We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Huge fabulous kitchen overlooking the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huge fabulous kitchen overlooking the sea
Roof pruned Persian Ironwoods offering dappled shade in our most sheltered walled garden. Bliss! With sheltered walled gardens Barn Drift is often the warmest place to be in the country.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Huge fabulous kitchen overlooking the sea
Roof pruned Persian Ironwoods offering dappled shade in our most sheltered walled garden. Bliss!
With sheltered walled gardens Barn Drift is often the warmest place to be in the country.
Stunning sea views and uninterrupted landscape.
Unbeatable location!
Stunning all year round with total privacy, located on the edge of a seaside village.
Huge windows throughout the house letting in natural light.
With so much space inside you will find comfortable places to sit everywhere, all with good views.
Sit back and relax, there is enough comfortable seating for everyone.
With more than enough comfortable seating in two sitting rooms there is Sky TV available
All rooms are light and spacious.
Fresh soap, bath and hand towels are left out for each guests use.
Coastal or rural views from all 8 bedrooms.
Constant hot water. 5 en suites, 2 wet rooms, a large shower and 8 loos!
All bedrooms can be made up as either a double or twin bedroom at each guests request
Five of the bedrooms have en suite bathrooms, those without have a bathroom right next door
All bedrooms a pleasure to stay in.  Each can be a double or twin room upon request
Every bed in the house is extremely comfortable and made up with fine Egyptian cotton bed linen.
Plenty of books in every room
Expansive outside space with gorgeous views as well as lots of sheltered areas in which to relax.
Table tennis and many other games available.
Huge gardens offering such verity, with stunning rural and sea views.
take it easy!
The location is exceptional, there are beautiful and varied walks right from the front door
Now fully licensed for weddings and civil ceremonies!
The perfect house for Christmas and new year.
Always cosy!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Cley Next the Sea, Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Saigon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wonderful luxury accommodation with beautiful views over the sea. Great outdoor entertaining space and really special interiors to a very high standard. Perfect for our family gathering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review - see you next time! Best wishes, Alice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willis542
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

WOW....A truly fantastic location to take a group of my friends away to celebrate my birthday. The Barn conversion would be one of the best that I have seen and is in a truly magical setting. The Barn is fully equipped for everything that you would require and close proximity to the beach and some really cool country pubs. Will most definitely stay again and can highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! hope you'll be back soon. Best wishes, Alice and Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical airy converted barn with usable outdoor space”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

11 of us stayed at Barn Drift and the space swallowed us up. The bathrooms amazingly had instant hot water. The beds were comfortable with noticeably high quality linen. The kitchen was very well equipped with loads of China, mugs galore and cutlery. There were 20 of us one evening and the drawing room was comfortable for all for drinks, before we went to the kitchen/ dining room to eat.
A hog roast outside in the sun worked perfectly in the part walled garden. Children were able to play soft ball cricket on another lawn and table tennis on the outdoor fixed table. It is large but homely and just works. Fabulous views, simply magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review - lovely to know that you appreciated it all so much and it surpassed your expectations. We very much hope that you will return! Best wishes, Alice and Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter and...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, elegant and well-equipped venue for a family gathering of 14”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Close to the villages of Cley, Salthouse and Blakeney, easy walk to the beach through thenCley Marshes nature reserve. Seal trips from Morston. The house is beautifully decorated and comfortable, lots of space for us all. The table-tennis table was in almost constant use! Fully equipped, we kept coming across stuff we didn't know about, we were still doing that shortly before we left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we hope you'll be back! Best wishes, Alice and Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie_Ta...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning house and location”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked Barn Drift for a family gathering to celebrate my 65th birthday.Our party consisted of grandparents, children and grandchildren aged 11yrs, 7yrs and 2yrs. It was planned to be a week full of fun and with plenty of planned activities to keep the children happy. The outdoor space at Barn Drift was magnificent for doing just that with outdoor table tennis, sprawling lawns to enjoy pétanque, ball and racquet games and even for some golf practice.The weather was extremely kind and the huge patio and upper terrace and fire pits and BBQ were well used. The indoor chess.board was a great hit and the 2 eldest grandchildren were soon licking the grown ups into shape. TV's in both the playroom and the sitting room meant that no sporting events were missed.The house was a delight and so comfortable without it feeling so precious that the grandchildren needed restraining constantly. The interior decor was utterly charming with books and memorabilia everywhere.A warm lived in feel with many personal touches that gave the house lots of personality (often not found in some holiday rentals). The owner (Alice) was a joy to deal with.Nothing was too much trouble and one got the feeling that she took a personal delight in the bookings and celebrations of her guests.Every need was catered for including arrangement of beds, availability of cots, extra linen etc.The bedrooms were so individual, again with charming personal touches and oh so comfy beds.Barn Drift is an exceptional property with amazing and varied views of beautiful rural Norfolk all around with rolling fields and churches in the distance and in other directions views across the marshes to the sea.The location was beautifully private down a farm track and yet within minutes of Cley and Blakeney.I feel a sense of nostalgia having spent time in this beautiful home where we were made to feel valued and welcome guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
What a wonderful review, thank you from the bottom of our hearts and we very much hope you will return - even though we didn't meet your family they sound utterly delightful and exactly who we had in mind when we set up the holiday home! Best wishes, Alice and Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familyeve...
1 review
“Family Celebration”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfect venue for any occasion with everything you could need and wish for. Nothing has been over looked and of a very high standard. This unique property is so warm and comfortable making you feel right at home from the moment you step in. The layout is exceptional and you can retreat to any of the luxurious bedrooms if you want time on your own. This was our second visit for our family of 17 and I'm sure we will be back again. The website does not do it justice you really must see it to believe it. The attention to detail and quality of furnishings make it Worthy of 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
What a lovely review! thank you. We were so pleased to have you back and delighted you all had such a wonderful time. We look forward to your next stay. Best wishes, Alice & Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Barn Drift - heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We celebrated New Year at Barn Drift - 16 of us, friends and family and the dog! Barn Drift is in a fabulous location. Step outside and you have a choice of walking across the fields, and then through the nature reserve to the beach or to the lovely village of Cley with the shop Made in Cley selling gorgeous pottery and fabulous jewellery.
Excellent hospitable local pubs with very good food.
The house itself is stunning and beautifully appointed. Each bedroom is individually designed and the beds are supremely comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped (we cooked with ease dinner for 16 on each of 2 nights) and the huge sitting room with its wood burning stove is very cosy to lounge in on a winter evening. Views of sunset were spectacular. We would definitely recommend Barn Drift for a 5* break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and your interest in the Barn Drift Shop! We hope you will return soon. Best wishes, Alice and Jonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing