We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property & service”
Review of Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great property & service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Sol Hotel. Collette responded very quickly to availability requests and advance email questions. Our room was perfectly clean, had plenty of space, a huge and beautiful bathroom, and an amazing balcony overlooking Oyster Bay/Pond and the Marina. We stayed in Marigot earlier in the trip and found Oyster Bay to be much cleaner, friendlier, and nicer in general. There is a great supermarket within walking distance, along with a scuba/snorkeling shop, and a bunch of good restaurants. And they have two very cute dogs that live on the property. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
110
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Upon our arrival, Collette was welcoming, smiley and helpful. The value for the quality is very good, and the views of the marina are spectacular. With a lovely large terrace and an outdoor kitchen, and the room is decorated very cute, and is all one needs. Very clean. A gorgeous swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Sit on the porch and look over the pond at the boats, walk to several good restaurants, Oyster Pond is situated in the best place on the island, a short drive will get you to all the places you will want to see

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my friends have been to Sol Hotel several times now and the experience is always great! This is the best value and what's great about it is the location for sailors and the wonderful attitude of the owner. It has great views of the bay and the rooms are clean and have big balconies. There is a great pool which is protected from the wind (when it's blowing) and the view of the stars at night is great.
Have been to the area a number of times and it is the best deal going!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms so whatever you get will be quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The pool area is a nice place to hang out, the views are great, but what impressed me the most was the cleanliness. The towels were fresh, as were the sheets and the bathrooms was spotless. Colette, the owner also provides towels for the pool. A balcony, cold air conditioner and an icy mini fridge were the perfect touches. We stayed here on our way to and from a sailing trip. Captain Oliver's marina is a 1-2 minute downhill walk from the hotel. Within a 5 minutes walk there is a mini market and several restaurants. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our group of 4 couples stayed at the Sol Hotel after we returned from our 7-day charter sailing adventure with the Moorings before heading back home to Texas. What a wonderful way to end our trip! Colette was so hospitable. The hotel had rooms with views that were absolutely breathtaking! Each room is decorated in different colors and so lovely, you just feel so warm and cozy. Even though there needs some work done around, you just seem to overlook with all the good stuff going on! We just fell in love with the place. It's a very small hotel, so you have to get your reservations in quickly - it's so worth it!!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENSALEM, PA.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Rooms are very clean and you can not beat the view of Oyster Bay(Pond) Marina when sitting out on your balcony. Colette was very accommodating. Although this was our first visit (hopefully not our last) Colette made us feel like we've known her forever. The Pool area was very nice. We agree with the other reviews. Beautiful, Friendly, Quiet, Safe place to stay!
Merci Beaucoup Colette :)
RITA AND BOB

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms and both were very nice and clean. Views great from both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELER19020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.5 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Property: Sol Hotel
Address: Rue de L Escale | 38 Oyster Pond, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sol Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very lovely and quiet place- TV in room and free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing