We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What bad service is all about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Punta Chame B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What bad service is all about”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From begining to end, this hotel was just about the worse beach hotel we visited.
We were here as a small group and had several rooms for nearly a week.
We paid over $4K to the hotel.

Good: location (near the beach).
Bad: pretty much everything else
- service was horrible. We called more than a week in advance to decrease the number of people who were staying in the rooms ($60 per day after the 2nd person). We were told we couldnt get refund. We honestly thought about canceling the entire reservation since we were still within the 36 hours listed on their site to be able to receive a full refund. The hotel staff member was rude on the phone. At what point does someone working in 'costumer service' think that one can get an attitude and start an argument with the costumer?
The hotel owner was rude. We stopped our vehicle in the wrong place for one short minute waiting for someone to come down, and he immediately started yelling like a mad man.
Lastly on this point, when we asked for a receipt for our payment, they said they couldnt give us that. After several calls days later we are still waiting for the receipt.

- one of the rooms, the AC started leaking water and only found out when the people sleeping in it woke up to a flooded floor
- small beds and rooms.
- sub par and outdated decor
- No room service during the entire week stay!

If you're gonna stay here, you might as well save your money and camp somewhere or rent a small room or house nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived on a weekend, traveling without children for the first time in years. Admittedly we were a bit taken aback by the loud music coming from entrance of the lobby and the sound of screaming children in the pool. So much for a romantic get away! However, things got better. We requested a room with a view and we were accommodated with the 3rd floor and nice view of the water (yes, you will walk steps). The music eventually was nudged down and the kids went back to school. The rooms while a bit sparse were clean (although they skipped a day of cleaning for some reason), and the bed though creaky was comfortable. Food and beverages are not allowed in the rooms, so for some that might be important. The staff speaks very little english, but I have to give them high marks for effort. Maria was very sweet, and took care of most of the meals we ate there. The beach at low tide is made for long walks, so take them. The sunsets were fantastic often juxtaposed against kite surfers on the water. Yes, it is very windy, but worth it. Lastly George the owner was often available for any issues or questions that might have come up, and is American.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This place appeared like a mirage for my wife and me after trying desperately for most of the day to find a hotel on the pacific side of panama near the city. They are non-exisitent except for places most would not want to stay. George the owner from Indianapolis treated us like family from the time we walked in til we left and the accomadations were spot on. Everything youd expect in a nice city hotel in the states. Comfy A/C, nice beds, cable, wifi, awesome pool etc...

Loved every minute wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From the moment we got there we were treated like royalty. The staff was very attentive. The location is beautiful. We had no idea of the kite surfing. Great to watch . The rooms were excellent. The softest towels I've ever felt and nice shampoo and cream rinse. George was a great host. Making sure everyone who was staying there was introduced. A nice touch. Food was excellent as we're the cocktails. We had a great time. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose the higher floor to get a good view of ocean/bay. Very quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for kiting and really enjoyed it. its nice to be somewhere so remote and still have luxury. However, if you are not a kiter, I'm not sure I would choose the destination. There are much better beaches in Panama.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a lovely little gem with 15 rooms, first class guest service from the time you walk in the doors to the time you leave, and a great location! If you travel around Panama, you will quickly find out that this is an exception to reality! The food is wonderful and plenty of variety. The staff is very attentive....even poolside service :). HIGHLY recommend this place located 1 1/2 hours outside of Panama City.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panama2011_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for a week in Mar 2013. We wanted to go kitesurfing in Punta Chame and needed a place to stay. There are really only 3 places. Nitro City, a Hostel and Punta Chame Villas. The resort is very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great pool and excellent restaurant. During the evening they show videos/movies on a big screen near the pool/bar.

The beach is approx. 100 yards from the hotel, just a short walk. Very nice beach area on the bay side with no rocks, shells and hardly any litter. You can also walk to the ocean side which was just as clean.. There is a prtotected reef a little way out so no surf.

Special thanks to Jorge and George. We had a blast and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chame
0.2 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
21.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
21.4 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Punta Chame Club & Resort
Punta Chame Club & Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Chame
47 reviews
14.9 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
22.8 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 9 in San Carlos
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Chame Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Chame Villas

Property: Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Address: Lote 16-17 Calle R, Punta Chame 1011, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Punta Chame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Chame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Chame Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical luxury rooms, located in Punta Chame, a thin peninsula that is set along Panama Central Pacific Coast. Clean, well-appointed rooms and a nice offering of facilities including a swimming pool, restaurant bar, free internet, sidewalk to the beach with Machete Kite surfing school on the back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Punta Chame Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Chame Villas Hotel Punta Chame
Hotel Punta Chame Villas Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing