We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious Stay - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Precious Stay - Great Value”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent piece of land with beautiful views of the sea and gorgeous marina. Room was great and service outstanding. Good restaurant and relaxing pool makes a spectacular stay. Better if you have a rented car to move to other attractions on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etbaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    349
    160
    41
    24
See reviews for
313
621
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just got back from Oyster Bay and had the best vacation ever the staff is friendly, the resort is clean, food is good and they really know how to throw a beach party, right out side the resort there is a market that has the best Apple turnovers but have to be there at 7 to get them they sell out so fast, Walking distance to Beach activities and market, Sparling Gems right past the main entrance to resort good prices and nice jewelry, the resort provides something every day for everyone....I would go back in a heart beat. The only downside was the internet was slow.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Marina side but it is the best of both worlds Pool and Hot tub ocean side and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We chose this resort because they said the reviews were great. We didn't rent a car thinking we would be able to get around by walking or shuttles. Needless to say - we had to rent a car. Got to the resort and they said our room was not ready to check back in 15 minutes or so. 1 hour later our room was ready. The check in area was very chaotic. When getting our packet they rushed through and we didn't ask enough questions. They only touched on their "raffle" and what you could choose as your gift after signing up for the timeshare sales meeting. There are only 2 restaurants on the property and 3 off property. They are all high priced and the food is fair - nothing to brag about. The best food we had was in Gran Case at Sky's the Limit. We were encouraged to take the island tour that the resort offered - it started off good but then turned into a waste of time. We were told that they would stop at a grocery store where we would be able to get some things - that ended up not happening due to traffic and spending too much time in Gran Case due to approx 48 people eating lunch at the same time.
This resort is not centrally located and a typical person can not walk to another destination such as beach or restaurants. If you don't have a car you are at the mercy of the resort. Be sure to bring your cash! Not many places take American Express, Discover or travelers checks and if you chose to use Visa or MasterCard they will up charge you 5%. Philipsburg is the only place we didn't have a problem. Be prepared to pay a "timeshare" charge (ours was $50 in a studio unit), a $5 a day utility charge, tip your maid and then they add a $1 a day charge that you can decline but they want you to pay toward the St Maarten tourism foundation. If you book an excursion thru the resort they will not let you charge it to your room except for the portion that goes to the resort itself. Our Captain Alan snorkeling tour was advertised as $75 per person - $15 was paid to resort and $60 to Captain Alan. If you ask me - that is not very convenient to the customer and can give the impression that the customer is paying more.
If we decide to go back to St Maarten we will definitely do more research on other resorts before going back to Oyster Bay.

Room Tip: A/C units in each room are noisy - sounds like exhaust fan on high. Internet is not reliable - drop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_VanLue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Oyster Bay Beach Resort on the Dutch side of the line between this and the French side of the island. The restaurants are both very good and the entrainment is good. The staff is great and the upgrade work to the rooms has been a great thing. The new marina is a great addition.
We have been going there for years and enjoy it more with each of them.
Geary Smith

Room Tip: There is a choice of ocean or marina views, both have advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBAF174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely resort !
Perfect location ! Near to lots of things to do and a few steps to walk to the mariner to go on Captain Alan's 3 island and snorkeling trip !
Will be sure to go back soon
Please remember it's the carribean so it's a little more laid back !
Mariner view top floor was lovely .
Food at the resort good too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in around 1030pm. The drive in a taxi here was about $50, should have rented car (most are $20 daily here). The drive here was unsettling and we were unsure (and still are unsure) of the safety here on most parts of the island.

Upon check in, we were given keys and a map of where our building was. We walked through the dark parking lot, getting lost, dragging luggage and 2 small children to our room, with no offer of help. When we got to our room and set up the sofa bed, we realized there is no blanket. We called and had to walk back down to the front desk to get one. They denied my husband extra towels because they didn't have access to them?

They did give us a renovated room as I requested, clean enough, but bathroom is scary. Towels have a strange incense smell to them. Had a nice view of the beach, which only a few units do here. Beach is packed with seaweed, but still an awesome view.

Pros: housekeeping is pretty thorough.
Great restaurants within walking distance.
On site thrifty rental car with very nice man renting cars.
Cool iguanas all over resort

Cons:
Set up like motels, not like a hotel.
Old, dated building
Laundry room w rusty (but working) machines... Not in your unit or even close
Mosquitos everywhere!!! Even keeping doors and windows closed they still get us...

If you are accustomed to 4 star and an occasional 5 star hotel in the States, you will not enjoy this property.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank amihuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights July-August 2014. It was our first trip to St. Maarten.

We had booked an ocean view room, which is what we received. We were pleasantly surprised with the small kitchen in the room. The view was magnificent! We were towards the end of the hotel (by Beau Beau's) so we had a view of the ocean and the beach. The balcony was great, but the sliding door was a bit sticky sometimes. One complaint I do have about the room is that our smoke alarm went off twice while we were there. We think it was caused by the room next door because we could hear their alarm a split second before ours went off. I called the front desk to let them know it alarmed, but all the person said was "well it might just be sensitive, we will have maintenance check it." I never saw anyone come to check it.

The beach is just ok. The hotel only has a few chairs reserved so you have to get there early. There is a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the water is nice.

We spent most of our time at the pool. There are a lot of chairs and umbrellas which is nice with the hot Caribbean sun. You can order drinks and food while at the pool, but with the ocean breeze things do tend to blow over if you aren't careful.

Towels are provided in your room for the beach/pool and are replaced daily when the room is cleaned.

We paid for WiFi while we were there, but the connection was terrible. I think we wasted our money with that. I would think that if you have to pay for the service, it should at least be reliable. I heard many guests complaining about the WiFi while in the common areas.

A tropical storm came through while we were there. Being someone who does not live in an area where these storms are common, I called the front desk to ask if we needed to do anything with the furniture on the balcony. The man asked me if I thought it was going to blow away. I don't know, that is why I am calling you! I thought it was a bit strange that there was no information provided to the guests regarding the storm coming through. Granted, it was just a small storm, but still, for those of us who are not accustomed to tropical storms, we see them as a big deal.

There are daily activities at the hotel which are nice, but seem to be more geared to the older crowd or families.

We did not have a car while on the island so we had to rely on taxi service if we wanted to go anywhere, but it worked fine for us.

Overall, we felt we got a good value for our money. I think we would consider staying there again if we were to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,796 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Bay Beach Resort

Property: Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Address: Emerald Merit Rd 10, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just south of the amicable French/Dutch divide, Oyster Bay Beach Resort awaits. Perched on a coral reef overlooking the Caribbean ocean and Oyster Pond Marina is paradise found. With breathtaking ocean views, white sand beach and countless amenities Oyster Bay Beach Resort and its sister properties, Mainsail, Spinnaker and the Lighthouse serve as your escape from the every day. Find adventure, serenity and the fullness of life at our island resort. Make Oyster Bay your next stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oyster Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Bay Beach Hotel Oyster Pond
Oyster Bay Beach Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing