not our last) Colette made us feel like we've known her forever. The Pool area was very nice. We agree with the other reviews. Beautiful, Friendly, Quiet, Safe place to stay!
Merci Beaucoup Colette :)
RITA AND BOB

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms and both were very nice and clean. Views great from both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELER19020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just returned from another very enjoyable stay at ''Sol'' Colette and J Pierre always make me feel welcome......from the special touches in the room i.e. beach towels and flowers on the bed..a/c on , small treat in the kitchenette.......i first stayed here in 1989..... tried other places on both sides of the island but this is where i feel the best.

salud
Dave H.
Toronto.

Room Tip: I have stayed in most of the rooms at one time or another ,most recently room 4 , ...i prefer any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panchito45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a lovely night here. Our room was clean and the grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful. Sitting by the pool was nice an relaxing, exactly what we were looking for. The food recommendations were great as well. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
104 reviews
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: £62 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing