We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White water rafting in Franz Josef area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecorafting - Day Tours

Ecorafting - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ross
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Booking booth located at the Fox and Franz Heli services building on the main road in Franz Josef Glacier.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“White water rafting in Franz Josef area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This was a highlight of my trip to New Zealand. Although more expensive than your average white water rafting, it is well worth the expense. You get a beautiful helicopter flight in, incredible scenery, free lunch and an absolutely awesome and thrilling ride down rapids and gorges. Must do!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamCator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hike in Raft out wanganui river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My Wife Ange, Niece Jade her other half Rueben & Myself did a trip in Jan this year (2013) with Ecorafting's Josh & Graham and We loved it ! the service, hospitality & out right effort to make it a great trip was first class right from the start - we were to meet them at the bridge over the Wanganui river but this had been part washed away and closed / out of use, no problem - Josh & graham rafted across picked us up rafted us back across so as we could do our trip ! which involved a hike up river for a few hrs, an overnight camp with josh cooking for us on a open fire, & some hot pools, having a few beers and swapping stories, then a great raft out the next day - Fantastic ! - followed by more kiwi hospitality as the bridge was now open Josh made us lunch at his house before we continued on our holiday. Hopefully there will be a next time and we WILL use Ecorafting again. :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshua m, Owner at Ecorafting - Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Hi Jade,

Glad we could get you up there! We also had a cracking time and it was a pleasure hanging out and camping with you and your family. Drop us a line next time you and Reuben are up for another rafting mission.

Thanks again,

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“From family fun to tough grade 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Me and my wife did 3 trips with Josh & team.
Mokinui grade 2-3 family
Buller river grade 3-4
Whataroa heli rafting grade 4-5
So we have full range of experience to share :)
1st of all I want to thank Josh for fantastic hospitality, we planned to go Karamea multi-day but due to high water level it was impossible, and Josh offered to stay with them as we didn't booked any hotels or that period.
Now about the rafting itself
+
Safety.
Which is important for either G2-3 or G5 rapids. All instructions clear. All equipment in good shape. Even on-the-water practice. Just don't panic, follow the rules and you'll be safe.
Additional activities.
On Buller river there is a very nice cliff-jump option. Lots of fun. On Whataroa you'll have the opportunity to swim under waterfall then jump into it. Also lots of entertainment.
Rivers themselves.
Fantastic scenery, especially on Whataroa.
Rapids.
Hell yeah! Just talk to Josh, they can find the suitable level of risk for you. Grade 5 on Whataroa were cool.
Video&photo. Feel free to use your GoPro, they even may find you a helmet with GoPro slot. They use GoPro also, don't remember do they charge sth for that or not. Remember! Best view for camera is on the back of the boat on instructors helmet

-
Food supply may be an improvement option. Adding meat to the taco's is definitely a good idea. Paddling eats a lot of energy it can't be restored by vegetarian food (all vegetarians, sorry :)

As the summary NZ is really good rafting country, and Ecorafting is definitely the rafting operator which will allow you to unveil all rafting secrets there! Recommend!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreyT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshua m, Owner at Ecorafting - Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Hi Andrey, thanks for the feedback mate and sorry we couldnt get you on the Karamea due to all the heavy rain and flooding. Glad you guys had a good time. We would love to have you back anytime and we will see how we go with the getting to Russia/rafting mission. That may happen in a few years. Say Hi to Anistasia and keep charging!

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My boyfriend and I had never rafted before and decided to give it a go. We are both glad we did. We drove into Hokitika that morning and onto Ross that afternoon for thr rafting tour. Adam and Rich were our very friendly and entertaining guides, who ran us through all the safety and lingo before kitting us up with all the gear to keep us warm. We had a great afternoon and would recommend to anyone looking for something different to do!

Oh and beware of the sandflies!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bel085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshua m, Owner at Ecorafting - Day Tours, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We're glad you had a great day out and thought highly of our staff - we will pass on the message! We have since discovered a new secret weapon to guard us from the sandflies so if we see you again hopefully they won't be so pesky. Cheers guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
“Fabulous Day - Awesome Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I can't say enough good things about the day we spent with Josh and his team. My husband and I, who had not done any significant white water rafting before, did the heli-ecorafting trip down the Whataroa. WHAT A BLAST! Not only did the guys make it fun, but they also took every precaution to make it safe. The helicopter trip up to the top was insane, but the gorge they take you through will absolutely blow your mind. There was another group with us who were new as well and Josh's team really took the time to guide them down the river. This is the best thing i've done in New Zealand hands down . . . it is a must.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tkofol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshua m, Owner at Ecorafting - Day Tours, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thanks for the review Darcy, look us up when you get back to NZ and come on one of our multi day expeditions. Have a cracker new years and stay happy and healthy.

Josh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecorafting - Day Tours also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Ecorafting - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing