We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”
Review of Glan Yr Afon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glan Yr Afon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dolphin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were in the area to visit family so stayed at the Glan Yr Afon Inn for a few days. Since our last visit a few years ago the new owners have transformed The Glan back to its former glory. We stayed in room 10 which was very comfortable and spotless. The atmosphere in the bar each evening was brilliant, we were always made to feel so welcome.
A big thank you to Kerry who served our breakfast each morning, she was a real star and always went that extra mile to ensure we had every thing we needed. I agree this place is a real gem. If you are in the area and need a place to stay, a good meal or a drink in good company go to The Glan Ye Afon Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmesJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We celebrated here on Saturday 7th December 2013 for a xmas local party. There were 36 of us in total which I had asked if possible to all sit together in the small but cosy eatery lounge! Sharon was absolutely brilliant and worked hard to ensure all of us sat together. The design and layout of a christmas theme was second to none! On arrival everything was organised, even the mini bus to pick up some of the guests and deliver them home! We were made to feel welcome from the moment we entered through the door. The bar was all sorted with our prior arrangements, tables laid out with wine, and above all they went out of their way to ensure we received the best possible attention to detail! The staff were wonderful on delivering the food and hat off to the chef and his sous chef for ensuring we received the most fabulous food and I do mean simply gorgeous! The Glan yr Afon, Milwr, Dolphin having been taken over by Karen and Chris is proving to have the most splendid food on offer, along with a fantastic atmosphere and wonderful hospitality! If we could of stayed some of us would of, however all the lovely rooms were booked out on the night! So here is to 2014 we will certainly be back for our next xmas party. A special thanks also to Jo who sorted us out at the end of the night, and her lovely husband who ensured the guests arrived and got home with the available mini bus hire! A quaint, true gem of a place, hidden away but bigger than most with its offerings!

Room Tip: All rooms have been beautifully decorated with the recent face lift and will appeal to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowlerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Staying in the area for a family get-together, and chose here for our Saturday night meal 'out'.

So glad we did - as well as providing our transport to/from the Inn and being made very welcome by all the staff we dealt with, the whole evening was very special. Brilliant food - simple but spot-on in every case, right down to the kids meals. Chips to die for and several of our party opted for steak, which were the best we've had in some years - cooked perfectly. Wish I could have fitted in a dessert, but those who did, really enjoyed them.

Great local beers - husband recommends the 'Landslide'. The whole place had a really warm and sociable atmosphere - an absolute pleasure to be here.

Thank you for a lovely night. Will make a point of coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaB2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was gutted when this place was briefly closed. Fortunately, the new owners Chris and Karen have made a great job of breathing life back into this historic coaching inn. It has received significant investment and is now once again (In my opinion) the best traditional public house in the area.
I have eaten here with my family, was pleased with the quality of food, and will eat here in the future. The bar boasts a great selection of constantly changing real ales and several good quality lagers, a log fire for the winter and an outside seating area in which you can bask with the Sunday paper in the summer.
I must admit that I was a little concerned when Chris first arrived as he is an Evertonian. He can, however, often be seen also cheering on Liverpool when the match is on in the pool room. . . That`s the spirit!!
All in all, great place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Stunning pub in a quiet location. Excellent Sunday roast and excellent service. Appears a good friendly atmosphere for the locals. Shame there wasn't a nicer beer garden that's all. Reasonably priced food and drinks also

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

good value for money, food was great, wide slection on menu including good choice for vegertarans. meal for three two starters and three mains couldn,t fit in dessert as meals good sized portions .
waitress was lovely very polite and helpfull. friendly atmosphere seemed to be a few locals in the bar and snooker room, great to see local pub open and been used as most of them been closed in this area. only negative point could hear alot of banging in back room not sure if in kitchen,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the Glan on Sunday 15th September.

We had a wonderful evening and experienced great service from all the staff. We had dinner in the restaurant and were served by Chloe and Olivia. Both girls were friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. The food was of very high quality (I would recommend the deep fried Brie to start - it was delicious!)

We had drinks in the bar after and we were delighted when a local lad sang a traditional Welsh song to all the customers - the atmosphere in the bar was just brilliant.

I couldn't recommend this old Inn anymore highly. The hosts Karen & Chris are a great couple. The next time we return we will definately spend a few more days there and stay in the
Inn.

10 out of 10!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolphin
1.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
479 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#7 of 26 in Llangollen
187 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glan Yr Afon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Yr Afon Inn

Address: Milwr, Dolphin, Holywell CH8 7SJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Dolphin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dolphin
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glan Yr Afon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dogs are welcome in bar areas where meals can be served. We do not allow dogs to stay in bedrooms. Glan yr Afon Inn has a registered taxi service available to residents of the hotel and diners. This is a chargeable service, rates are set by Flintshire County Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glan Yr Afon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glan Yr Afon Inn Dolphin, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing