We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee!!”
Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #493 of 2,100 Restaurants in City of Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Coffee!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch and the service was quite good and the food was ok. But what I would recommend is to stop at Le Cafe either mid morning or afternoon for honestly the best coffee ever. The view out onto the square is also very lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    234
    112
    55
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worst pizza we had in 2 weeks in Italy”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been here in Italy for 2 weeks - Rome, Tuscany, the Riviera and Venice. We have eaten out lunch and dinner every day. This place has terrible pasta - boiled dry noodles with bland sauce that was embarrassingly called "Bolognese" - far from it; more like Ragu from the jar. And the pizza is by far the worst we have had in Italy - reminded me of frozen microwave pizza. Nothing against the servers or the location but he pizza was simply unbearable and would not even be acceptable at a restaurant in the US. I left more than half of it on the plate. Just go somewhere else unless you are looking for a basic sub sandwich or a crepe, both of which were passable. Virtually any other place around will serve you better pizza and pasta. If you want an American style cocktail, however, they seem to have that figured out. Oh - and if you sit outside you will be swarmed by pigeons at a dirty table. Sounds fantastic right?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Much more than a cafe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very good wine here and also lovely setting in the square and good food, avoid the busier areas and eat at this little gem of the slightly beaten track

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bumble1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not worth your money”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

It was busy, so I took that as a good sign, but I was wrong. First the bread they bring you was hard as a rock and dry. I asked for olive oil and balsamic twice and still didn't get it. The bruschetta was so over salted it was almost uneatable. While the pasta was the best part, it actually needed salt as there was not enough!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Direttore at Le Cafe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Gentile Signore do you mind to tell us when and at what's time you was in our Café it will help us to understand who's not doing well his job?
Thank you!
Regards
Il Direttore
David Do Nascimento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany/UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“No wonder that Le Café is always busy”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We returned here a couple of times for dinner during our latest stay and we shall come again the next time. The location in the Campo Santo Stefano is delightful – there is so much going on you can just sit and watch the world go by (almost literally judging by the number of languages heard).

The food is good and the menu is varied, you don't have to eat pizza. Service was friendly and efficient: an advantage of "service included" is that you can hail any waiter rather than just the one who served you first. It is no wonder that Le Café is always busy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing