We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Peaceful! Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marazul Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a beautiful place! This is a beautiful place away from the city. Our family of five loved everything about it. The beaches in the area are outstanding, the diving and snorkeling was amazing right in front of the resort. Would highly recommend to anyone. Just know you are about 35 minutes from Willemstad.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ulik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Marazul Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife, Kay, and I spent another great time diving at the Marazul Dive Resort in Westpunt. We were there last year in February and wanted to go back again this year the week before Christmas. Wow , what a great time. The management team of Tommi and Uli (Mr and Mrs Koch), were wonderful hosts. Everything you might need, compressed air or Nitrox, wonderful dive sites, great restaurants are all close by and Tommi and Uli are there to help show you the way. The property is on the edge of a cliff with wonderful views of the sea and the sunsets. Diving is only steps away in front of the resort. My wife and I have scuba dived all of Curacao, and it is our honest opinion that the diving in front of Marazul is the best on the island. The apartment where we stayed was beautiful, very clean, with everything you might need.There is no better place to be in Curacao! Thank you Tommi and Uli for a wonderful vacation, we can't wait to come back. Steve and Kay Elwood Annapolis MD USA

Room Tip: Get in touch with Tommi and Uli, the property managers, wonderful people to work with.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Together with my wife we went to this beautifull place. In the house we rented we everywhere we had sea view! Furthermore this place of Curacao is the best place for diving. Whitin 20 minutes drive we had the best diving spots of the island! Beautiful coral and a lot of coloured fish.
The resort is clean and very friendly, although the swimmingpool is not very big, it is a good place to relax and enjoy the sunset. So a great place to enjoy the sun and the warm welcome of the carribean....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This resort is on the best (West) end of the island. No traffic lights, no traffic, no big hotels...just blue waters and tranquil private beaches for snorkeling and diving..all within just a few minutes drive. There are a few restaurants in the area but we choose to cook most of our meals in..ample dishes and cookware is provided along with a community grill. The resort is clean and well managed by Tommi and Uli who went out of their way to get us at the a/p and get us set up with a rental car. Uli even loaned us her cell phone the last day so we'd have an alarm to get us up in time for our flight! I fell in love with this place.

Room Tip: We were in 7B, oceanside. Very nice
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Desertbound_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I went for our 5th year anniversary. After an initial rough start -- we quickly got settled in for some much needed R&R. The complex is on the other side of the island, away from the hustle and bustle of the city area. It's a great place to relax and enjoy. The complex was clean, our condo was fully outfitted with all the ammenities that we would want. Plates, dishes, coolers, etc. We just went shopping and made food for breakfast. We were just two people, but our condo had more than enough room for more.

The location is ideal for snorkeling or going to the beautiful beaches. A number of mostly secluded beaches are literally within minutes of Marazul. These can't be beat.

I wish I could have spent more time - relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mistry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed with a dive buddy here July 15-25 (2011). Unit H-2 was ours for 10 days. The apartment was super-clean and met my expectations in every way. AC both down and upstairs, dishes and cooking utensils in kitchen, paper towel, coffee and filters, etc. We pre-ordered some groceries and drinks, including beer, and there is an order form on their website for that purpose. So we had some essential supplies on hand when we arrived. The closest grocery store is about a 20 minute drive, in the town of Barber (the closest gas station, too) and the selection there is not as great as the stores in or near Willemstad. So, if you aren't able to stop for supplies on the way from the airport, this store will do in a pinch for most needs. The room is cleaned once per week with fresh towels, etc. Caretakers Tommy and Ulie (sp?) are very nice and accomodating, but I found them to be hard to find most days. They resided in another location, so the office was often closed when we needed assistance. But they would show up eventually, and happily take care of us. The restaurants in Westpunt are really great. Did not try all of them, but did get to Sol Food (a must, and conversatiion with proprieter "Sunshine" and her spouse, and the cook, David, is priceless!), Landhuis Mische, Jancchies, and Sobrino. Dove daily with Ocean Encounters West, just a short 5 mminute drive from Marazul. The daily rate at Marazul was fantastic! All questions and directions were handled in advance by Dorthy, who has a unit there but also lives in the U.S. You are limited on electrical consumption daily, so the AC has do be used judiciously. Tommy has to go into town to purchase additional electric "credits," so plan ahead if you are running low on your meter. We rented a car at the airport, so transportation was not a problem. The pool at Marazul is clean and refreshing -- great for post-dive relaxation. However, there are many families that stay there over the week-ends (mostly), so there are usually several children using the pool. Not a problem, unless you really crave peace and quiet. All in all, I would highly recommend Marazaul Resort as a place for divers to stay, especially if diving with Ocean Encounters West (OEW). We heard from other divers staying at the Kura Hulanda resort right next door to OEW that the food was really pricey, as were the accomodations. With the good-to-excellent quality of the other restaurants there, along with the low cost of staying at Marazul and close proximity to OEW, I am really pleased that we chose Marazul for our housing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank DeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were only able to stay two nights, but it felt as healing to the mind as four nights in another place you may consider relaxing. Friendly people staying in other apartments and bungalows made it feel safe as well. Set on the cliffs of Westpunt, the water is a short walk down some cliff-side stairs and then you're in the clearest, calmest water. Excellent coral reefs approx 50 yards from the cliff and other less developed reef runs along the cliff. Friendly restaurant/bar next door called Sobrino that's run by a Surinamese couple and plenty of dining options along the same road; all fairly priced and with excellent ambiance. Comparable to Cayman, but less busy this time of year for sure. Tommi and Uli made the stay complete with their hospitality skills to ensure we were comfortable. We also stayed in Willamstad for two nights, but if we return, we'll go direct to Westpunt as one night in Willamstad was enough for us. For Marazul and Westpunt, you must be looking to put yourself in island-time mode...places close early at night. I highly recommend it for divers/snorkelers, but if you go for these reasons, please do your part to preserve the beauty of Curacao's waters/reefs by leaving it the way you find it or cleaner. Discover diving in Lagun (10 min drive) was VERY affordable and has a gorgeous reef just outside the Lagun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
654 reviews
26.0 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sabana Westpunt
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
0.8 mi away
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Sabana Westpunt
285 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marazul Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing