We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling and free diving Curacao-Marazul dive resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marazul Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Snorkeling and free diving Curacao-Marazul dive resort”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

5 years later we decided to go back to Curacao. Strange how one gets fed up with the best Maldivian or Red Sea reefs! We knew from our former visit that Curacao is not the top or very good reef snorkeling destination but anyway...for a change. Good priced Air Berlin, v.good aircraft flight... So we booked Marazul Dive Resort for 3 weeks, Jan 17-Feb7.
But the Reef was almost gone! We extensively snorkeled and free dived up to 10 m, almost every beach from Porto Marie to Kalki, for hours. There were only some corals left, the coral variety was poorer then before,many species missing, heavy bleaching, and consequently the fish variety was poor too.It looked like, in some places, that heavy waves passed over the reef, leaving heaps of broken coral, overgrowing with brown algae. Anyway, there are some beauty patches still resisting, mostly left hand walls and parts of the reef on the beaches - Porto Marie and Kas Abao, (Kalki, better center and right hand). The visibility was average to poor. If nothing else the sea was fantastic for hour long swimming.
The restaurants in the area were absolutely overpriced compared to Mediteranean sea standards, with very average (poor) food.You don`t expect to pay 100% more in the third world country, especially for sea food.Local food, creole cuisine was almost non existent, no fantasy. Seem that the tourist- Dutch, etc clientele was more satisfied with Holland junk food, especially one served on the beaches. Even the small creole restaurant , where we ate 5 years ago, was closed at Kas Abao . A 5x5 cm, awful hamburger cost almost 5 euro.The Dutch krokets.,etc, was the rule.
The supermarkets, far away from Westpunt, had excellent papayas. avocados and mangoes and melons. The vegetables, like tomatoes, were awful ,they started to rot in the fridge after two days.Fish choice- three type of fish, two of shrimps and one of clams (New Zealand). One was crying, remembering the choice one has in the supermarkets on the French Antilles.
And to think that Latin America, with all the sea food and vegetables choice is only 30 miles away!
So, the highlights:
Marazul Dive Resort- very good , quiet, thanks to Tommi and Uli and special thanks to Dorothy Owen!
The local, fair priced restaurant at Boka Tabla- Shete Bokas- absolutely best Krioyo (creole) food, open only Saturdays and Sundays lunch time, a must (try the iguana stew,something between a rabbit and a chicken)
Swimming for hours
Some beauty spots on the reefs

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank pathfinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    47
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent 6 nights in this wonderful and beautiful resort. Tommi and Uli were the perfect hosts. They took excellent care of us and we look forward to our return! The property ia beautiful and very well designed. The two access points to the sea feel very safe. The views from our balcony were awesome and the best sunsets I've ever seen. Very convenient location to other great beaches and places to eat. Willemstad was like a 30-40 minute drive. It was very clean here too. And our host provided us with food for our late arrival. We loved it here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We just returned from a very short 3 night stay at Marazul. The resort is located in a very beautiful location by the sea and very close to beautiful beaches and two great dive shops. The grounds were very well keep and the studio we stayed in was very neat and clean. The management Tommi and Uli were great. I only wish we had more time to spend here. I would definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TSW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a beautiful place! This is a beautiful place away from the city. Our family of five loved everything about it. The beaches in the area are outstanding, the diving and snorkeling was amazing right in front of the resort. Would highly recommend to anyone. Just know you are about 35 minutes from Willemstad.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ulik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife, Kay, and I spent another great time diving at the Marazul Dive Resort in Westpunt. We were there last year in February and wanted to go back again this year the week before Christmas. Wow , what a great time. The management team of Tommi and Uli (Mr and Mrs Koch), were wonderful hosts. Everything you might need, compressed air or Nitrox, wonderful dive sites, great restaurants are all close by and Tommi and Uli are there to help show you the way. The property is on the edge of a cliff with wonderful views of the sea and the sunsets. Diving is only steps away in front of the resort. My wife and I have scuba dived all of Curacao, and it is our honest opinion that the diving in front of Marazul is the best on the island. The apartment where we stayed was beautiful, very clean, with everything you might need.There is no better place to be in Curacao! Thank you Tommi and Uli for a wonderful vacation, we can't wait to come back. Steve and Kay Elwood Annapolis MD USA

Room Tip: Get in touch with Tommi and Uli, the property managers, wonderful people to work with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everdingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Together with my wife we went to this beautifull place. In the house we rented we everywhere we had sea view! Furthermore this place of Curacao is the best place for diving. Whitin 20 minutes drive we had the best diving spots of the island! Beautiful coral and a lot of coloured fish.
The resort is clean and very friendly, although the swimmingpool is not very big, it is a good place to relax and enjoy the sunset. So a great place to enjoy the sun and the warm welcome of the carribean....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This resort is on the best (West) end of the island. No traffic lights, no traffic, no big hotels...just blue waters and tranquil private beaches for snorkeling and diving..all within just a few minutes drive. There are a few restaurants in the area but we choose to cook most of our meals in..ample dishes and cookware is provided along with a community grill. The resort is clean and well managed by Tommi and Uli who went out of their way to get us at the a/p and get us set up with a rental car. Uli even loaned us her cell phone the last day so we'd have an alarm to get us up in time for our flight! I fell in love with this place.

Room Tip: We were in 7B, oceanside. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Desertbound_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
621 reviews
25.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
21.2 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sabana Westpunt
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Sabana Westpunt
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Property: Marazul Dive Resort
Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marazul Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing