We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oyster Pond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been visiting this island for at least once a year for over 20 years. Have stayed in all sorts of places and Les Balcons is an excellent place to stay. The view front the front porch/desk was great. It overlooks a beautiful marina. David and Carine owners and managers could not have been more professional and accomodating.The place was very clean and update.The parking lot was secure. The rooms were very secure and a safe was provided for your valuables.The kitchen was very well equipted. Within walking distance there are a number fine places to eat. A car is needed to visit the nearby beaches. For those who like to cook ,there is a propane grill on the deck. The employes were courteous and accomodating. The pool area and water was very clean. Within a five minute walk there were a number of good places to eat. We stayed at . Les Balcons in January 2013 & 2014 and really enjoyed the stay. We plan to go back in 2015. Also , value you get is outstanding compared with other places to stay on the island.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a very nice view of the marina. Some rooms are on the pool level and they are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterislandpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We only had three nights here before our sailing charter but it was an excellent choice. Carinne was delightful and very helpful indeed. The room was perfect for our stay, with a small kitchen area so we were able to make breakfast and snacks for ourselves. a balcony with a wonderful view of the marina. The bed was very comfortable and the room was air-conditioned. We would certainly return but would definitely hire a car in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I feel I need to qualify this review by making it clear that my wife and I are of "early retirement age," as this may have affected our reactions, while younger folks may feel differently. First of all, we both expected the furnishings to be a little more luxurious than they were. Individual thermostats for the two rooms were a real plus and worked fine. The deck was pleasant with a lovely view. We were not prepared to have to supply virtually everything--toilet paper, soap, shampoo, coffee and filters. The site manager was very pleasant, but not always available. And they charged extra for every little felicity (e.g. beach towels). The description cited TVs, DVD and CD player, but several of these did not work. The manager replaced one of them, but shouldn't these have been checked in between guests? The location itself took a while to get accustomed to, although once we learned what was available and where, we were glad to be located where we were, rather than in the noisier, more urban areas, or the ridiculously over-developed luxury areas. The night before we left home, we learned of a serious mosquito-borne illness that was running rampant. This too detracted from the sense of a carefree vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent a nearly perfect 10 days at Les Balcons. After reading reviews, we changed our reservation to one of the upper rooms to preserve our old legs, and had a comfortable room and terrace overlooking the marina. The area is scenic and quiet. Each morning we were visited by tiny yellow breasted birds with whom we shared our croissants and baguettes. Carinne and David were welcoming hosts who helped us with advice and tour reservations. The island is truly filled with friendly people and we are planning a return trip...perhaps with children/grandchildren at a future time. Only caveat: driving on St. Martin is a contact sport. I had no problem because 1. I learned to drive in NYC and 2. I was lucky, but many people we encountered said they preferred to use taxis to get around the island.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are best for people who have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just returned from St. Martin with nothing but good things to say about Carine Poret and her lovely place just over the French side of St. Martin. We stayed in Rooms 3 and 4 with the large patios, and found them very comfortable. While this is not a full service hotel, there are plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as the beach on the Atlantic side. Because this is on the French side, the voltage is 220 vac, so if you come from the U.S., you'll need adapter plugs for your cell phones, iPads, computers, etc. You'll also need either a transformer for your hair dryer, or a dual voltage dryer.

I gave the hotel five stars, even though our airconditioner failed on the last night of our stay. Carine was so gracious, she had an empty room which she let us use for sleeping that night. In addition, she arranged a very complex car rental arrangement with Philip at Helios car rental (who was also very gracious and helpful). We could not have arranged two 9 passenger vans during the busiest week of the year with our special dropoff and pickup needs without her help.

I highly recommend Les Balcones, especially for a couple who are looking for a quiet, relaxing place, away from the crowded tumult of Philipsburg or Marigot.

Room Tip: Room 3 is especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewer1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights, the room was simple but nice, price was right, the staf was very attentive to our needs, easy access to the rest of the island, definately rent a car, only complaint is the internet isn't any good

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Les Balcons in late December 2013 for 8 nights.
The view to the marina is perfect, and the suites are perfectly designed, including some very spacious patios.
Thanks to Carine and David for taking good care of us! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyster Pond
0.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
3.1 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons d'Oyster Pond

Address: 15 Avenue du Lagon, Oyster Pond 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Oyster Pond
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oyster Pond
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual bungalows in Caribbean gardens with swimming pool. They are situated on beautiful Oyster Pond with a marvelous view of the marina and sail boats. You will be in a peaceful, quiet, familial and casual ambiance.Our bungalows can accommodate 2 to 5 people. Each unit has a private terrace with splendid view and barbecue grill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Balcons d`Oyster Pond Hotel Oyster Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing