We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two weeks not enough!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two weeks not enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have owned at OBBR since 1997 and watched it grow. Because of the wonderful staff and the upgrades and improvements through the years we have upgraded several times since our purchase. OBBR is now our only timeshare. We used to have another timeshare on Sint Maarten, but it has had continual problems in the past.
The staff is always cheerful and helpful. Housekeeping and maintenance staff come promptly if there is a need or problem.
The rooms are lovely and a continually being updated. The grounds are beautiful.
Since the resort has grown so much another pool would be appreciated-preferably an adult pool.
Also, free WiFi in the rooms would be greatly appreciated.
Overall this is a great resort.

Room Tip: We like the pond side because it's quiet, but also the pool side for the views. Every room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fuzzy0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    330
    150
    42
    24
See reviews for
295
588
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had not been here for 5 years. This was our eighth visit to the island. This resort is our favorite. We loved the updates. We had a two bedroom unit overlooking pool. It was beautiful. It was very well stocked. Housekeeping did a great job. We like the entertainment. We didn't have a bad meal at any of the restaurants. We loved the addition of the store on the dock. The restaurant Canoa on the dock was amazing as well. Everyone was welcoming and we had a great time!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just got back from 11 days at OBBR and had a great time!! We had a harbor side studio room which was quiet at night. The lights at night in the harbor were interesting as were the boats moving during the day. Of course we spent so little time in our room the view didn't matter much. The pool is central to all rooms and has restrooms nearby. Dawn Beach is next to the resort and is a nice sized beach, though some could easily consider it small. You will be approached by vendors selling items so be prepared to say a polite 'no thank you' or bring some cash if you're looking for items (or a massage).

OBBR has two restaurants plus a poolside bar. Beau Beau's is near the beach and tended to have more of the evening entertainment. Infinite's is closer to the pool and a waitress was available starting at 11:00 to bring food and drinks to you poolside. The bar does 2 for 1 happy hour from 4:00 - 6:00 most days. Staff all over the resort are helpful and polite. Even the sales staff who gave us our 'complimentary welcome lunch' were not overly pushy in their sales attempt. Normally we just hide and avoid the sales staff but since we were spending nearly 2 weeks we decided to get the tour and sales pitch over early so we could enjoy the rest of the stay.

Our stay spanned two time share weeks and the mix of people and ages was quite varied both weeks. We saw kids, teens, young adults, middle age folks and retirees. If you have the time available I'd suggest taking the Island Tour offered on Sunday afternoon. It takes 4 hours and you get a good lay of the land.

If you're going shopping on Front Street check with the Activities Desk to see how many cruise ships are in port. More than a couple ships and the crowd is pretty heavy. Overall Front Street is interesting and has numerous shops and eateries and is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Bay side if you want a nice view of the lights at night. Ocean side if you want a nice view in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jryder63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We found the resort to be clean and friendly. Unfortunately, when we went to bed we felt like we were sleeping on a poor pull out. The mattress was thin and very uncomfortable. When we complained, they promptly added a foam pad. This helped a lot. The location of the resort and the views are beautiful. All of the employees encountered were very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants on the grounds or in the vicinity. We ate at a few of them and were impressed with the quality of the food. There is also a gift shop and a small market. Overall a very good experience. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our visit to Oyster Bay is part of timeshare. I upgraded to a 2 bedroom in hopes of getting an ocean view, no luck (again).

It must be one of the sales tactics because I had an ocean view the first time I came, but not in any of my subsequent visits.

The room was outdated and nearby restaurants are good but the resort restaurants are average. The room also had a problem with ants. When we called the front desk, they sent someone with a spray can of insecticide.

My kids like the pool and nearby beach.

Be leary of the owner's update. I thought it was going to be an overview of the renovations to the resort and what was on the plan for the coming years. Instead, I got a a high pressure sales discussion to get you to upgrade your ownership. They talked about the "equity" I had and that I could use that as down payment on an "upgraded" owner situation. They were even willing to finance it over 10 years at 12% - 13% interest. The sales pitch was "I'll buy your timeshare and we'll use that as down payment on the next unit"

When I offered to sell them my timeshare, they refused. So much for equity.

I marked this a 2 because my kids enjoyed it. If I hadn't made the foolish decision years ago to buy this timeshare I probably would not be back to this resort.

Do yourself a favor and save your money. there are plenty of options available that are more reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My BF and I spent 5 days with our friends at their Oyster Bay Beach Resort time share. We shared a 2 bedroom condo with them. The place was lovely. Maid service came in every day and changed the bed, left us clean towels, and cleaned the condo. The facilities were a bit dated, but kept clean. There are 2 restaurants on site, and both are very nice. They have activities on most days. They provide lounges and umbrellas at both the infinity pool and the beach. We were very happy to just relax by the pool. It was a lovely 5 day vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The resort is very nice and you can't beat the location if you like seeing the ocean when you get up in the morning. We had an ocean view room and the water was about 20 feet away from the balcony. We have been to so many time share exchanges and we have never been to a place that kept the guests as busy as this place. Parties, free wine, giveaways, excursions and much more. Although pretty far from the main areas of the island (Grand Case and Phillipsburg) it was the kind of place you didn't have to leave it you chose not to. Five restaurants on property, spa, beautiful infinity pool, and plenty of beach front who could ask for more.

Room Tip: If you can ask for an ocean view room away from the pool and Beau Beau's restaurant (they have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
4.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing