We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book with care!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lantern Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reefton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, our 4 star two bedroom unit (number 7) was comfortable and well-equipped, but the bedrooms were too small for our liking. We stayed there as part of a motorcycle trip to the South Island and were delighted to be offered space in the garage to store our motorbikes overnight. The roads in and out of Reefton are delightful and although it is a small town with few facilities it is a much nicer alternative to staying at Greymouth.

I booked our stay at the Lantern Court through the Jasons web site; this was a bad move and I would strongly recommend that you contact the motel direct if you want to make a booking as the Jasons web site struck me as poor and the confirmation only served to confuse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in the new section/annex which is 4* accom with balcony area with 2 bedrooms, large lounge/dining area/kitchen and spacious bathroom. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Staff were very helpful in suggesting places to eat in the town and booked our onward accommodation for us before leaving. Not an over-abundance of on-site parking, this may be due to the hotel's central location, but plenty of street parking which is safe. Although it rained hard whilst we were in Reefton we found it a quaint town undergoing regeneration at present. Lots of places to see around Reefton reflecting it's gold/coal mining history.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Lantern Court Motel to anyone visiting this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We recently stayed in Reefton at the Lantern Court. The owner met us on arrival and was very welcoming and suggested things we could do in reefton.
The room was lovely as these are fairly new, they were decorated inside with attention to detail really well. The bed was big and comfortable, the lighting was nice, we were on the ground floor and we had a nice patio with french doors opening out. The bathroom was lovely it was nice to see a lovely polished wooden toilet seat in a new motel, every time we entered the bathroom the fan went on not sure how but it did, must have been triggered by movement quite good. The amenities were very good and good cooking facilities with hobs and microwave which was also a convection one.
We had a lovely two days there. Thank You. Garry and Lorna New Plymouth
If you have never been to Reefton dont pass it by stay a while theres more than the main street.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in the new block would be the same, the others had a balcony but our view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were recently in Reefton and stayed in a 2 bedroom (4 star) unit at Lantern Court Motel. What a treasure of a motel. I would have to say that the 4 star units at this motel are some of the best motel units in New Zealand. Great attention to detail with regards to architectural exterior design (a modern building with an historic influence), great interior decor (relaxing and cozy colour scheme) and the managers (Helen and her husband) are so helpful, kind, caring and proud of Lantern Court. The impeccably clean 4 star units are certainly the best accommodation in Reefton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I recently decided to return to Christchurch via Lewis Pass instead of Arthurs' and spent a night in Reefton. I stayed in a 4 star room which was very comfortable although an airlock in the radiator did make it noisy. There are 2 star rooms available if you are travelling on a budget. The owner was very helpful with suggestions of where to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were recently found ourselves unexpectedly stuck in Reefton when the roads were closed to snow. Julie, the manager at the Lantern could not have been more helpful and kind. We managed to secure the last room in town - luckily as it was snowing and freezing and a night in the car would have been very cold!
We stayed in one of the 4 star rooms which was very comfortable, clean and warm. In contrast, the 2 star rooms looked very old and I would not recommend.
Overall probably the best place in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stopped for one night in early May. The owner, Helen, was really helpful with information about the town, places to eat, walks and also for our onward journey to Doubtful Sound. We stayed in the new section of the motel and it was really pleasant, nice room, comfy bed, everything was scrupulously clean and the location was quiet. Next time we will spend more time in Reefton and certainly stay again at this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneb24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 5 in Reefton
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfresco Historic Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quartz Lodge
Quartz Lodge
#5 of 5 in Reefton
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dawsons Hotel
#4 of 5 in Reefton
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Court Motel

Address: 63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reefton
Price Range: £59 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing