We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lantern Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lantern Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reefton
Certificate of Excellence
Grenfell, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A really lovely place to visit very friendly people the lady at the Lantern Court was very helpful nice clean rooms good value thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Reefton lots of history in the town and the setting is gorgeous. Had dinner and brea,fast in the town and both were great I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Reefton


Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    38
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
55
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for one night in Reefton. It is a quiet but interesting place and I wish we'd had more time there. The hotel was comfortable and reasonably priced. Very traditional. The area round Reefton has many places to see but we just didn't have time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Reefton may not be on the 'must-visit' list of most visitors.So it took us seven trips to come here but it's definitely worth it. Endless tramping option in the area and a nice little town that has all you need. Well, more dinner options in town would be nice.
Lantern Court Motel is an excellent base for your stay, absolutely central, walking distance to good breakfasts at the bakery and everything else.
Nice modern rooms with all the amenities, nice hosts and good service. The continuous balcony might be irritating but that way the modern building perfectly matches the old hotel - really well done from the architects.

Room Tip: We had a 4 star room n the modern building, There are also simpler rooms in the original historic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous night we enjoyed here at this hotel. We were provided with the two bedroom apartment upstairs with a full balcony. The apartment was lovely and well appointed. Sitting outside on the balcony early evening was especially nice hearing the stream, it was most relaxing. The staff member was so lovely and nothing was a problem. Would highly recommend the Lantern Court Motel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place is a real gem! The staff was super friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. The motel has a quaint, mid-century feel. We were driving across the South island and found Reefton to be the perfect place for a break. The manager showed us around the property as well as suggesting where to get a bite to eat. She also told us a brief history about the town. Very nice! The heart of town is basically one main street with a few restaurants and shops. We ate at the inn down the street (Wilson Hotel) and had a wonderful meal that was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaweed21043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Reasonable prices. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Reefton is a quaint little town and the scenery and bushwalks between Reefton and Lewis Pass are great. If you're planning to arrive late, be aware that the cafes and pubs can close fairly early.

Room Tip: We stayed in renovated 4* studio, but cheaper and older 2* 2br units looked OK to me on inspection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML_GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly, our 4 star two bedroom unit (number 7) was comfortable and well-equipped, but the bedrooms were too small for our liking. We stayed there as part of a motorcycle trip to the South Island and were delighted to be offered space in the garage to store our motorbikes overnight. The roads in and out of Reefton are delightful and although it is a small town with few facilities it is a much nicer alternative to staying at Greymouth.

I booked our stay at the Lantern Court through the Jasons web site; this was a bad move and I would strongly recommend that you contact the motel direct if you want to make a booking as the Jasons web site struck me as poor and the confirmation only served to confuse.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Alfresco Historic Villas
0.0 mi away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Reefton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Court Motel

Property: Lantern Court Motel
Address: 63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reefton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lantern Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing