We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had lunch here during a tour of the island. The decor is appealing to the eye, and the food was alright. A large group people arrived after us, and the service was extremely slow from that point on, the other group, who must have ordered in advance, was served and gone before our food arrived. Although I do understand ordering in advance, it was still over an hour to get our food.
Seemed like a nice resort, in a good location overlooking the water. Restaurant is not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunner557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the Rancho el Sobrino for 3 nights in September 2013.

Location
The Rancho is in the north of the island, on the main road but pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It's convenient for reaching many beaches and the Christoffelpark but in our opinion this is also possible from Willemstad by car.

Service
The people at the reception are friendly but not overwhelmingly enthusiastic. Information about the Christoffelpark (main highlight) were rare.

Rooms
The room is large (kitchen+bedroom) and clean. Unfortunately airconditioning was only available in one room. Our room (5) was very clairaudient so one night we thought people were standing right next to our bed (no blame on them!). The kitchen was large and everything needed available.

Food
Most of the time we cooked on our own but the one dinner in the restaurant was very tasty!

In summary, the Rancho is not really an insider tip and the disadvantage of being on the end of the island is not compensated by the shorter rides to the nice beaches i.e. the Knips.

Room Tip: Room 5 is VERY clairaudient and the bathroom window goes right to the reception which is kind pf ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakaisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here, we were the only ones there at that time which made it a very quiet n relaxing experience. The decor is appealing to the eye. The food was good. We were happy to find this place because there are not a lot of food places open early in that vicinity. A large group people arrived when we were heading out. I can imagine service would have been way slower if the resto was packed. We got lucky I guess. Clean restrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cubanpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Loved the place; it may not be right by the beach, but it has a great cost-benefit ratio. The staff was very cordial and helpful, and even though we had an issue with our booking through Decolar.com they helped us resolve it quickly through email long before we got there, so we had no issues. The restaurant is pretty good as well, and stays open until late, unlike a lot of the other places nearby. We have no complaints at all, and will certainly be back when we visit Curaçao again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at the Rancho to visit attractions and go swimming and snorkeling in the western part of Curacao. We found the rooms very convenient, AC, kitchen, TV and WLAN available in good quality, AC was very quiet. The owner, front office and maids were very friendly and helpful. The (sweet water) pool is sometimes a good alternative to the salty sea. What we liked most is the authentic and quiet atmosphere at the Rancho during all the time we stayed there. The most beautiful beaches are nearby (though you'll definitely need a rental car or at least a bike). There are some attractions in the region: Visit Shete Boca, Christoffel park, Watamula to experience the nature in this dry region. Landhuises Knip and Savonet are the only exhibitions as far as we know. Also there are a few good restaurants in Westpunt (including the Rancho's own).

Room Tip: Rancho apartments have little sea view compared to the BlueView apartments, but Rancho's houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimReh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. It's a nice place. Location is good. We enjoyed having our own kitchen, but the food in the restaurant is very nice as well. Rooms are basic, but good. We had a large colony of ants, but well it's the tropics. Most people from the staff where nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mijntje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I spent a week in a one-bedroom apartment at the Blue View Apartments owned by and near Rancho El Sobrino.

The apartment is basic and clean and spacious, with an amazing view from a large balcony overlooking the sea on a small cliff. The area is quiet and away from stores and restaurants and night life. I had a rental car included in my room, which was perfect for visiting many nearby beaches and getting groceries when needed (a bit of a drive away.) The kitchen was well-equipped, with a gas stovetop, fridge, coffee maker, toaster, kettle and dishes, but no microwave.

The air conditioner worked well, bathroom was fine with a very good pressure shower. TV was very small but served its purpose for a few evenings before bed.

I enjoyed watching the iguanas below, around and on my balcony. There was usually always one around somewhere, but I found they are very common all over the island. A few sand fleas and mosquitoes bit me on the balcony and inside, but I survived.

Being in a one bedroom, I had a room above me and heard quite a bit of noise of the tenants upstairs walking around. Wasn't usually too annoying, but always present.

The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful at Rancho El Sobrino. The resort was a short walk (5 minutes) down the road and I'd usually take a stroll in the evenings for dinners and to use the wi-fi.

I will definitely return as I enjoyed being away from it all, and feeling like I was living with the locals on Curacao. Definitely not a fancy big resort type feel at all. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabana Westpunt
23.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
341 reviews
23.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
228 reviews
23.8 mi away
Trupial Inn
Trupial Inn
#21 of 32 in Willemstad
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marazul Dive Resort
Marazul Dive Resort
#1 of 7 in Sabana Westpunt
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nos Krusero Apartments
Nos Krusero Apartments
#2 of 7 in Sabana Westpunt
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho El Sobrino Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho El Sobrino Curacao

Address: Weg naar knip z/n, Sabana Westpunt 00000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Sabana Westpunt
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Sabana Westpunt
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho El Sobrino Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho El Sobrino Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao Hotel Christoffel National Park
Rancho El Sobrino Curacao Sabana Westpunt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing