We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgans Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Axton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morgans Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Axton B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We only could stay for one night but we will definitely be going back. The hosts were very welcoming and took great care of us. The breakfast was especially lovely, with a great selection. The homemade granola with fruit compote was terrific and the homemade glamorgan veggie sausages went down a treat.
The rooms (and the rest of the house) is tastefully decorated with lots of creative touches. Around the house you can see many examples of the quilts that the owner makes.
Unfortunately we couldn't stay long so we didn't get to see much of the local area but from what we could see from the lovely view from our room it looks lovely around those parts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed with Kate & Jeff in October having discovered their B&B on a recommend from another B&B. The room was lovely and very tastefully decorated (the picture on the website does not do it justice) very spacious with a very comfortable bed and views of Snowdonia in the distance. It may feel a bit of trek to reach Morgans from the main road but it is well worth it.
A lovely breakfast and Jeff and Kate will even provide an evening meal if requested - we did twice and were not disappointed. We looked forward to getting back each night to see what Kate had cooked and put in the cookie jar in the room - fabulous cookies and ground coffee and fresh milk in a flask - just another example of someone going the extra mile and thinking of things to make your stay special.
Our only regret is that having discovered this treasure we probably won't be back in the area for some time but if and when we are then we will definitely head for Morgans. This is a superb place to stay with hosts who make you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just stayed at this bed and breakfast for 2 nights while working nearby. The hosts gave us a wonderful welcome to their home with homemade flapjacks and beautifully clean bedrooms and private bathroom.

The house is in the beautiful, quiet countryside, with great views, and breakfast was delicious, really set us up for the day. Didn't want to leave the house and go to work!

Would thoroughly recommend Morgan's b & b, and will definitely be back if I'm ever back in the area.

Thank you for a wonderful couple of nights!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Majjy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had occasion to work in North Wales in the past month, We happened upon Morgan's Pen y graig Bed and Breakfast on the internet and what a find! We shared a beautiful 2 bedroom suite in this wonderful establishment for 6 nights, The welcome we received from Jeff and Kate was way above the call of duty. They had time to chat, tell us about the area as well as being perfect hosts. The standard of this B and B would leave many 5 star hotels in the shade. A beautiful freshly prepared breakfast set us up very well for the long day ahead. (Kate's potato bread and vegetarian sausages would make your mouth water),not to mention the homemade compote. A treat to look forward when we returned in the evening was some home made treat eg brownies, almond slices etc waiting in our suite for us. We are hopeful our company will ask us to work in this area again and we will definitely return
Many thanks to Jeff and Kate.
Bernie and Teresa

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had a lovely relaxing break at this wonderful B&B, directions emailed through were spot on and required given the GPS told us we had arrived at our destination in a field close by!! Jeff and Kate are welcoming hosts and have time to chat and show you the wonderful bedroom suite which had everything we could hope for. Fridge with fresh milk with assortment of coffee, tea and hot chocolate plus lovely fresh ground coffee and mini percolator. Homemade chocolate brownies which were great and biscuits the next day.

Breakfast choice was really good, cereals, porridge or homemade compote choices with yoghurt and granola. Several hot choices, full english, vegetarian, scrambled egg and smoked salmon, haddock and poached egg, muffin bacon and poached egg plus a couple more all served with fresh orange/apple juice, coffee/tea and homemade bread as toast.

Will definitely be going back and taking our bicycles with us next time as the area is stunning and the B&B a home from home

Thanks Jeff and Kate, hope to see you soon

Room Tip: Suite is great but the double also good, spoilt for choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScootsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

It was so nice last year, we chose to go back again - it was wonderful again! Warm and welcoming. Calm and peaceful. The rooms are lovely. Great breakfasts. Lots of good ideas of where to travel locally. And more to explore next time! Thank you Kate and Jeff - see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Staying at Morgans BB was very enjoyable and peaceful.
Jeff and Kate were extremely welcoming and helpful hosts…advising on where to eat and where to visit for day trips.
Breakfast was excellent..and very filling!!!
The location is fabulous. :) My room was spotlessly clean…and spacious.
If you choose to stay at Morgans BB, you won't be disappointed!!!
Thank you Jeff and Kate.
Georgina

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axton
2.3 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
8.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.4 mi away
Celyn Villa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Bed and Breakfast

Property: Morgans Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pen y graig, Axton CH8 9DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Axton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Axton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very north of the Clwydian Area of Outstanding National Beauty, our comfortable rural home is situated near to the attractive conservation village of Llanasa, 3 miles from the North Wales coast. Enjoy luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation in a cottage which dates back to the eighteenth century. The original cottage has been greatly extended to provide a spacious home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morgans Bed And Breakfast Axton, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing