We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to spend a Sunday..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chame
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This a cool spot if you want to spent your Sunday in the sunny outdoors of Panama. They got a skate park and wake pool, if you feel the rush for those sports. My personal favorite, stand-up paddle through the sea, to get that core exercised. I went and just chill in the pool, ordered food and drink at modest prices.... The food is pretty basic but still managed to be good. The service was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Ellaurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Nitro City is a ton of fun! From jet skiing, atv's, wakeboarding and kiteboarding to just kicking it in the pool. The views accross the ocean and mountains and epic and remind me of what I see at home here in Hawaii....seriously gorgeous! Ana the manager was very professional, friendly and catered to my parties needs and wishes. All the staff was very easy to talk with and most of them were very funny! We all want to go back again. Located an hour outside of Panama city this is a real gem! And the food was really good to our surprise! I will go back and bring my kite boarding gear sometime soon! I will look forward to talking with Ana and all the staff and I hope to stay for a few days to enjoy the rooms. my only request is that I hope they get the pump working on the wakeboarding pond as the water is stagnant, brakish and disgusting (potential staff infection). Other than that a perfect place to have fun!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed at Nitro City for a few days this year and I don't have any complaints. Everyone is just so friendly and helpful, from reception, to the restaurant, the chef, the cleaning ladies..
The atmosphere is very relaxed yet luxurious. everyone just wants you to have fun. I tried wakeboarding and was great, everyone was helpful, the staff from activities taught me all the basics and was able to stand up, turn around, and almost hit the ramps. Also tried the jetskis and 4wheels, very fun. The food is good and the chef very joyful. anything you need to get done, go to reception, the ladies help you book anything you need. The rooms are amazing, great beds, all ocean view, some with just a terrace, others with jacuzzi. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: "partner rooms" have a balcony, "champion" rooms have a jacuzzi on the terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 397johng397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We live in Panama city and we where looking for something new todo with our teenagers. We decided to go to the Action "city" Nitro city which is about 1,30 min from the city. Before we decided to drive all the way out we called the reception and where told they had waterjetskis for rent. 50 $ for 1 person, 30 min. Ok, we drove off, paid 150$ for 3 skies and went (without beeing accompanied) to find the person in charge of the Skies. well, to say a long story short we waitied for more then 3 hours until someone told us they WOULD NOT HAVE ANY Jetski this day. So, I talked to the girl in charge and see paid me back. I asked as we had driven more then 3 hours for this event if we could maybe try the 4 wheel drivers - Yes, but at a FULL PRICE!!!! I of course did not accepted this and they did not care at all though we had spend the whole day DOING NOTHING. to topp of we paid to try some other event but at the time we had bought the ticket and came to the place they told us it was full and we could not get on this that day... SO AGAIN, i had to go and get refunds of my paid action.
So, NO COMMUNICATION FROM STAFF TO STAFF, NO WILLINGNESS TO SHOW RESPECT OF OTHERS PEOPLE TIME AND MONEY (gas is not cheap).

OVerall the place looks quite cool, made for younger crowed and has tons of activies but like many times in Panama... people dont care about there clients... very sad.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the rooms so can comment.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank JonHaraldsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were travelling as a small group and booked this hotel because they allow dogs. We were a little unsure how much of a party place it would be, but we booked sunday night through tuesday and were really happy. Evidently weekends have more of a party atmosphere. Nice wide beach. The pool was lovely, the rooms great. We had 2 connecting rooms with balconies. The place was well-maintained, clean. WiFi. Nice offering of sports activities. Really enjoyed watching the kite-surfing. A good breakfast included, nice size. Other food decent, but don't expect gourmet dining. Service pleasant, rather slow at dinner but we were in no rush. Good for kids.
Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for four nights and had three rooms. We decided to stay at this resort even though it was twice the cost of the others we looked at because we thought it would be "worth" it. It was NOT.

CONS:
-Staff was horrible -they had no idea what they were doing
-Staff is not attentive to the guests
-Staff does not speak any English
-No room service
-Fridge in 1 room did not work
-Phone in 2 rooms did not work
-Safes in all 3 rooms did not work
-Hot tube did not work in 1 room
-Showers leek all over the bathroom when you take a shower
-Food is very overpriced and terrible it is an overpriced sports bar. $18.00 for the worst hamburger. -Great French Restaurant down the street and across the way by the big white orchid (Hostel De Amarillo)
-It was like pulling teeth to get wash clothes, towels...
-Most of the sports stuff was "not available" The motorcycles were broken, or wake boarding not available...
-Pool table, ping pong and that stuff is really run down.
-Sunday was very crowded with people who were not staying at the resort and there were no chairs for the guests.
-The staff could not even charge us correctly at check out...

PROS:
-Great location
-Rooms are nice for the most part
-Pool was nice
-Great for Kite boarding, always windy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danniell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

When an X-Games champion decides to open an action resort on a beach in Panama with a bunch of his amped-up buddies you know you're in for something different. Rooms are definitely luxurious with comfy beds, ocean views, A/C, fun design and a few testosterone-driven touches (like urinals in the bathrooms) but it's what goes on outside that's really unique. With the goal of encouraging guests to learn new skills or polish old ones, Nitro supplies the gear, experts and inspiration to tackle wake boarding, jet skiing, stand up paddle boarding, wind surfing, dirt bike riding and more. Spend the day acting like an X-Games champ under the watchful eye of a full staff of star athletes, then relax by the pool or in your private hot tub or at the lively bar. Weekends are most hapening with lots of day trippers from Panama City (less than 2 hours away) and a live pool-side band on Sundays adding to the fun. Food and service could still use some polishing, but they're working on it. Though there is a definite party vibe here, families are welcomed and accommodated as well.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private hot tubs which come in handy if you earn some sore muscles like I did. "...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chame
21.6 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
21.2 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
159 reviews
14.3 mi away
Vereda Tropical Hotel
Vereda Tropical Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Taboga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
24.3 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#6 of 115 in Panama City
1,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
#3 of 4 in Punta Chame
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort

Address: Paseo Andres Maduro, Punta Chame 1011, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Punta Chame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chame
Price Range: £105 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nitro City Panama is the world's first beach front Action Sports Resort. 36 Guest rooms, all over looking the pacific ocean, with a focus on Action and Motor Sports.On-site skate park, pit-bike track, wakeboard cable park, fitness gym and kite beach.Nearby surf, skydiving, scuba, fishing and jungle wake board tours also available. Nitro City is "The Place to Play" and fun for all ages.Nitro City Panama is a beach front boutique hotel in Punta Chame, Panama. The Pacific Ocean wind offers great kite-boarding during the first four months of the year (Kite Season) and the best spot for riding is out the hotel front door. There is also a two tower system 2.0 Wake board cable park, beach front mx track and sheltered outdoor skate park on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort Punta Chame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing