We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Villa in Curacao”
other travellers have booked this property
The Infinity Pool...and beyond it the Caribbean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Infinity Pool...and beyond it the Caribbean
Some of the best diving and snorkeling on Curacao can be had in the water below these cliffs... There is no prettier place to soak in an infinity pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Infinity Pool...and beyond it the Caribbean
Some of the best diving and snorkeling on Curacao can be had in the water below these cliffs...
There is no prettier place to soak in an infinity pool.
The locally handcrafted stone steps leading down to the Caribbean Ocean...
Another view of the carved stone staircase to the sea, created by local artisans.
Looking at the villa from the western edge of the property on an unusually gray morning.
Simply another gorgeous day on the terrace at Surrender Villa...
Just another spectacular Surrender sunset on the terrace.
Blissful privacy on the sea cliffs of the Caribbean
Lone tree peacefully graces the cliff....beside the Surrender flagpole.
Plenty of sun and shade on the terrace where gentles breezes always blow...
Outdoor seating on the terrace at just before dusk.
Surrender Villa perches on the cliffs above the Caribbean Ocean.
Surrender Villa sits on over an acre and a half of architecturally landscaped seclusion...
The pathway leading from the terrace to the stone staircase...and the sea below!
Our kitchen features high-end appliances and was designed with the chef in mind.
The view into the living room from the kitchen area.
Plenty of space at the kitchen counter for large groups.
With the living room wall of sliding pocket doors open, nothing stands between you and the outdoors.
The windows looking out the front of the villa have views of the mountains.
The living room has ample of seating for family gatherings, girlfriend getaways or  yoga retreats.
A stately carved large sea turtle graces our living room coffee table.
Another view of the open, flowing floor plan
Our dining room is open and airy...just like the rest of Surrender Villa!
Artistic details are a wonderful part of the decor. These creatures adorn our dining room.
The family room has a large HD-TV, private bath, 2 queen sofa beds & opens directly onto the terrace
While all sorts of dining options exist for eating at home, this one is a family favorite!
The master suite has a private bath and a small adjacent room perfect for quiet reflection.
The master bedroom is part of a private suite of rooms. It opens directly onto the terrace.
The master bathroom - with jetted oversized tub, separate shower, double vanity and bidet...
Another view of the master bath....
Beyond the half wall in the ensuite master bath are the toilet and bidet.
A small room off the master - Ideal for quiet reflection or sofa bed can be used for a single guest.
The yellow bedroom features a queen size  bed, reading nook and wonderful oceanfront  views.
Another view of the  spacious yellow bedroom.
The coral bedroom has two twin beds that can easily be pushed together, if desired.
A closer look at the coral room with the ocean just beyond the window  A heavenly spot for a nap!
This bath can be accessed from either the coral or yellow bedrooms.
A third full bathroom can be accessed from the family room.
This wee bedroom with twin bed is a great spot for a nanny or single with the 4th bathroom next door
Are you brave enough to dive from the cliff side platform?
The turquoise water awaits you....
Desert foliage characterize the architecturally landscaped grounds.
The uncrowded, western tip of Curacao.
A satellite image of Surrender's location.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sabana Westpunt, Curacao

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex J P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Villa in Curacao”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Great Villa that ticks all the boxes for a great vacation!

Villa lives up to all the write ups and even more.

Spacious, appointed well, great pool and private as can be.

There were just two of us and the place seemed like a palace on the cliffs of Curacao. Would be great for big families or groups. It was a great stay and all the help from support staff was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review. Many don't think to mention the level of personal attention and customer support we endeavor to provide. So glad you did. We are so happy you enjoyed your "palatial" stay. You are always welcome to stay in our family's vacation home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M
Rockledge, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Making Memories at Surrender Villa, Westpunt-Sabana--Curacao”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My extended family and I were on a mission to enjoy life with the mantra, "life should be memories and not dreams", and our expectations were definitively met with our recent July 2016 stay at Surrender Villa located in Westpunt-Sabana, Curacao. I have visited Curacao 4 times prior to this stay and certainly enjoyed my stay in the Willemstad area. Having traversed to the Western part of Curacao from Willemstad to explore the many beautiful cove-like beaches, I decided to look for a rental on that part of the island. Surrender Villa is as "west" as you can get with a flag and marker denoting the property by the Curacao government as being just that!

The property is located within a gated community and accessed via the Kura Hulanda Lodge and Beach Resort located near Playa Kalki. We were met by the local property manager who cordially welcomed us and amply introduced us to the Villa. We were a group of nine, and it comfortably accommodated all of us. We did not feel on top of each other with 4 bedrooms, three full baths, and a large family entertainment room that served as a sleeping area for my younger nieces with two pull out bed.

Surrender Villa is so tastefully designed with a fully modern kitchen and open floor plan. However the real 'star' of the Villa is the large Mediterranean outside pool area, where I think we spent more time outside than inside. The large infinity pool was paradise looking over the blue waters of the Caribbean, and being due West, sunsets were spectacular. Being from Philadelphia, I also enjoy nighttime outside forgetting how many stars are in the sky as we were certainly free from night light pollution.

The property owner Janet, was so very helpful during the rental process, from details on payments right down to her own personal recommendations of sights to visit on the island.

Besides being tastefully decorated, small essentials are there from beach chairs, towels, coolers, right down to even shopping bags! One day we did not even leave the property from morning coffee to dining al fresco utilizing the modern outdoor grill.

My nephew and nieces being brave took the plunge from the cliffs on the property as there is a sea ladder to enter back from the clear blue waters. Playa Kalki is within walking distance (15 minutes) however the true stars of Curacao are the West Coast Beaches as we visited Grote Knip, Klein Knip, Cas Abou, Playa Lagun, and Playa Jeremi, all within a 10 to 20 minute car ride. I would say a ride into Willemstad is about 50 minutes. Small shopping marts are a few minutes away with larger grocery stores I would say about 30-40 minutes away. Hato Airport is about a 35 -40 minute ride from Surrender Villa.

I can't say enough about Surrender Villa. As one of my brother-in-laws stated "this is living the dream"!

PS: I must not forget that there is a view of the Caribbean from almost every room!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review. I totally agree and am so happy you chose to "create memories" and "live the dream" at Surrender. How could anyone not be awed by the ocean? The sunsets? The millions of stars? And thanks, specifically, for mentioning how easily the villa accompanies large groups! You are always welcome to stay in our family's vacation home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobNyack
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Surrender was the perfect place for our family vacation, offering privacy and luxury in a magnificent setting.

The villa itself is gorgeous - tastefully decorated in a way that made it feel both comfortable and elegant. Plenty of room with lots of different areas to relax and spend time together. A bit isolated, but anything needed was either available at the house or could be arranged by Hynrich, the property's wonderful caretaker.

The house is situated on the edge of a cliff, with gentle trade winds keeping the temperature comfortable and insects at bay. The patio is the perfect spot for sunset viewing.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outdoor spaces - but the indoor spaces are magnificent too!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula M
Schlieren, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Location: West Punt is a small town with hardly any infrastructure for tourists - not many restaurants around.
House: It is locted on top of a cliff towards the sunset. The master bedroom is enormous in size, as well as the ensuite bathroom. There is a tiny room thourgh the master bedroom, where one Person could sleep. My childred stayed each in a double room (yellow and pink) with a shared bathroom (to me a Little strange architecture, since the house is really, really big. There is also a single bed for a maid with a bathroom (shower and toilet) next door. It is also next door to the room with washing machine and tumbler. Then there is a huge TV room, where you have sleeping couches with an en suite bathroom. A very modern kitchen with everything you can think about (including a built in Nespresso machine).
The house is a minute drive away from the Centrum Supermarket, where you most probably will end up buying groceries. A littel inconvenient for such a small Island. FOr us, as Europeans some driving away.
Most restaurants are in Willemstad, which takes an hour drive.
We were looking for peace and enjoyed the cooking and bbq-ing a lot - excellent bbq, I wish we could get one like this in Europe.
The Swimming pool is really large fro a private home and very enjoyable. There are enough chairs to sunbath. Down the cliff there is a path and over a stair you can enjoy the warm and very clear ocean. We never ate in a restaurant, as we really enjoy cooking.
The diving School GO West diving is a minute drive away. They were really nice, but to me, the diving in Curacao is rather expensive, when taking a boat. To go from shore we figured, it is not too convenient and the sights are away (supposedly it is better for that in Bonaire).
Ovareall: If you want to spend time with your friends or family and enjoay beautiful ocean viewa and silence, this is really the place for you.
Possibility for improvement: We figuered the bed Sheets could be changed and the house cleaned at least onve a week, if you rent longer for the price. The man who had to clean the pool was nice, but showed up only after 8 days and then 3 days later (we left next day). We didn't Need his assistance, so we can't say, if helpful or not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Liked least: No cleaning service (rented for 12 days)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for the 5 star review! We would be disappointed to receive anything less!
Like you, we tend to stay close to home and use the outdoor grill more often than not. There are three restaurants we strongly recommend located in right in Westpunt . They are Sol Food (expensive-ish), Trio Penotti (moderately priced) and Jaanchie's (for those who might be curious about the culinary potential of iguana).
For shore divers or snorkelers, we recommend bringing or renting equipment. The entire island is dotted with public access beaches where you can simply stroll walk into the ocean and become enchanted. There are some who prefer diving in Westpunt over all other areas. We have also had guests who swear their best dives were accessed directly from our property.
To minimize trips to the grocery store, we recommend either allowing us to stock the fridge ahead of arrival according to your wishes and/or stopping for provisions on your way to the villa from the airport (or on your way back from sightseeing). Arrangements can also be made with Hynrich, our wonderful property manager, to do your grocery shopping for you. By the way, Hynrich is also happy to arrange for interim housekeeping and many other personal services. He can be reached 24/7 should the need ever arise. We strive to remain easily accessible to our guests for the duration of their visits. Again, thank you so much for the thorough review and please remember, you are always welcome in our home!





Had we known of your interests, we could have recommended
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eva10014
New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Privacy, Luxury and Amazing Views”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two incredible weeks at Surrender Villa. The private villa is in Westpunt on a secluded and beautifully landscaped 1 1/2 acre lot at the end of the road located within the grounds of the Kura Hulanda Lodge. This is the best of both worlds -- you are in a large, private house but have the security of being in a gated community. The lodge also has direct access to Playa Kalki and Go West Diving which you can walk to or you can park your car at the Lodge.

The pictures do not do justice to the house. Unlike most photos that use camera magic to make the property look larger and nicer, everything is much more impressive in person. The house is really spacious and the vaulted ceilings make it feel even more expansive. Every room is oversized and the master suite is enormous. It is large enough for three couples or two families but the two of us didn't feel like we were rattling around.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is always a breeze (so no bugs!) and shade so it is comfortable outside anytime of the day. At least four species of birds call the trees by the pool home and several other birds pass by during the course of the day. The views of the ocean are breathtaking and the sun sets right over the pool. The villa is equipped with everything you could need including a VOIP phone to call off island and a local cell phone. But most impressive of all is the quality of the furniture and finishes on the grounds and in the house. No corners were cut when building and decorating the villa.

Janet was responsive and helpful during the rental process and accommodated our few scheduling changes. Hynrich, the property manager, does a great job keeping the grounds spotless (he comes by twice a week). The Jaffe's have a beautiful home and we were lucky that we were able to "borrow" it for two weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It exceeded our already high expectations
Liked least: We had to leave.........
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It's a genuine pleasure for us, as property owners, to have our guests appreciate the same things about our vacation home as we do. We've tried to make Surrender Villa comfortable, accessible and to convey a sense of spaciousness where the island meets the ocean. We love how radically different the geography and nature are from what most of us from North America are accustomed to seeing. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that you are always welcome at Surrender.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTgal2141
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury oceanfront villa”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had an amazing girlfriend's getaway at Surrender Villa. The house is gorgeous, enormous, immaculate and equipped with everything we could want or need. We did venture off to sightsee occasionally but it was hard to drag ourselves away from the terrace. The sunsets were unbeatable and the night the sky is sprinkled with billions of stars. A delightful breeze blows in from the ocean keeping us comfortable. This also means no bugs!!!! We'll definitely return. Can't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fabulous setting by the ocean
Liked least: didn't stay long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thanks for the great review! With so much communal space-as well as various nooks and crannies-- Surrender is the perfect getaway spot for groups to gather. Every visit is like a retreat! You and your girlfriends are always welcome at Surrender.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78Sandi78
Freeport, Illinois
2 reviews
“An Exquisite and Private, Secluded Vacation!”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is an exquisite and private home located in a gated community that offers superb amenities and gorgeous ocean views! The home is furnished inside and out with top quality furnishings, has a large outside veranda surrounding the beautiful infinity pool, and even has a finished walkway leading down to the ocean. Snorkeling can be done from the home certain times of the year, or at the hotel beach located a short walk from the home. There is a large entertainment room, and free wi-fi is available. The home owners have someone check & clean the pool at least twice a week, and is available if there are any questions. Make sure to get groceries in town as there are no close grocery stores nearby. We loved our vacation here, and would love to return someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful home, views, and privacy.
Liked least: About 30 min. from a good grocery store
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are delighted that you found your way to Playa Kalki and thrilled that you took care to note the amazing artisan-crafted stone stairway leading from the cliff's edge to the Caribbean waters below. Our Property Manager makes it his mission to see that the house is kept in pristine condition and our guests are happy at all times. We'd love you have you back in our home. You and your family are always welcome at Surrender!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing