We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Wilsons Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reefton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilsons Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Reefton B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We didn't really expect that much of a local pub, but were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food and the very friendly service. If you want something to eat and a good pint of beer in Reefton we would highly recommend Wilson's hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiandonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Reefton for one night on our two week stay in NZ. We decided to have our dinner here at the Wilson hotel and as we are city folk (Sydney, Australia) we wanted a country experience. When we entered the hotel we were greeted by a lovely jovial local who could talk the leg of a chair and proceeded to give us the history of the beautiful old town. The dinner for the four of us, my wife and I and two kids were absolutely huge in size. Very very tasty and great value. Really had a wonderful meal at the Wilson hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were hoping for a good country meal in a country pub. we were first to arrive at
restaurant and menu looked good with great specials. Took our orders, and other tables started filling up. We waited well over 45 minutes for our mains and when they came the veges were all cold. We were adisappointed with the meals, although the pork belly was the best of the bunch. We were paying city prices. but would have liked simple hot meals. Sadly didnt deliver.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

To those who insist on an en-suite, or might write 'needs a major renovation' please move on - best you don’t stay here.
Accommodation is upstairs. You may have distant childhood memories of being in a pub like this. Maybe you had an elderly relative who 'lived in the past' in a Victorian era dwelling. Memories of Wilson’s Hotel bring a tear to my eye, but I do not think you will get the full depth of experience unless you stay overnight. The updated bar, restaurant or the beer garden don’t really convey the full sense of what in fact, can be felt at this old pub.

It is little things like the narrow steep wooden stairs, the heritage features in the woodwork heavily painted, high bedroom ceilings, sash windows, the guest door to the street, the pavement trapdoor for beer keg deliveries, the back lane, the neighbouring gold era bank buildings. More ethereal are the faults like the sloping wooden floors, particularly in our bedroom – so the bed sloped down to our feet– interesting. One failing was that, of the five or so light fixtures in our room, not all worked. To have only bedside reading light we needed to use a torch. I left post it notes on the failed lamps – maybe they are fixed now.
There is a miniature fridge, a toaster and a jug in a small corner at the top of the stairs - enough for a toast and tea/coffee early snack breakfast (no charge). Best though is the 1874 tearooms across the road. They open 5 or 6am and are magic for a great coffee and country baking.

The evening meal downstairs was a pleasant surprise. For a few dollars we had seafood stick starters – wooden skewers of alternating scallops and prawns – seared brown but juicy in the middle. The mains were good too – one was also seafood and all were easy prices to pay. We never expected the evening meal in a small old pub to be so interesting. Top food in a low cost country pub – what a nice surprise. We did the short river, swing bridge walk in the twilight evening between courses (it is very casual here). Then we went back for a country style baked apple dessert. Wilsons worked well for us for a couples night and morning. Some of our accommodation this trip was far more grand but Wilsons worked the best. All a very individual thing though. No accounting for taste. Nothing pretentious here at Wilsons. In January you get such a long twilight in South Island NZ and an early dawn. In the very early morning I did the hillside walk beginning at the old water supply just up the road from Wilson's. In the late afternoon the day before, we had already checked out the river, the main street, some of the heritage buildings beyond and the lane ways.

At Wilsons, all was immaculately clean, as if the cleaner was unusually meticulous. The bathroom is very practically set out for showers and toilets down the hall and felt a bit 1950’s but sat within the general 1873 heritage context with a narrow veranda and stairs down to the rear courtyard entered by the back lane. There are a couple of original rooms downstairs on the right from the guest street entrance. The second is used for storage but appears not changed since Victorian times – of course 100 years sees the wallpaper in tatters etc in this storeroom – amazing.

We stayed in the large front corner room on the uphill side. Nice outlook of The Broadway but I suspect a room on the lower side down the hall with views over the beer garden of the hills might be worth a look as there was street noise in the front room. There are regular (hourly?) coal trucks that rumble down the Broadway during the day on their way to the rail terminus coal loading facility at the lower end of Reefton. Another noise issue was the Reefton penchant for leaving the mine vehicle engine running when collecting a breakfast on the go from the Bakery & Tearooms across the road which opens very early (5am by some reports). See http://reeftongold.co.nz/tearooms-a-bakery A tour of the modern large scale Reefton gold mine can be booked through the Broadway tearooms.

A major renovation – no thanks - such would be a tragic loss.
If you have read to here, you are indeed a true believer.
Wilson's Hotel is at 32 Broadway, Reefton 7830, Buller, West Coast, New Zealand

I found this listing on the web:
Wilson’s Hotel 32 Broadway Rooms/Units: 1 x Single 45.00
Ph 7328 800 Reefton 3 x Twin 75.00
Helen & Jimmy 2 x Doubles 70.00
Our total bill for Wilson's, double accommodation including 3 course meal and drinks for two was A$125 (NZ$155).

Room Tip: If you choose a front room, park your car below your window (This end of Broadway is generally empty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.1 mi away
Lantern Court Motel
Lantern Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Reefton
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Reefton
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alfresco Historic Villas
0.3 mi away
Quartz Lodge
Quartz Lodge
#4 of 4 in Reefton
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilsons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilsons Hotel

Property: Wilsons Hotel
Address: 32 Broadway, Reefton 7830, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Reefton
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from the Tearooms. Established in 1873 and originally known as the Miners' Hotel, Wilsons Hotel is one of Reefton's earliest hotels and the oldest remaining hotel in town. The double storey building standing proudly at the top of the town still retains much of its old-world charm.Accommodation is offered in three share-twin rooms, three double rooms and one single room. Shared facilities. A complimentary continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing