We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marazul Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exactly right”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I booked bungalow #6 -- which is enormous and juts out a bit on the corner towards the cliff. We might have just booked an apartment, but it was the 2nd part of our honeymoon and we splurged. It should be noted, however, than even "splurging" only cost about $165/night -- comparable accommodations in Hawaii were 4x more expensive.

One of the best reasons to stay on this very private cliff area is the breeze coming off the sea. Not only is it refreshing, but it blows away mosquitos. A few managed to sneak in our bedroom, but my wife only got bit because her feet poked out from the mosquito net. On the island, you should pretty much always have some deet on your neck, wrists and ankles. At Marazul Dive, there were fewer mosquitos than we saw anywhere else on the island.

Rene the property manager is a cheerful man who's there to help. He just bought an apartment on the property (to rent, not to live in), so he's invested, literally, in keeping the place pristine.

There are iguanas and beautiful birds all over. The iguanas won't bother you -- although we did have a bright green baby iguana try to sneak into our bungalow. Heh. The snorkeling directly off the cliff at Marazul is very good -- diverse coral and fish.

The *only thing that I need to qualify here is that, for whatever reason, you have to pay for toilet paper. Seems like an odd bit, and that they should just add $5 to the rental. But it's a la carte. That's the reason I only gave 4 stars for service. Also, there are no doors on the bathrooms. Interesting. We didn't mind, but then again we had 2 bathrooms because we booked a full bungalow..

The kitchen was well equipped. We cooked a bit, and kept a lot of beer in the fridge. There's a good restaurant directly next door, and a couple other fun ones nearby that you'll read about. The grocery stores are 30 mins away, so be sure to stock up when you arrive or when you're coming back from town. Rene will also have a bag of groceries waiting for you at cost if you make that request in advance.

Westpunt is where you want to stay. The resorts in Jan Thiel are tacky, expensive, and full of mosquitoes. The best beaches are in the west part of the island, and are within a 15 minute drive of Marazul Dive. We drove to the capital one day, and it was fine -- but we much preferred drinking beer on the beach and snorkeling. I'm getting a bit misty eyed as I write this, so it's time to stop. What a magnificent vacation it was--at a very special property on the magical island of Curacao.

Room Tip: get an oceanfront bungalow or apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jBatesWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    48
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hubby and I stayed in 2B for a week in April. It was quiet, safe. The grounds were lovely maintained daily. Our condo was right by the pool, which was very handy and I loved the pool. There weren't many people around during our week, but those that were there were very friendly. I saw 7A ,7B, and 8A which were also nice and 6, which is 2 units in one, and very nice. The caretaker is around fairly often and is helpful.

We snorkeled twice right from the stairs to the ocean. The 1st time was our first day and I was nervous, the 2nd time was our last day and I had a lot more confidence. We also snorkeled a bunch of times at Lagun, Big and Little Knip, Jeremy. We ate at nearby Sol food one night and did our own cooking the rest of the time. We bought some tuna from one of the beaches which fed us for 3 meals since we had to buy a minimum weight. We visited some sights, the 2 National Parks, the Tula Museum, the flamingos and Hato Caves.

I would highly recommend staying at MDR if you're looking for somewhere quiet, clean, safe, attractive and located near a bunch of nice beaches for snorkeling and diving. However, remember that the condos are individually owned so the quality may differ. Certainly all the ones I saw were of good quality. Life at MDR was easy, pleasant, relaxing and fun.

Room Tip: I found it handy to be located near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in 2A, a newly renovated apartment that's comfortable and homey. So homey I was hard-pressed to venture out of it every day. The location is great as it's basically a tuck and roll out of the verandah door into the pool and another tuck and roll to the steps to the sea. What made this place so special was all of the amenities. Everything you can think of that you need or MAY want was there for your convenience from bath gels and shampoo to snorkel gear and beach umbrellas. There's a grill outside and big drying rack upstairs on the terrace. There was even bug spray, sunblock and extra beach towels in case you needed it. You definitely get the feeling that the owners took great pride and dedication in outfitting the apartment in the pursuit of total comfort. I also really appreciated the great balance of functionality and aesthetics, two things that are hard to get right in visitor accommodation. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a piece of home in Westpunt!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We picked Marazul at Westpunt from trip advisors reviews. Rene was great in helping us with rental car set up with D & D could not have been more pleased:)) Also Go West Diving for tanks at beautiful playa Kalki beach. Night dive right out our backdoor first night here! We enjoyed diving remote beautiful sites within easy drive Get a map and go for it you will want to come back:)



Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theaetetus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband & I just returned from a fabulous 10 night stay at Marazul Dive Resort which we booked through VRBO. We rented unit 8B, & found the owners wonderful to deal with - very responsive to our e-mails & questions. We chose this end of the island for it's location further from the crowds, & could not have been happier. It was an easy 40-45 minute drive from the airport (stop at the big supermarket, Centrum, 3 kms from airport en route to pick up grocery items). Unit was comfortable, super clean, beautifully furnished in Caribbean décor, great bed upstairs, small, but very functional kitchen with all amenities, charcoal BBQ outside. All food should be stored in fridge as ants can be a problem, but it wasn't really a concern if careful with food. There are starter amounts of toilet paper, garbage bags, paper towel. We went to Marazul to see what was on hand before buying those items, & brought a few lightweight items from home. Halfway through our vacation we made another trip to Centrum and did buy a few more essentials, but little is needed beyond personal items, & previous renters left a few non-perishable items behind, as did we when we left. Never needed the air con downstairs as fabulous through breeze from patio to front door. Unit is screened with hot water upstairs & down (apparently not all units at Marazul have those features). Unit was about 25 yds from cliff edge & we loved the view! Breakfast on the downstairs patio every day with blue skies, colourful flowers, hummingbirds everywhere, endless ocean & a great view to the fishing boats at Playa Grandi. Late afternoons spent on the upstairs deck with a drink in hand to watch glorious sunsets daily (units are west facing). There is a property manager on hand who was easy to find & happy to answer questions & offer advice. We spent our days travelling to nearby beaches to snorkel - 2 of our favourites were Playa Kenecki (near Playa Abou) & Lagun. One can also snorkel at Marazul - steps down to a swim ladder for fairly easy entry and exit, & there is a lovely pool as well. Never crowded, but still a nice place to meet fellow guests. There are a few local restaurants in the area which were ok, though we knew that one doesn't go to Curacao for the food. It was fun to dine at Sol with it's lovely view, friendly owner (Sunshine), we had great take-out ribs beside the dive shop at Lagun, which we reheated at dinnertime. Best dinners were the 3 or 4 we ate at Marazul - where we bbq'd, enjoyed a bottle of wine, & the great view.

Car was definitely required (we booked with Alamo, who had the best prices), but easy to get around. We drove into Willemstad one day & enjoyed wandering around for a couple of hours, but as we are not shoppers, it was very nice to get "home" to our end of the island. Groceries similarly priced to home, & large grocery store very well stocked, with numerous smaller markets closer to Marazul. One can also wait for the fishing boats to come into Playa Grandi or Lagun daily & buy from the fishermen, though we didn't actually try this.

This was definitely a relaxing, very pleasant vacation, & our unit was absolutely perfect. Would recommend to anyone & hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

After four days in Curacao's "big smoke", Willemstad, we spent the last eight days of our vacation at Marazul. We rented unit 9A which is on the quiet side of the complex away from the pool. Marazul is in picturesque location on a clifftop overlooking the Caribbean sea, with the little village of Westpunt and its hills as a backdrop. Be sure to catch the spectacular sunsets - free, daily entertainment. The nearest beach to the north (Playa Forti) is a three minute walk and although it is a small pebbly beach, it is not crowded and is good for taking a dip in the ocean or reading a book in peace. The postcard-perfect "Grote Knip" beach is the nearest beach to the south, about seven minutes by car. It is even more beautiful than in the pictures you see on the net or in the brochures. For that same reason it can get quite busy with beachgoers and tour buses stopping by to take pictures. Good beaches nearby for diving / snorkeling are Playa Kalki ("Alice in Wonderland") 5 minutes by car to the north, as well as Playa Lagun, about 10 minutes by car to the south (past Grote Knip). Marazul has two sea ladders down the cliff and the immediate area around the resort offers OK snorkeling too. We spotted no less than four sea turtles in the area so keep an eye out for them. Two good restaurants within easy walking distance from Marazul are at Rancho El Sobrino (next door) and the famous Jaanchies Restaurant down the road to the north which has been around for 60 years. Travelling to the resort from the airport or Willemstad, be sure to do your main grocery shopping at the Centrum supermarket (Weg Naar Bullenbaai) on the way. From Westpunt it is around 35 minutes by car so quite a drive. The smaller, Chinese-owned supermarkets closer to Westpunt (in Tera Kora) are OK for basics but don't expect to find a big range or gourmet deli quality food. Back to Marazul, the unit (9A) was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed although - as is the case with most mid-range self-catering apartments - it lacked wine glasses (we had two mismatched glasses). The unit had airconditioning ("airco") in both the upstairs bedroom and the downstairs living area. The airco in the living area was quite noisy so we mainly used the ceiling fan. Both showers in the unit uses an electrical water heater and even on the highest heat setting, both barely reached lukewarm temperature - not a big issue in the tropics but I appreciated my first hot shower after arriving back home. The bed was not uncomfortable but it was not the most comfortable - took some getting used to as it is two twins pushed together with a prominent border on the mattress. The pillows provided need to be replaced - they are thin and we had to fold them double. The property manager Rene is very friendly and helpful. The complex common areas, gardens and grounds are well maintained. We would recommend Marazul as your first choice if you are looking for clean, comfortable, reasonably priced self-catering accommodation in scenic Westpunt.


NOTE: This warning is not related to Marazul, it is about the nearby Shete Boka National Park which you will probably visit if staying in Westpunt. The park itself is beautiful and worth going to, however be aware of opportunistic crime. Both our car and another couple's car were broken into at around 10.00am in the northern car park close to the land bridge. If visiting Shete Boka, park your car in the main car park at the entrance gate and just walk to the northern and southern ends. Do not be tempted to "avoid the crowds" and arrive before 10am or leave after 3pm when there are less people as the park is quite vulnerable to opportunistic thieves, presumably from the nearby village. Turns out that car break-ins are a known problem at the Shete Boka park but the police and park management do not seem to be too concerned about it so you have to be cautious. This does not affect Marazul as it is in a secure (gated) complex.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Radrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Forty minutes away from the airport,Marazul Dive Resort is a well-maintained place(René the manager is very helpful and friendly).

As each unit is individually owned,pay attention to the apartment features before to rent!

We were lucky to stay 9 nights in the 2B($130/night),a very comfortable but not luxurious apartment, in front of the pool where we got all we needed and more!The kitchen is fully equiped,the bedroom in the upper floor provides a very comfy kingbed,plenty of linen,towels and storage...
We were lucky to meet a lovely French woman,Gillette who owns a unit and who was very helpful too.

A car is essential and we rented the reliable D&D car rental.Helpful owner.

For the snorkeling the best place is Playa Lagun(seahorses,turtle...).Porto Marie beach is great for sunbathing,house reef interesting(many Lionfish...)

Cons:mosquitos!a lack of privacy of the second floor terrace

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
19.6 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
434 reviews
29.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sabana Westpunt
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
Kura Hulanda Lodge & Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Sabana Westpunt
274 reviews
23.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Dive Resort

Property: Marazul Dive Resort
Address: Westpunt z/n, Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marazul Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marazul Dive Resort is located at the most beautiful spot of Curacao. In front is the sea and the mountains at the back. Marazul Dive Resort consists of several studios/apartments and bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marazul Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Dive Hotel
Marazul Dive Resort Curacao/Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing