We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Week”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our third visit to the resort over a 10 year period and it was by far the best. The unit we were in seemed to be totally updated, most attractively. We had an ocean view, although we had to overlook ie ignore the air conditioning equipment on the roof of the building between us and the sea! Still very nice to sit out there and we ate all our meals on the balcony. The maid service was above & beyond - daily! Even if I left clean dishes in the sink she put it in the dishwasher & turned it on! The staff were all friendly and helpful. The managers welcome party was a lot of fun. And the daily aqua aerobics was great. We had a car but didnt really need it (they do offer set van trips to the supermarket, Phillibsburg, Grand Case etc.) We loved that we could walk to 3 or 4 great restaurants (I think Daniels by the Sea was our fave... Mr. Busby's by day!) And a short drive or walk around the bay got us to French side restaurants.

Only negatives: the location is such that walking anywhere involves major hill climbs and the beach is too short for an exercise walk. (There is a small gym but we didnt use it.) I did tell them on day 1 that the safe wasnt working but it was never fixed. And the grill nearest our unit wasnt working. But all in all we loved it and will go back!

Room Tip: We were in 3531. Third floor is the best if you can deal with climbing all those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwyneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    347
    159
    41
    23
See reviews for
311
615
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a great trip to St. Martin at OBBR. Location is fantastic - Dawn Beach right next door; quick drive to Orient, Phillipsburg, Grand Case, etc. Infinity pool overlooking the ocean is great. Hot tub and daily Happy Hour at the pool made for a relaxing cool down before enjoying dinner at one of the several nearby restaurants.

Condos were very clean. Had an issue with our room keys that was quickly resolved.

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all, if amazing views and places to go within walking distance are important to you, then look no further. If extremely friendly staff, great happy hour drinks, and beautiful infinity pools are important to you, then look no further. The rooms are all you need, the service fantastic, and the food/beverages are affordable. If you are going to St. Maarten, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The view from the infinity pool is amazing! I have never seen a more friendly or helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Love this place and have been there many times and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weweres425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been going to Oyster Bay for many years. This time we spent two weeks at the Resort. It has undergone wonderful updates and plans on many more to keep the Resort up to standards. We just love the renovated rooms overlooking the ocean and opening the balcony door to hear the waves.

Now, this Resort is not for everyone. It is somewhat remote as far as being in the middle of all the action in Simpson Bay and Phillipsburg. I highly recommend renting a car. There are plenty of rental car agencies and they will pick you up at the airport. We've always used the same one and the service has been outstanding. We let them know when we arrive, they have a shuttle to pick us up at the airport and then shuttle us back when we return the car. Considering that a taxi ride from the airport to Oyster Bay is about $40-50 one-way and a rental car for a week is around $250 (there is a mandatory $8 charge/day for liability insurance) it just makes sense to rent a car and have it available to explore the island whenever you want. The resort does provide some shuttle services (tours, grocery, etc.) but they are limited. We used the car nearly everyday to got to some beaches in Grand Case, or to go to Marigot and Fort Lewis, etc. Taking a taxi to these various locations is sure to add significant cost.

We also took the ferry over to St. Barts for one day and I would recommend this for any one who has spent some time already on St. Maarten. I wouldn't call it a must on a first or second visit to St. Maarten but it was worth the fare. If you do go, you must take your passport.

Another must see are the planes arriving at Maho Beach and Princess Juliana Airport. It is a sight to see. You may want to go mid morning because by noonish when most of the big planes start arriving it gets very crowded.

As usual, the staff were very accommodating. Although we don't need much, those questions we did have they were very helpful and accommodating.

Again, this resort is more for those who are looking for a quiet place to just relax, enjoy the resorts own beach, and have somewhere quiet to retreat to. There are activities but not nearly the options as staying in Simpson Bay or Philipsburg but with a car, everything is at your disposal.

One other hint. if the bed does seem a little hard, you can ask for a mattress pad which they will put on to make the bed a little softer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The photos of the Oyster Bay Resort are very deceiving. What you see in the pictures is definitely not what you will get. The resort is only so-so. It is not upscale at all. The rooms are old and are not modern. The rooms are also very cramped. If you expect luxury, this is not the place. The staff was accommodating and the activities that the resort offers are fun and entertaining. Other than that, I would not recommend this resort. It leaves a lot to be desired. One of the ac's did not work the entire 7 days I was there even though I called maintenance repeatedly. The toaster was broken and no one repaired or replaced it. I would like to say that this place sucks, but it is not quite that bad. I paid close to $2,000 for the stay and it was definitely NOT worth the money. The beach along the resort is awful as well. There is not inspiring or exhilarating about it. The resort has a lot of work to do as far as accommodations.

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Decent mature resort, a bit out dated. Staff was very helpful/nice.Rent a car if you want to go to other beaches, restaurants, grocery store, or just see the sights.There is nothing really around the resort. The small grocery right outside resort is very expensive. Careful with taxi's they have different rates for different times. Mullet bay and Orient beach were best beaches.They do try to sell timeshare, but didn't hassle.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view in the new building. We had ocean view on the Dawn Beach side, it is directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tminja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing