We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Chame
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa Amarilla
Ranked #1 of 4 Punta Chame B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a fantastic trip to punta chame to do some kitesurfing! We stayed at the Hostal Casa Amarilla and loved the place! The owners have created a beautiful small oasis, with gorgeous rooms, great food and immaculate grounds. Our meals were fantastic, and the atmosphere was very intimate...everything reasonably priced.The owners have put a lot of thought into every detail. If you're staying on Punta Chame for more than a couple of days you will definitely want a rental car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJMC309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Casa Amarilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Casa Amarilla for 2 nights in January of 2014. This small hotel is friendly, very well kept and clean. The food served is of a very high standard and enjoyable. The owners obviously put a lot of thought and heart in it. We stayed in one of the new rooms on top of the outbuilding, recently renovated to a nice standard. Unfortunately the shower was broken and the hot water wasn´t consistent, but the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnyskies1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Imagine driving through a rather desolated-looking area of Panama and out of the middle of nowhere comes out this charming hotel, in bright white and yellow with a well-kept garden, flowers, welcoming patio and romantic surroundings.

The place is spotless clean. The rooms are bright, decorated with taste (which is unusual for Panama - at least in this category hotel) and you immediately feel welcome by cheerful owners. Light blocking curtains on the windows would have made the night a bit longer and restful, but other than that, the rooms, furniture, decoration and amenities are perfect.

Breakfast is good. Fresh juice, cereals, eggs etc, and sharing a drink in the evening alongside an impeccably kept swimming pool, without blasting music, and in a friendly, easy-going and cosy atmosphere was a totally unexpected and wonderful experience.

If you're looking for a restful place, close to the beaches, reasonably priced and without overpowering music to spoil your peace and quiet, you'll love the place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were looking for a beach town to stay the night in before returning to Panama City and the flight home. Most of the beaches immediately to the west of Panama City are horribly developed with giant high-rise resorts, so we decided on Punta Chame, which seemed to be pretty laid back in comparison. I'm glad we did, and I'm glad we chose Casa Amarilla. The place is spotless - decorated and furnished to a very high standard, and the garden terrace was wonderful and cool even on a blisteringly hot day. We were offered a room with aircon or a cabin with a ceiling fan, and went with with the room because the cabin seemed like it would be hotter, and we weren't really on a budget. It was cool, clean and nicely appointed, with a big soft bed and a quiet, effective aircon unit. Being the low season we were the only guests there (in fact we just turned up at 6pm without a reservation), the French couple who own the hotel were charming and attentive, serving us cold drinks at the bar outside, and a delicious dinner of French cooking with a tropical twist.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are cabañas with ceiling fans in the garden for $35 or rooms with aircon for $80
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We (30 years old, german) stayed at Casa Amarilla for one night in the beginning of November. Rose Marie and her husband created a very nice and friendly hotel. What we especially liked (being German ;) was the eye for detail around the place. Everything looks like someone really put thoughts into it.
We did not see the rooms, but stayed in one of the cabins. Being that they are small but sufficient for 2 persons. If you come during the mosquito season ask for a mosquitonet, since the cabins are not airtight. If you are over 1,90m the beds might be just a little short. The shared bathroom for the cabins is spacious and very clean, like the whole place and the nice pool.
The food is very good. I have no detailed knowledge of French food, but it seems they offer some genuine specialties like chicken with chocolate sauce.
We only stayed for one night because it rained heavily the next day so we decided to travel on.
Overall a very nice place with helpful patrons and great food.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Globekiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Travel just over an hour to a intimate resort, 100 yards from mighty Pacific, tides 12-20 feet, and at low tide magnificent promenade.. Yes swimming pool too, and french cuisine, very comfortable. I am writing a book, so a/c room superb, walks superb, and everything else superb. Wonderful people and staff. I will return for Punta Chamé is very quiet from the coastal highway communities and Panama City. Fresh fish grillé every day!

Room Tip: November rainy season, good price break, very warm...lovely for skin.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwanderX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We only spend one night but wished we would of had more time. The grounds are very nice, the rooms are comfortable and clean, our children had a great time at the pool and the owners are very warm and welcoming. Food was delicious as well. Highly recommend it !
We hope to visit again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DolphinBayHideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Chame
0.8 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
20.5 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
159 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
Hotel Punta Chame Villas
#3 of 4 in Punta Chame
91 reviews
14.0 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
19.7 mi away
Dreams Delight Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Amarilla

Address: Avenida Principale, Punta Chame, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Punta Chame
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Chame
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa Amarilla Panama/Punta Chame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing