We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so well-kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
njusa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not so well-kept secret”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just returned from our 9 days at Les Balcons. Thanks to all the Tripadvisors who encouraged us to go there. And enormous thanks to Carine and David who are even better, more helpful and charming hosts than we could have expected. Loved Oyster Pond--a small, laid back, quiet community with lovely views and just about as much activity as we wanted--nearly none, but lots to do if you are inclined. Stayed three nights in #20 and 6 nights in the Sweety Cottage. Great views in the former, but fabulous space, view, breezes, furnishings, patio/deck/pool, and neighbors, both human and visiting pets, in the latter. Do not pass up the morning bakery delivery (not from a local baker, but Carine's secret Marigot source). Again, C & D were not just great hosts but even helped us navigate our way through dealing with a little neighborhood fender-bender. Way beyond the call of duty. Cannot give Les Balcons a higher rating.

Room Tip: Best top level, probably as far out as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
170
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Les balcons is a charming place to stay, but as the owners will tell you - it's not a hotel. Each room has a lovely balcony that overlooks Oyster Bay, one of the most picturesque locations on the island and definitely one of the quietest. Highlights include: gorgeous views onto the marina, spacious balcony with nice furniture and grill, well-stocked kitchen (!), pretty bed and interior.

The managers are very friendly and accommodating to requests, but that's just the thing - you have to request a lot compared to any other hotel. In the 3 days we stayed, no one changed our linens once. On Friday morning they were around to help us make calls and get information, but after that we never saw any staff until checking out on Monday. The most ridiculous was only receiving one roll of toilet paper - of course they gave us another when we asked, but something like that should never have been an issue in such a nice place.

Otherwise: AC worked well, good hot showers, books and games available. If you're okay cleaning up after yourself every day (or even if you expect it in advance), it's a lovely place. I don't think there is much on St. Martin that will match it for charm and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carine P, Owner at Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Taylor, Thank you very much for your comment, which we will use constructively to improve our service. Indeed, we will have modify our internet site to accurately reflect the information that we e-mailed you concerning linens only be charged for reservation of more than 6 nights. Thanks for your help. Best Regards, Carine & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

we were at les balcons this jan (2013) . enjoyed our stay very much. this is a quiet place to get away from it all. location is sweet-minutes from dawn beach and great restaurants. we could drive to grand case or philipsburg in 10 minutes/.accomodations were good.the view from your balcony was beautiful. it was nice to have your own barbecue if you wanted to stay in.great kitichen/.owners were lovely french couple rentals were equiped with security alarm. only complaint--owners not easy to reach-not always on sight and no telephones in room to call them!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 905canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed in the Sweety Cottage in early Feb 2013 which is situated just down the road from the Les Balcons but is owned/managed by the same couple (David and Carine). The cottage is beautiful: It has it's own plunge pool with a deck that is more than adequate size. While you relax in the pool or sit on the deck you have a stunning view of Oyster Pond and the villas on the hillside beyond. It is very secure - surrounded by a wall that is nicely landscaped with tropical vegetation. Everything you need to cook meals is included in the kitchen as well as a nice bbq outside. The bedroom is air conditioned and the rest of the cottage you cool by opening the large patio doors and let the breeze in. We loved the bathroom with it's large walk-in shower. David and Carine were great; very helpful with activity choices and getting around. David helped me with a small mechanical problem we had with our rental car during our visit. To sum it up this cottage is perfect for a couple looking to get away and relax or even a small family as there is a pull out coach in the living room. Oyster Pond is close to some great beaches, restaurants and is only a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Philipsburg where the all the shopping is. If you are looking for something close to the night-life on St Maarten/St Martin then this location is probably not for you. To sum it up, we had a wonderful time and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlasmaXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Lonely Planet rates Les Balcons as one of the best buys in the entire eastern Caribbean, and they are right. The rates are reasonable; the rooms are lovely; and the proprietors are fabulous. If you are looking for a glitzy, all-inclusive hotel, Les Balcons is not for you. If you are interested in getting to know St. Martin, Les Balcons is a great choice. We loved the location, outside the crowded streets of Phillipsburg and Marigot, but with good restaurants, a lovely almost private beach, and interesting beaches, hills, and ponds to explore on foot.
Les Balcons is more of a motel than a hotel. There is no lobby; the Reception is an office by the parking area; and rooms all have entrances directly from the outside. We were there for 10 days and stayed in two different rooms. Both were lovely and immaculately clean, with a fully furnished kitchen and a terrace with a lovely view of Oyster Pond and seating for meals or reading. The furnishings were not standard institutional stuff but were tastefully chosen to reflect the island culture and were different in the two rooms. Even the placemats were pretty. We were even provided with an insulated cooler to use to take a picnic lunch to the beach.
By far the greatest asset of Les Balcons are the proprietors, Carinne and David, and their assistant, Anais. All three were unfailingly helpful and cheerful and always seemed to be delighted by our many questions. They gave us directions and advice on grocery stores, gas stations, ATMs, laundromats, beaches, and restaurants and recommended a particularly good snorkeling tour. Best of all, was the daily delivery of fresh French pastries - our choice of baguette, croissant, feuillete - and we could even run a tab and pay for them all when we checked out.
We have just one caveat - although there are several good restaurants and one nice beach within walking distance, if you want to see anything of the island, you will need a rental car.
In summary, if/when we return to St. Martin, we won't consider staying anywhere but at Les Balcons.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, choose a room on the Allee en Haute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

...and run by a very nice French couple - Carine could not have been more helpful.

Oyster Pond is a very good place to stay in St Martin - with easy acces to most parts of the island avoiding too much traffic. The big hotels on Dawn Beach (the Dutch side of the bay) looked OK if you like that sort of holiday, but we were delighted we chose these spacious self catering bungalows in a delightful quiet spot. We had great views, chilling out watching the yachts in the marina and the humming birds on the balcony.
It is an en easy walk to a few shops, bars and restaurants, and the unspoilt Coralita beach just down the hill. And only 10-20 mins by car to most places on St Martin you would want to visit.

We will certainly recommend Les Balcons to our friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmathsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at Les Balcons for 5 night in November and enjoyed everything about the property! We wanted something unique and not hotel-like looking and were so excited when we discovered this place! It was so great to wake up in the morning and go on your own balcony with this amazing view of Oyster bay! The rooms are nicely decorated, the bathrooms are spacious! We even used the grill one night! You can take a short walk down the hill right from your bungalow and you end up at this little pier with boats a few bars/restaurants and you see at least a dozen gigantic iguanas on your way there! The staff is very nice and extremely helpful - they helped us figure out the best day trip to take during our stay (we chose St. Barth's) and assisted in booking it. I am definitely recommending this unique experience to everyone who is going to St. Maartin and wants a non-resort experience.

2 things: you will definitely need a car
the mosquitos are quite active at night (due to proximity to the water), so bring some spray with you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank a g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
4.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Property: Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing