We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Axton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morgans Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Axton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had high expectations of Morgans Bed and Breakfast before we arrived, having seen the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our expectations were still exceeded. The hospitality shown to us by Jeff and Kate was second to none. We had a lovely suite, which can sleep 4, to ourselves. It was very cosy and beautifully furnished. Kate gave us a sneak preview of another room that they have also started letting to guests which is equally beautifully decorated and affords some lovely views. The location of the property, albeit picturesque, is fairly remote so a car is really a must. Having tasted the wonderful homemade granola for breakfast, we decided to stay in on the second evening and try some of the homemade food that Kate and Jeff offer as an extra. We were not disappointed and indeed decided to stay in for our third and final evening to enjoy Jeff's delicious homemade vegetarian tagine, followed by Kate's superb puds! We would most definitely recommend this top notch B & B. PS. Don't forget to look at Kate's stunning hand-crafted quilts when you are there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theinghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

From arrival to departure EVERYTHING was perfect. The welcome was warm and they made us all feel at home straight away. We were greeted with refreshments which included home-made brownies - YUM!

This delightful B+B is tucked away so you'll need the directions provided but that's part of the charm as it's so quiet. Though it's off the beaten track, it's close-by to local attractions, beaches, RSPB reserve, shops and of course... Bridlewood Riding Centre.

The rooms here are immaculate and tastefully decorated and furnished. Well equipped too with en-suite, TV, radio, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bedrooms themselves were lovely and very homely. Loved the home-crafted quilts.

One particularly memorable feature was the "Sitooterie". At the end of their gorgeous, bird-friendly garden was this lovely and comfortable summer house. This was equipped with chairs, cushions and even a set of french boules.

Food here was AMAZING! We opted for two evening meals in our four night stay. One of us is veggie and she was catered for very well indeed. Quality of food is superb with pretty much everything being home-made. Even the granola and compote choices for breakfasts were made here.

Whilst on the subject of home-made goodies; everyday we had a surprise supply of afternoon tea nibbles! These included Flap-jack and Welsh Scones - really, really tasty.

Together with the friendly welcome, service, attention to detail and the incredible food, this B+B made our holiday very special indeed. We're all going to miss you, but we'll be back soon :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Absolutely worth visiting b&b in a beautiful place. Very nice rooms witch are clean and offer you all the comfort you need. The owners are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay as nice as possible. Great breakfast,nice garden to sit in and good parking space.
Jeff and Kate,thanks for the pleasant stay,we will definitely be back.
The "Dutchies"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inge80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We only stayed for two nights we wish we could have stayed longer. Kate gave us a warm and friendly welcome with tea and cakes. The rooms we had were very clean and comfortable and well set up. Our sitting room with TV, Tea, Coffee & cookies was a great place to relax before a good nights sleep in the comfortable bedroom.Kate and Jeff were very helpful with places to see and to eat, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast menu was excellent everything you could possibly want. The drive into the cottage was a bit of an adventure but only added to the rural setting of the cottage. They are well placed for a visit to North Wales with everything just a short drive away (Also a short drive to Manchester airport.)
We strongly recommend this B & B. If you are in North Wales stay hear.
Thanks again Kate & Jeff for a wonderful stay we will see you again
Trevor & Jeannette. Canada

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This was a fantastic bed and breakfast- Kate and Jeff are brilliant, very welcoming and accomodating :) The room we stayed in was a family room that was amazing, it was fresh and relaxing (even with my 14 month old daughter). The views from our room were great and you could see snowdonia from the porch and the beach is only a 10 min drive away. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and we are definatley going to be visiting again but only this time we will stay longer!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed with Jeff and Kate for only 2 nights - definitely not long enough. The welcome and the homely atmosphere that they created was absolutely second to none. Really comfortable and clean, home made food, in fact better than being at home!!! We cannot recommend this highly enough. A rural setting with stunning views. All modern conveniences. Also we could not believe the value for money. Try it - you will love it.

Room Tip: One apartment available, 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHouseofLords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Absolutely wonderful perfect in every way. Spotlessly clean.
Very well thought out, evening meal was excellent and so was the breakfast . Kate and Jeff were lovely hosts. We would love to come back again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennett16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axton
2.3 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
641 reviews
4.4 mi away
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tan-yr-Onnen
Tan-yr-Onnen
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Prestatyn
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pen y graig, Axton CH8 9DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Axton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Axton
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very north of the Clwydian Area of Outstanding National Beauty, our comfortable rural home is situated near to the attractive conservation village of Llanasa, 3 miles from the North Wales coast. Enjoy luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation in a cottage which dates back to the eighteenth century. The original cottage has been greatly extended to provide a spacious home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgans Bed And Breakfast Axton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing