We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments, convenient to divers”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marazul Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice apartments, convenient to divers”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband, 14 year old boy and myself stayed at Marazul for 10 nights. It is on Westpunt far away from everything. We had a wonderful time and would love to go back. The location is perfect if you are a diver or snorkeler and if that is really all you want to do. If.
you are looking for nightlife,
shopping, restaurants, etc. Then this is not the place for you. The
apartment we stayed at, E2, was
perfect for the three of us. The
complex has a pool, internet, a pool
and access to the water by stairs
by the cliff face. There is no sandy
beach but there are many beautiful
ones nearby. If you stay there you
do need to rent a car. The main grocery store is in willemstadt, about 30 minutes away. No convenience stores within walking distance. Also, get Skype and use it as your phone, a lot cheaper than cells or global phones. The place is very peaceful, virtually empty during the week, lots of families during the weekend. As for the electric, it is prepaid, so you have a limited amount. If you are gone during the day or just leave the windows and sliding door you will probably be okay. Truth is we are kind of spoiled so we needed to get an extra 180 kWh. Tommy, the property keeper, is very nice and will take care of you. He does not have an office on site, but you can contact him through e-mail or by phone. If you need extra electricity, don't wait until you are running low since Tommy has to go to the town of Barber to buy electricity, call when you are down to 60 or 70 kWh. In the 1 bedroom apartments you are allowed 20kwh but we used about 30 per day, again that was us, others may find the 20kwh allowance more than enough. Make sure you buy paper towels, toilet paper, plastic trash bags, soap, laundry detergent (there is a washing machine on the premises, and a line for drying clothes) enough for you own use and some for the next guests. There is a mid week clean up for stays longer than a week, so make sure you hang up your towels after using, there is no daily maid service. There are not many restaurants around so we cooked most of our meals. The place is heaven for divers and snorkelers. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnaNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    48
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We just got back from a perfect holiday at Marazul Dive Resort, Westpunt, Curacao. We stayed in bungalow nr. 6 and it was just very, very nice.

The weather was ofcourse excellent, the view was breathtaking and the house was spotless.

Marazul is a small resort with mostly privately owned villas and apartments. Our villa was two bedroom, and could house 6. Upstairs is an enormous king size bed, adjoining a large bathroom. Downstairs a kitchen with livingroom, an bedroom and another bathroom.

The villa had everything we wanted, a safe, a refrigerator, dishwasher, washingmachine (you definitely need that with two small children). All was provided for getting us started, the groceries were done as requested, the bins were clean, there was washingpowder, dishwashpowder, towels, beachtowels, all was there.

Tommy (the resort manager) does his best to keep the resort up and running. But he has to do with the local poco poco style, so if the trash is not emptied, there is nothing you can do. You just have to wait until somebody decides that its time to pick up all the waiting trash outside at the road. Also the resort gets visited by the locals in the weekends, and they don't always keep to the resort rules. Also very poco poco, but it costs extra effort to clean up after a local party. Rules are not something that the local people tend to take very seriously. Not that they make a mess or something, but they don't take the poolbeds back after they put them on their own terrace. That kind of thing. It keeps Tommy busy!

The people are generally very nice, but I think they don't like Dutch people (we are dutch) very much. Something out of history I think. We speak a couple of words Papiamento and thats considered very polite, but there is a category who is very tired, I think, of tourists. We met all kinds of people, frienldy, unfriendly, ignorant, interested, silent but mostly very emotional. Our children had fun with local children but there were also groups of children who just shouted and bullied at our kids. Pushed them in the water etc. Did not get the reason behind that. I had to step in a few times, telling them to stop, but I just got shouted at. I normally never get shouted at by a 5 year old, but now I did! Very strange. We did found out that those groups never got at the paid beaches and that they did not show up at the same beach every day. So we learned how to avoid them. It is a pity though.

Westpunt is so nice. We stayed in Piscadera Baai in February, but the West side of the island is the most beautifull. I never want to get back to Jan Thiel. We looked at mostly all the beaches, Lagun, Cas Abou, Daaibooi, but our favorite was Grote Knip. Extremely crowded at Sunday, but the most you get from a Carribean beach with white sand and blue sea and (thank God) no pedicures, no massages, no white benches and no beer drinking students. Not so good for snorkeling as Lagun, but very nice for a family.

To stay at Marazul means that you need to bring a lot with you, since there is not a store for a half hour drive! Bring all the essentials suchs as suncream, showersoap etc, because if you don't have it with you, you need to drive at least 35 minutes tot Tera Kora for the California Supermarket. If you are very smart, you pick up a lot of food and drink on your way from the airport to Marazul.

We did not cook while we were there, so we ate out. Mostly at Ranchos e Sobrino - you can walk that (the kids loved it), we ate at Sol Food (which is only open at Friday, Saterday and Sunday). The food is nice, the view is nice. Jaanchies is fun, but we saw all the food we wanted after just two times. Mishe is an absolute favorite - not very childfoodfriendly, but the best food we had in two weeks. A little bit expensive, but very very good.

We spend our days at the beach and at a local nice spot, such as Christoffelpark, Shete Boca, took a snorkeling course at Discover Diving at Lagun (absolute nice people over there) and are very sorry that its already over.

No doubt about it, stay at Marazul, you'll love it!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisadaniel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Some difficulties at first due to mold. Were quickly upgraded to two bedroom, oceanfront. Staff were friendly and helpful. Dorty is delightful. Terrific view. Close drive to at least 10 shore dive sites, 3 are within 2 mile distance. Rental car necessary. Buy groceries before you leave Willemsted, as there are only 3 restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWillis659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Our stay at Marazul was perfect for chilling out at the pool, enjoying the night stars, and of course the blue sea was breathtaking. The managers Dorthy and her husband Arthur provided us with everything we needed to make the stay comfortable. Marazul is off the beaten path (40 minutes from the capital Wilemstaad) where you can relax without the tourist crowds of the city.

Our apartment was comfortable with soft breezes in the evening that allowed for a comfortable sleep. We did not use our air conditioner as this breeze was refreshing.

We started our day with coffee on the patio and ended it star gazing at the pool. This was the most relaxing "how sweet to do nothing" holiday we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariyaCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Last july we stayed at Marazul for a mix of Business and recreation. The location is amazing and totaly different from all the resorts at the other part of the island. This is the place for a quiet and peacefull stay.
The appartment was perfect for the stay of the two of us although some restoration are needed to keep it in a perfect shape.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beoordeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

With a million dollar view over the sparkling clear caribbean, Marazul offers the perfect location for hassle free diving and relaxing with old and new friends. You can go right out your door and walk down to the water for a morning swim or late evening dip in the 84 degree water. Now there's no beach, but that just makes for crystal clear water and combined with the calm seas, its like having a huge swimming pool at your fingertips. On the way back to your apartment, you can stop by the pool and relax with others before going on to your next activity or just catching a wonderful nap!
The new managers, Pete and Annameek, have really turned this place around. They work TOO much, keeping the place neat and providing a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Even their adult son exudes the joy and relaxing spirit of this place as he does his part to make the guest feel welcome and worry free.
There is a dive shop next door to the resort, and Harrald, does every thing he can to facilitate the independent diver. And there are other dive shops within a short drive, which offer the full service of boat dives, etc.
Numerous, cool, little beaches are also within a short drive.
I sometimes hesitate to say to much about little jewels I find for diving, but this is the kind of place that needs to be shared.
The location is not for those who need the vibrant night life, although all of that is available with a 30 minute drive to the capital city of Williamstad.
Reasonably priced, too, for the traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10kdivergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobano
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

rented a studio for 4 days & has been a very pleasant stay, clean kitchenette with microwave and coffee maker and more. The people are doing the utmost to please the guest and make sure you feel at home. Quite place, perfect for relaxation. Can recommend this site to all. Atleast 50 min drive from the capital. The sea is clear and right off the coast it drops down to greater depths, look at the pictures of the bay, the color of the water gives you an impression on the depth.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
19.6 mi away
No photo provided
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
434 reviews
21.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sabana Westpunt
131 reviews
29.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Sabana Westpunt
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Property: Marazul Dive Resort
Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marazul Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing