We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last Tango in Venice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ca' Vecchio Pozzo

Lobby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lobby
Lobby Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Lobby
Lobby
Living Room
Entrance
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Single Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Single Room
The Single Room
The Single Room
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Street
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
The Single Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Single Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
The Twin Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Entrance
Entrance
Lobby
Lobby
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LakeGramm...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last Tango in Venice”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Ca' Vecchio Pozzo was the perfect way to end a fabulous 3 week vacation in Italy. The apartment was very comfortable and charming with its lovely antique pieces but the highlight for us was the spacious living room with windows looking out on the canals and bridges. We found the activity on the canals fascinating whether it was the romantic gondoliers in the afternoon and evening or the work boats early Saturday morning delivering linens, vegetables and other goods to hotels along the canal.
I would highly recommend the "off the beaten tracks" tour we took with Monica, Carlo's wife. She met us at the apartment Saturday morning and for 3 hours walked us through the less touristy areas of Venice giving us a historical,social and political snapshot of Venice. Since we had only 3 days in this city the tour was most helpful.
The apartment is very conveniently located between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco. The walk from the apartment to the Basilica took only 3 minutes. Venice is a warren of twisty narrow streets and canals but because Carlo met us the first day and led us to the apartment using the Rialto Bridge as s reference point we could always make our way home.
I would highly recommend this apartment with one reservation- because the apartment has one spacious bedroom and adjoining bath and two smaller single bedrooms sharing a bath - it is not ideal for 2 couples but perfect for a family with 2 children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biocellar
Princeton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb location and Venetian setting”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Wow, what a stunning location at the intersection of 3 canals. Busy all day with the bustle of Venetian life. The apartment is filled with antiques and paintings that do the space justice. Just outside the sounds of daily life. This is not an apartment for a quiet interlude, but the sounds are generally pleasing and really captures what Venice is all about. Location is just off a busy Via that leads directly to San Marco so it is easy to get to any part of the city by foot.
Apartment is missing a few basics like; wastepaper baskets in the bathrooms and bedrooms, some cooking implements (whisk, peeler, etc.). Wifi was great and the team of Carlos and Luca were efficient and helpful. We would definitely be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freeatlas...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Venice you stole our hearts”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow. What can we say. This apartment is in the perfect position. Our favourite thing to do was just open the windows and watch the gondola's go by. The apartment itself is spacious and clean. Carlo was very helpful with any questions leading up to our trip. Thank you for allowing us to live like a local for a few days. Our only regret is we should have stayed longer.
Get up early and explore Venice its quite amazing without the crowds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: listening to the music float in the open windows and watching people propose to each other on the bridge outside the window.
Liked least: Airconditioner for third bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harri845
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Living the dream in Venice”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

It is with a certain reluctance that I write this because there are some places you discover on your travels that are so unique and magical that you are tempted to keep them to yourself. But I feel I owe it to the charming family owners of Ca’ Vecchio Pozzo to reveal some of the delights of their sprawling historic apartment so that they may benefit from others who want to experience the same magic. But if you go, please treat it with the respect it deserves and make sure you appreciate every minute of your time here.

Quite simply, for the discerning traveller looking for the quintessential Venice at a relatively affordable price, Ca’ Vecchio Pozzo is like hitting the jackpot. This is the real deal, not a cheaply furnished holiday apartment but one that has the feel of a gracious and much-loved family home complete with a fascinating collection of art, books and antiques.

Certainly we never dreamt that such a grand and spacious apartment in a 16th-century former palace in the heart of Venice would be within reach of anyone other than the very wealthy, so we could hardly believe our eyes when we discovered it on an internet search.

Situated midway between Rialto and San Marco (it doesn’t get much more central than that), and accessed through an ancient timber door off a small courtyard, there is no question about the location of this first-floor apartment – it is perfect. Beautiful antique furniture and artworks in the large high-ceilinged rooms give it an elegant air, but the real ‘wow’ moment comes when you open up the shuttered windows and see gondolas gliding past only metres away and awestruck tourists crossing a little stone bridge in the distance. Because the apartment is on the corner of a building that overlooks two ‘backstreet’ canals, you can see much that is great about Venice floating by from the windows of two of the bedrooms, the kitchen and the living room. Sitting there watching the gondoliers jostling for space with the water taxis and working boats is an endlessly entertaining spectacle. In fact, it can be hard to tear yourself away, especially when the gondoliers are in full flight (often singing as they go) and the bells are ringing out from the campanili all around.

The apartment has three bedrooms, including a sumptuous master bedroom with king-sized bed (and two windows overlooking the canal), and two bathrooms (one with a bath). There is also good and reliable wifi. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to cook and eat a meal, the makings of which can be found either at a supermarket a few minutes’ walk away or, even better, at the wonderful Rialto fish and fresh produce markets.

The spacious sitting room feels light and airy and is furnished with some pleasing antique pieces, Persian-style rugs on the terrazzo floor and a comfortable white sofa and two armchairs. While there is a television and an interesting selection of books discreetly positioned in a corner cupboard, the real entertainment in this room lies on the other side of the windows. With all that life going by on the canals just below, it’s hard to believe anyone would want to turn the TV on here.

I see that others have remarked on this and it’s true: Ca’ Vecchio Pozzo has to be seen and experienced to be believed. The photos and description on the website only tell half the story…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; spaciousness; palatial grandeur
Liked least: Uncomfortably hard mattress in one of the single bedrooms; no shampoo provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This centrally located spacious apartment was perfect for us.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this vacation rental based upon the good reviews. I now will add my good review. I took the advice of other reviewers and reserved and pre-paid for a water taxi from Venezia Taxi Consorzio Motoscafi. Carlo will email you the water taxi drop off location for n your reservation (it adds 20 Euros but is worth it) which is very near, maybe 50 yards with no steps or bridges, from the apartment. After a long overnight flight it's nice to be delivered with your bags so close. When you get in the water taxi at the airport, the location of which is well marked and easy to find, you give Carlo's cell number to the driver and off you go to meet Carlo or Luca.
Only two of us stayed at the apartment so it was larger than we needed, but the central location seemed ideal. It's a very short walk to either Rialto or San Marco and very near a supermarket.
The upside of being right in the middle of things is that you can get to the museums , churches, palaces quickly and easily and early. The downside is that by noon the narrow streets between Rialto and San Marco are crowded. The crowds diminish by 5 or 6 PM.
My advice is to ask Carlo where the terrific pastry shop/cafe is near the apartment and either eat breakfast here or bring back croissants and pastries to the apartment and make coffee or tea there. For lunch we mostly bought sandwiches from the many bars on Calle Fabbri which is one of those main ways between Rialto and San Marco and ate them in the barsor brought them back to the apartment.
The rental's living room windows open right onto three canals. One of the canals is the route that gondolas with music travel. So during the day you will hear music and singing below as you see the gondolas pass by. It was terrific.
We never cooked in the kitchen although it's fully equipped. We went out every evening. My advice is NOT to fall into the nearest restaurant you pass. We did twice and it wasn't very good food and rather overpriced. Get a map and locate Salizzida(sp) San Provolo very near the backside of the Church at San Marco. It is a wide street with lots of restaurants with outdoor seating along the way. Continue on to Fondamenta del Osmarin where there are more cute restaurants, and then finally connect with another Salizzida del Greci which is still another wide street with shops and restaurants along the way. The first Salizzida.....San Provolo is, as you are facing The Church at San Marco, on the left. Just continue on to the left of the church and you will see the wide street .. Keep walking, there will be many great places. The point is to stay away from the two or three main tourist avenues connecting Rialto and San Marco.
This apartment is great. The price is right. A single hotel room would cost you the same or more. It's true. Check it out. It's a good value, in a good location. And oh yeah, ask Carlo where to get gelato. Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: There is some antique furniture in the apartment that is delicate and fragile. It's nice to have such nice things in our surroundings but we avoided them in fear that we might harm them. Maybe they should be replaced with sturdy furniture?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CudaRoo
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a wonderful apartment”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was great and the location perfect. Carlo met us when we arrived in Venice and led us through the narrow winding streets of Venice to the apartment. Make sure you are careful to remember where the apartment is located. (Use the gelato store as your landmark.) The apartment was very nice, with some very fine furnishings. Actually, the furnishings seemed a bit delicate and Carlo warned us to be gentle with everything. This is too bad because it made us feel less at comfortable hanging out in the chairs and on the furniture. I recommend that some of the more delicate furniture gets swapped out for some sturdier, but tasteful, furniture so that we don't feel like we are staying in a museum. The kitchen was fine, but we did not cook anything except for coffee in the morning.
As for the location, it was great very close to St. Marcos Square. The window opens right out onto the canal. It was an amazing view. Loved it! One tip, make sure to ask for a couple of keys so that some can explore if others are tired and need to head back to the apartment.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing