We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it at all cost”
Review of Trattoria Marciana

Trattoria Marciana
Ranked #1,780 of 2,102 Restaurants in City of Venice
Price range: US$13 - US$157
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Croce
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid it at all cost”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our only bad experience in our otherwise wonderful stay (5 nights) in Venice. But how bad this one was!
To be fair, the food was good, and if it is all you are intereted in, then you may find it OK, but everything else was terrible (no exageration)
In short:
Misleading prices. I can't help thinking it is a clever trick by the restaurant to confuse you between the menu and the specials. Big difference in price between what we were shown and what we had to pay.
Waiting staff are just about OK, but if you are looking for smiles or kindness, you are at the wrong place.
Waiting time: Ridiculous!, we had to wait about 40 minutes to be given our main course, and the place was not full. We were about to walk away as they finally arrived (after we asked twice)
After our meal, I meant to complain to the owner, a very rough, unpolished and unpleasant man who stayed all night behind his bar while the waiters tried to keep their heads out of the water. I could not even speak to the guy because at that stage he was shouting at a waitress and verbally abusing her in front of a queue of customers who had just come in and who obviously left straight away after this appalling row.
This awful meal cost us 80 euros and this was a nightmare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    22
    21
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding artichokes!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We were wandering around our first day in Venice and stopped in for dinner. Excellent thin crusty pizza, great house wine and plates of Salumi and Pecorino Romano. When we thought we were finished our waiter stopped by with warm, baby artichokes, with olive oil and basil. We got an order of those and they were the best ever! Glad we stopped.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Four of us had dinner at Trattoria Marciana. We tried a variety of dishes including spaghetti with clams and mussels, a salad with carrots, tomatoes, and tuna, and pasta with egg plant and tomatoes. All the dinners were very good and the prices were quite reasonable. The house red wine was very good and also reasonably priced 10 euros per liter). We had very good service - friendly, efficient.

The decorations included carved wooden books and a carved wooden man walking through the wall. Very entertaining.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant and would happily go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, But Service?”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We came to Venice by train in the late afternoon and were tired to hunt for dinner by venturing far from our hotel. Therefore, on a stroll around the hotel when we saw this trattoria we thought this is the place; it looked decent inside and the window display of wine was encouraging. Later that night, when we went for dinner we saw only one couple having dinner and we reasoned it didin't mean anything. The wait staff came and gave us the menu but didn't explain the various dishes; OK, no problem. We then asked for a wine menu and he said there isn't one. Another man (owner?) came and joined the discussion - no wine list. We can order a bottle or a house wine. Fine. we ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio (22 euro) and two plates of pasta. There was no further discussion. By this point we had lowered our expectations. Then, surprisingly, we found both the food and the wine to be very good, no question there. Perhaps it wasn't so much a case of poor service but rather poor communications in English and Italian.
Next day we found similar quality wine at other places to be at least 1/3 higher. In conclusion…….

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly terrible...”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Our experience was similar to other reviewers. First night, late, hungry and on our way to another place that was recommended. However, we were soon sucked into the black hole that is Trattoria Marciana. Prices looked ok no cover charge according to menu.

At first thought we'd found a gem. Relatively quiet for a Wednesday and only tourists eating there (the first warning bell), we soon realised why.

Waiter seemed nice enough at first, spoke good English. we perused the menu and decided on our dishes.. no problem. Drinks looked quite expensive , 3.5 € for a coke 5 € for a beer and 4 € for 1/4 L of wine we figured fair enough that's how they make their money so decided to share a coke... not on my watch said the waiter "you must both order a drink".. a bit weird since they said on their menu there was no cover but we were tired and couldn't be bothered leaving (big mistake).

From that point on the food could have been amazing but we wouldn't have noticed (it wasn't btw) as the whole experience felt like a class in sneaky upselling. Waiter became increasingly pushy as he saw his prey escaping without having broken the bank. We managed to escape having only paid 23 € (we consider ourselves lucky to this day).

Felt awkward and uncomfortable the whole meal. We left hungry but didn't want to give them more money. The irony is if they hadn't been pushy we would have spent a lot more without batting an eye lash. Have never been so happy to use the word "il conto" nor to clean out my 5 euro cent copper coins - they found a deserving home.

Helpful?
4 Thank Thomasgawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Marciana also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Trattoria Marciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing