We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, really enjoyed it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chame
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cool place, really enjoyed it.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were travelling as a small group and booked this hotel because they allow dogs. We were a little unsure how much of a party place it would be, but we booked sunday night through tuesday and were really happy. Evidently weekends have more of a party atmosphere. Nice wide beach. The pool was lovely, the rooms great. We had 2 connecting rooms with balconies. The place was well-maintained, clean. WiFi. Nice offering of sports activities. Really enjoyed watching the kite-surfing. A good breakfast included, nice size. Other food decent, but don't expect gourmet dining. Service pleasant, rather slow at dinner but we were in no rush. Good for kids.
Would go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    41
    30
    22
    30
See reviews for
59
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for four nights and had three rooms. We decided to stay at this resort even though it was twice the cost of the others we looked at because we thought it would be "worth" it. It was NOT.

CONS:
-Staff was horrible -they had no idea what they were doing
-Staff is not attentive to the guests
-Staff does not speak any English
-No room service
-Fridge in 1 room did not work
-Phone in 2 rooms did not work
-Safes in all 3 rooms did not work
-Hot tube did not work in 1 room
-Showers leek all over the bathroom when you take a shower
-Food is very overpriced and terrible it is an overpriced sports bar. $18.00 for the worst hamburger. -Great French Restaurant down the street and across the way by the big white orchid (Hostel De Amarillo)
-It was like pulling teeth to get wash clothes, towels...
-Most of the sports stuff was "not available" The motorcycles were broken, or wake boarding not available...
-Pool table, ping pong and that stuff is really run down.
-Sunday was very crowded with people who were not staying at the resort and there were no chairs for the guests.
-The staff could not even charge us correctly at check out...

PROS:
-Great location
-Rooms are nice for the most part
-Pool was nice
-Great for Kite boarding, always windy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danniell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta Chame hotels

Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

When an X-Games champion decides to open an action resort on a beach in Panama with a bunch of his amped-up buddies you know you're in for something different. Rooms are definitely luxurious with comfy beds, ocean views, A/C, fun design and a few testosterone-driven touches (like urinals in the bathrooms) but it's what goes on outside that's really unique. With the goal of encouraging guests to learn new skills or polish old ones, Nitro supplies the gear, experts and inspiration to tackle wake boarding, jet skiing, stand up paddle boarding, wind surfing, dirt bike riding and more. Spend the day acting like an X-Games champ under the watchful eye of a full staff of star athletes, then relax by the pool or in your private hot tub or at the lively bar. Weekends are most hapening with lots of day trippers from Panama City (less than 2 hours away) and a live pool-side band on Sundays adding to the fun. Food and service could still use some polishing, but they're working on it. Though there is a definite party vibe here, families are welcomed and accommodated as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private hot tubs which come in handy if you earn some sore muscles like I did. "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I came to Nitro city to Kite and Wake, and I can only say that I am very tired now because I rode a LOT! The cable features are super fun, and the kite conditions are definitely there.
The staff was SUPER friendly and very helpful. I saw a lot of families with young kids, and they all seem to be having a super good time. The coaches are very competent and seem very patient with beginners. It's a great place to start learning action sports, that's for sure! I felt very safe even walking around at night on the resort, and even going for a run on the beach around the point in the early morning.
The amenities are very clean, the pool is beautiful and it's right on the beach. The bed was very very comfortable, the food was good and the portions quite big! The Nitro burger will definitely fill you up after a day full of activities!
Super fun time, and super fun vibe the whole time!

Room Tip: Rooms in the unit 3 and 4 are further from the main building so they are a bit quieter. Most downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My fiance and I were super excited to stay at Nitro City and had the best time, wakeboarding, jetskiing, using the ATVs, moto x. The pool was great and it was great to just lay around there. The resort was really quiet when we were there so we got to hang out with the staff who were lovely. The food was great, but there wasnt heaps of options, but what they did have was great. Everything was very reasonably priced. Most importantly the rooms were awesome!!! The only downsides was the booking and payment process which was really difficult when we were booking, but they have since rectified that and the only other thing was our transfer back to the airport was late and we almost missed our flight to Florida. Next time i would probably hire a car to get out there and so i could see a bit more of Panama while im there. Cannot wait to get some friends together for a big trip from Australia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this place. Rooms are nice but everything else is run down and very cheesy. Everywhere you go there is music blasting--even at breakfast--you cannot get away from it. There is a ping pong table, but no decent ping pong balls. The 8 ball was missing from the pool table, there is a dart board but they have no darts. The "games room" is a dark, dingy room with 3, maybe 4, video games. Breakfast wasn't bad (despite the constant annoying, blasting music). The pool is OK and my son enjoyed some of the activities (seadoo and ATV). At checkout the bill was completely wrong and despite going back twice to recheck and tell them what was wrong, I eventually just gave up. Maybe OK for a young crowd but I, unfortunately,no longer fit into that category.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W, Director of Sales at Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Andrew,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments as your review will help us improve in every possible way.

My apologies your experience was not the best, we are working on some major improvements as we care about every single guest and look forward to having them return.

Nitro City is a fun place where you should be able to play or relax if you prefer. We are working on having the best environment for both options.

Once again our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcome you sometime in the near future.

You can contact us directly at info@nitrocitypanama.com

Kind Regards.

Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

my boyfriend and I took the most fancy room there, at the beginning we just enjoined it and it was great and beautiful room, balcony and view.
around 8pm i wanted to take a shower before dinner but there was no hot water.
common no hot water in the "suit"?? so we called the lobby to let them know and asked to fix it. they said dinner is serve until 9pm and that they will send someone to fix the water.
until 8.30 no one came - we called again and they said they fix it - there was still no hot water.
we went to dinner (yes without taking shower!) and we talked with the person in charge to let her know whats going on. she said she will take care if and she didnt!
dinner was not tasty at all, the pasta came cold and 90% of sauce was ketchup.
we finished to eat and hope to get a freaking shower - the lady from the reception was not there anymore, so we explained a new guy that there is NO HOT WATER !!!!!!!
i was very pissed at this point.
we went back to the room and guess what - the key card didn't work because they sent someone to our room to fix the water problem and apparently change the locker or something .
i went back to the reception - hungry with no shower at 10.30pm so mad and told him it is unelectable - he sent 2 guys to my room with new key card.
the "fixed" the problem.
the water were not cold but also not hot - this is ashamed to such hotel not to have hot water in this vacation !!!!!!!!!!!!!
just horrible- we paid a lot and didn't even got $ 1 back for this stupidity!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirlycohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chame
21.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
21.2 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vereda Tropical Hotel
Vereda Tropical Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Taboga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
#3 of 4 in Punta Chame
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
14.7 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
Dreams Delight Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort

Property: Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Address: Paseo Andres Maduro, Punta Chame 1011, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Punta Chame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nitro City Panama is the world's first beach front Action Sports Resort. 36 Guest rooms, all over looking the pacific ocean, with a focus on Action and Motor Sports.On-site skate park, pit-bike track, wakeboard cable park, fitness gym and kite beach.Nearby surf, skydiving, scuba, fishing and jungle wake board tours also available. Nitro City is "The Place to Play" and fun for all ages.Nitro City Panama is a beach front boutique hotel in Punta Chame, Panama. The Pacific Ocean wind offers great kite-boarding during the first four months of the year (Kite Season) and the best spot for riding is out the hotel front door. There is also a two tower system 2.0 Wake board cable park, beach front mx track and sheltered outdoor skate park on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort Punta Chame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing