We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princess Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombus Hotel(Oyster Pond)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Hotel(Oyster Pond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Orient Resort(Orient Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
527
189
28
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
189
28
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdawn beachnew buildingrental carfull kitchenmarble floorssecond buildingflights of stairsdiving boardliving roomgreat condobig fishgrand caseno elevatorgated communitysmall gymfront officejetted tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We rented this from an individual Rick Wells. He is a fantastic owner to deal with. The unit #402 was clean and beautiful. The office staff fantastic at explaining directions and having them readily available. The pool area was nice. The location is great your on the border of dutch/french. Renting a car is a must to get around. We will definetely stay here again if we go back to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicki1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Chose this hotel based solely on the reviews provided here. Modern, clean and spacious room (studio for us). Nice balcony with great view. Bed was incredibly soft and the air conditioning worked very well. The staff was super friendly and very helpful in helping us plan our day, not to mention providing great tips on restaurants. They even left a bottle of wine in our room when they found out it was my birthday! Dawn Beach is a short walk from the hotel, however a car really is a requirement if you plan to leave the immediate area. Public transportation there is not really an option

Room Tip: Had a room on the 4th floor and had no issue with mosquitoes and the view was great
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RIJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in the Princess Heights for 12 nights and it was one of the best accomodations we´ve been so far. Our room was perfectly furnished, very stylish and spacious (1206B) with an breathtaking view over the ocean. The kitchenette was fully equipped and has everything in which is needed to prepare a diner if you don´t want to go to a restaurant in the evening after spending a long day at one of the 37 perfect caribean beaches. The staff is very friendly, competent and helpful whenever you need something. Many thanks at this point especially to Dominique, Maarten, Thijs, Nina and Madeleine.
Due to the exposed position at the hill it was very quite even if you like to sleep with open windows. The road upwards ist guarded at the beginning and is quite steep. But this is no problem at all once you get used to drive on it. You have to have a car anyway to explore the island, the beaches and the restaurants. After 13 days being there i must say that the choice to stay on the Dutch side was the right one. The hotel is not far away from Philipsburg where you can get everything you need. The harbour, the boardwalk, the frontstreet...all of them are good for dining, shopping and relaxing. The best beaches are on the eastern French side but because of the fact that the hotel ist more or less directly located at the eastern border it takes you only a few minutes to reach those beaches.
We will definitely come back to this island and especially to this perfect accomodation. It is the perfect starting point for unforgettable vacations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We just came back from St. Maarten for the first time on June 8th after being on the island for 8 days and decided to try Princess Heights because of the reviews we read on this site... We were happy we did. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, the room was very modern, spacious and CLEAN (a clean room/bed/bathroom is kinda big for me). The hotel is located on a hill, so your views will be of the ocean, the mountain side, as well as the roof of the Westin below you. I thought I would have a problem looking at the roof of a hotel, but waking up everyday to the sound of the waves and the spectacular view [you can see St. Barths on a clear day] made up for that!. Plus you don't need a converter for your electronics. This hotel is on the Dutch side and uses 110 watts just like the U.S.

I hear that the island has public transportation,but get a rental car to explore the island yourself. It's a good way to scope out the areas you want to return to. The island is only 37 square miles, so you won't get lost. Just pay attention to the road signs. I recommend Mr. Busby's (for breakfast and dinner) at Oyster Bay, Sunset Bar and Grill at Maho Beach for you airplane enthusiasts (get the ribs plate w/ fries... yum!), and Orient Beach, which has a "clothing optional" side. Order the BBC drink at the "clothing optional" side (Baileys, banana liqueur, rum, and coconut cream... delicious!). Happy hour starts at 2:30, which means 2 for 1 folks. Try and buy groceries on the Dutch side - the French side is a little expensive and hard to read (haha). There is a good grocery store in Phillipsburg at the end of front street close to where the cruise ships dock.

Look into doing the Farewell Tour. It's an all-day tour around the island on a catamaran (usually on Friday's). Drinks and lunch provided with snorkeling at various spots. I miss this place already and I can't wait to go back. I'm sure you'll love it too...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Great stay on the Dutch and French boarder of the island. Definitely need to rent a car to explore all the awesome beaches and great restaurants. Sweet views of st. Bart's from room and balcony. Would highly recommend mr. Busbys for breakfast and dinghy dock bar at oyster pond harbor, cool bar and really good food, specially fish and chips.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ragimus31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews