We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel to expensive”
Review of Hotel El Marques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Marques
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Atacames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nicest hotel in the town of Atacames and probably the most expensive, the room did not have a toilet tissue holder, not because it at fallen from the wall, no it was non existent, shower head really basic, shower curtain rod was barely holding, only one table night lamp was broken, bed was not the quality for an hotel hoping to be a 4 our more stars, only 2 small pillows, average hotel, way to expensive for the offer.
The owners should re-invest to give back the statute it probably once had

Room Tip: Good location across the street from the beach, probably least expensive ones along the coast in tha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mychka-tsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Marques
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

El Marques is said to be the nicest hotel in Atacames and it may well be, and that's very sad. Old rooms, out-dated decor, tiny uncomfortable bathrooms... And for $120 a night. Clean and safe, however.

Room Tip: If you can stay a bit farther away, in Tonsupa, there is a B&B there that gets good reviews on T...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruffwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hotel El Marques is one of the nicer hotels in Atacames, but also one of the most expensive hotels in Atacames. The style of the hotel, rooms and restaurant is similar to a Hilton or other chain hotel in the United States. The furniture and decor in the rooms were well-kept and everything worked in the rooms. The restaurant is nice and actually reasonably priced. There is a daily hot breakfast included in the price of the room and we found the food to be good and fresh. We found every restaurant in Atacames to be very expensive to other places in Ecuador. In fact the prices for food are even more expensive than many seaside restaurants in the United States. Back to the hotel, the pool is nice but very cold compared to the ocean. The ocean is actually across the street. The hotel does not have direct access. Overall, I would recommend Hotel El Marques especially if you are looking for convenience and features found in hotel chains you would most likely find in the United States.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is definitely the best hotel at Atacames beach. Hotel staff is very friendly and try their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Rooms are large but they are not very homey.
Breakfast is so so ...
Restaurant has very limited lunch/dinner options but there are many options in walking distance from hotel.
There is small ice cream shop at hotel property. You can get an excellent fresh juices there.
Atacames beach is great beach. You can walk for hours enjoying not crowded beach.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Considering the standards of hotels in Atacames, this hotel really makes a difference. Very secure, clean and well managed. I stayed here last year and was pleased with all the services I ejnjoyed of.

Congrats to the staff and owners for proving a good option in Atacames.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My Ecuadorian family and I liked El Marques hotel. We rented a "quintuple" room and we were all happy with the view and the room cleanness. The hotel had wifi included which was a huge plus and cable TV. We were able to walk to the beach and around with no troubles and getting back inside the hotel was convenient since we had hotel's wristbands. The only BIG complaint I had was that we had to wait for towels by the Hotel pool. At the end we did not get them and had to walk upstairs dripping water from the pool. A safety concern that you should be aware is if you want to open the window be aware that there is no fencing at all!!
I did not mind the loud music during the day because I love salsa very much.
The breakfast buffet was awesome. Probably one of the best here in The coast. Everything was fresh and the waiter was prompt to clear the table so we have a clean space.
Overall I had a good experience, it is worth the price if you consider the factors mentioned above.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Pricey for ecuadorian standards. Poor service. Lack of carachter for a called "4 star".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atacames
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club del Sol
Hotel Club del Sol
#5 of 10 in Atacames
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul
Hotel Cielo Azul
#2 of 10 in Atacames
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Paraiso
Hotel Costa Paraiso
#4 of 10 in Atacames
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
#1 of 2 in Tonsupa
90 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Estuario Internacional
Hotel Estuario Internacional
#4 of 4 in Esmeraldas
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juan Sebastian
Hotel Juan Sebastian
#7 of 10 in Atacames
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Marques

Address: Malecon de La Playa y Los Crotos | In Front of the Beach, Atacames 080150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Atacames
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Atacames
Price Range: £57 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Marques 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional staff and modern rooms and facilities make our hotel the best choice in Esmeraldas province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing