We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a cafe”
Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #500 of 2,102 Restaurants in City of Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Much more than a cafe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very good wine here and also lovely setting in the square and good food, avoid the busier areas and eat at this little gem of the slightly beaten track

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bumble1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    234
    112
    55
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not worth your money”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

It was busy, so I took that as a good sign, but I was wrong. First the bread they bring you was hard as a rock and dry. I asked for olive oil and balsamic twice and still didn't get it. The bruschetta was so over salted it was almost uneatable. While the pasta was the best part, it actually needed salt as there was not enough!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Direttore at Le Cafe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Gentile Signore do you mind to tell us when and at what's time you was in our Café it will help us to understand who's not doing well his job?
Thank you!
Regards
Il Direttore
David Do Nascimento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“No wonder that Le Café is always busy”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We returned here a couple of times for dinner during our latest stay and we shall come again the next time. The location in the Campo Santo Stefano is delightful – there is so much going on you can just sit and watch the world go by (almost literally judging by the number of languages heard).

The food is good and the menu is varied, you don't have to eat pizza. Service was friendly and efficient: an advantage of "service included" is that you can hail any waiter rather than just the one who served you first. It is no wonder that Le Café is always busy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,492 reviews
538 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“On A Sunny Spring Day”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Coming into the Campo Santo Stefano on a sunny date, looking for a lunch venue. There are a number of possible restaurants and cafe's but this was the busiest and just as we passed a table became vacant. Therefore an easy choice to make. Friendly and efficient staff with fair prices plus an extensive menu. Add to this a great view watching the busy square and we left refreshed to continue our exploring of the City.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We returned here twice during our weekend stay.

Great location, especially for people watching.

The pasta and pizza was fab, service efficient with smily staff and no cover charges (free bread and sticks)!

Highly recommend.

X

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piglett81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing