We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights July-August 2014. It was our first trip to St. Maarten.

We had booked an ocean view room, which is what we received. We were pleasantly surprised with the small kitchen in the room. The view was magnificent! We were towards the end of the hotel (by Beau Beau's) so we had a view of the ocean and the beach. The balcony was great, but the sliding door was a bit sticky sometimes. One complaint I do have about the room is that our smoke alarm went off twice while we were there. We think it was caused by the room next door because we could hear their alarm a split second before ours went off. I called the front desk to let them know it alarmed, but all the person said was "well it might just be sensitive, we will have maintenance check it." I never saw anyone come to check it.

The beach is just ok. The hotel only has a few chairs reserved so you have to get there early. There is a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the water is nice.

We spent most of our time at the pool. There are a lot of chairs and umbrellas which is nice with the hot Caribbean sun. You can order drinks and food while at the pool, but with the ocean breeze things do tend to blow over if you aren't careful.

Towels are provided in your room for the beach/pool and are replaced daily when the room is cleaned.

We paid for WiFi while we were there, but the connection was terrible. I think we wasted our money with that. I would think that if you have to pay for the service, it should at least be reliable. I heard many guests complaining about the WiFi while in the common areas.

A tropical storm came through while we were there. Being someone who does not live in an area where these storms are common, I called the front desk to ask if we needed to do anything with the furniture on the balcony. The man asked me if I thought it was going to blow away. I don't know, that is why I am calling you! I thought it was a bit strange that there was no information provided to the guests regarding the storm coming through. Granted, it was just a small storm, but still, for those of us who are not accustomed to tropical storms, we see them as a big deal.

There are daily activities at the hotel which are nice, but seem to be more geared to the older crowd or families.

We did not have a car while on the island so we had to rely on taxi service if we wanted to go anywhere, but it worked fine for us.

Overall, we felt we got a good value for our money. I think we would consider staying there again if we were to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    332
    150
    42
    24
See reviews for
296
589
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Lees.
This was our first time to the island and our first time staying at Oyster Bay Beach Resort.
I have to agree with some the other comments. It was one the best vacations we have had. Just
thinking about it makes me and my husband want to return today. I miss the island,the people we met ,the food and the place we stayed that we now call home. So join us we plan to return to Oyster Bay Beach resort July 2015 Good Willing and spend some island time at our new home.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the marina side for the view of the ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I just returned from a 1-week stay at this resort. Despite the mixed reviews, I'm pleased to share that I did not experience any negative about this resort. From the moment I checked in and until I checked out, the workers were very friendly and were very prompt in responding to my request or issue I reported. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The timeshare salespeople did not harassed me or any other guests. In fact, I did not attend a timeshare presentation and was not bothered or continually called as others have reported. And best of all, you get daily cleaning of the unit including washing your dishes! I do not get this even in 5 star resorts that I own.

If not for the location / condition of the beach and condition of the furniture, I would have rated this resort with 5 stars. The beach was small, full of sea weeds and a few minutes walk from the resort. The beach is part of of Dawn Beach but you have to climb over rocks to get to the other side (Westin side) of the beach which is much nicer. Also, though the 1BR unit I had seems newly remodeled, the sofa and couch were a bit dated.

I highly recommend a visit to Orient Beach (much bigger and nicer) in the French side of the island, or even a day trip to St Barths or Anguilla where the beaches are much nicer. My family was unanimous that Meads Bay or Shoal Bay in Anguilla are the best best beach, followed by and St Jean or Grand Saline beach in St Barth, depending on your taste,

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean front room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FjLabayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

What can I say more then that. The room was an efficiency and it had everything we needed. The resort was fun with daily activities and nice bars and restaurants. We would gladly go back and am looking forward to doing so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 2 weeks and loved it. We exchanged points and were thrilled to get an ocean front room. The restaurants were wonderful and there were several either on property on very close by.

Most evenings they had entertainment which we so enjoyed especially the wine and guava berry tastings. They were very generous.

Probably the down side was the timeshare pressure. The manager was very rude and pushy. Much more than we have experienced in the past at other places. We own 8 weeks so we dont need to be convinced of its merit. We will probably return one day but hope to have someone else to meet with. Who knows we might be interested.

The staff varied in their friendliness but most were very nice. The maid did a great job with our room bit we did tip.

Overall we loved St Maarten. Be sure to go on Cpt Allens excursion. So good we did it twice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slk069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I don't write reviews but after reading a few negative ones before I left I have to write how great a week we had. We (my husband and his parents) arrived late to the resort because of flight delays and getting lost in the no-so- good part of Phillipsburg for an hour. We were welcomed with champagne and a bottle of wine! We had already paid and upgraded our unit before we arrived, everything was set. We stayed in room 2332, above Beau Beau's. I know some people complained about the noise but we actually liked the free entertainment from our balcony! Keep in mind, it get's dark on the island early too but, the entertainment only went until 10pm. Needless to say we had a great ocean front view and we didn't have to worry about bugs the whole week (I heard the harbor side does because there isn't as much of a breeze).

So, some complaints are that some staff seemed annoyed. Well, almost everyone was friendly if you are friendly to them! Yes a few workers came off annoyed but they are also on island time, as Americans we demand everything at once, they are much more laid back so keep that in mind. Also, if you were working in hot weather catering to people all day long there might be seconds where you get annoyed too!

The hotel was smart I think with their updating in the units. Yes, this is not a new hotel and there is some wear and tear but nothing extreme! Yes, I have been to "nicer" resorts as my family owns Marriott timeshares but I have also been to much crapper resorts than this! I also had a better week here than at the Marriot in St. Kitts! The one thing I recommend is the beds and pillows are horribly uncomfortable but, I have a tempurpedic at home so I might a bit spoiled. Also, I wished they would just have a towel return at the pool/beach... it was annoying to carry back a soaking dirty towel... but then I guess that I'm just nit picking :)

As far as location this resort is great if you want to relax. It is walking distance from the grocery store where you can reserve super yummy croissants for the morning! There are also several awesome restaurants right near the hotel and across the harbor. We rented a car for the week and explored the island and did the hotel beach party which was a lot of fun! I also recommend the Sunday bus tour through the resort! EXECELLENT time and food!!!! The beach at the hotel is great - a little bit of seaweed but not too bad- can't beat free snorkeling.

OVERALL, the resort was great... it's what you make out of it. Yes, the pool deck was a bit slip but a lot are... I went barefoot and was fine. Keep in mind... some of these reviews must be written by old people who own timeshares and nit pick about everything. You will always find something to nit pick about at any resort if you really want to.

The timeshare talk was worth it for us- free breakfast and 1/2 off the beach party. Again, I have the excuse that my family owns several Marriott's timeshares and I reap all the benefits of a platinum status through Interval... no need for me to buy :) So, they didn't really waste time trying to convince us but they are sales people so expect them to be pushy!

Overall, we had a blast! Wish we won the drawing for a free week because we would return!

Room Tip: Try to get ocean side... we had no problem with mosquitos because of the breeze! but if not the groc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the resort. After taking a $50 cab ride from the airport, we were concerned about how the resort would look. We drove through neighborhoods that were more than a bit scary to get to the resort. It didn't help that the cab driver kept telling us how bad it is to live on the island and to be careful in certain areas. He even told us that the islanders don't tend to go after tourists, they go after eachother, but an occasional tourist might get involved. What?? I was ready to go home after that statement.
The resort was very pretty and the view of the ocean was refreshing.
Our room was on the 3rd floor. I am thankful that my husband and I are in good shape, there wasn't an elevator and no one offered to help us with our bags. I am not sure how someone that is elderly with large bags could have gotten up the stairs. One morning the maintenance man came to our door because the maid had reported a leak in our air conditioner. He wiped up the condensation and told us to call another maintenance man if it leaked again. He didn't want to fix it. We noticed the same attitude with many of the employees. My husband and I watched an employee paint the same railing over four days. When the manager came around he would paint, as soon as he left the employee would take a nap in the hallway in the building across our room.
We rented a car for $115 a week. The island is very easy to get around. We watched airplanes as they landed, ate in local restaurants and discovered Orient beach. That is a fun beach for those who aren't afraid to show a bit of skin. We did not encounter any problems while on the island, but we were very cautious and did not venture out too much after dark.
The staff is very attentive when they know you are tipping, when the tips aren't given as freely, the service declines. I would love to say that we had a wonderful time and plan on going again, but I can't. The cleanest place and friendliest place we experienced was at the resort and that left a lot to be desired.
We experienced beautiful sun rises and sun sets, got beautiful pictures, found some great prices at an outdoor market and enjoyed our time together. That was the best part of the vacation.

Room Tip: For view of the ocean request an upper level room, but be aware there aren't elevators. You wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worktoplay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
4.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing