We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battle Harbour 2014”

Battle Harbour National Historic District
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent two days on this charming rock in August 2014. It proved to be an authentic experience we are eager to repeat. The rooms were well appointed and have been renovated with every attention to detail. The meals were delicious and prepared with local produce where possible. We highly recommend Battle Harbour as a must see on your tour to Newfoundland and Labrador.

Thank mclareab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our goal was to get to know 'The Big Land' - Labrador. It truly is big, big wilderness, big natural resources, big sea and a big adventure. Battle Harbour was to be the icing on the cake after a two week Labrador trek from Blanc Sablon, Quebec to Nain, Labrador and back. The anticipation was high in our little group of four. Upon arrival we were walked to our accommodations - a truly stunning authentic cottage. Peter (the staff) complained about the guests who had left earlier that day.(!) Upon settling in we then went to lunch-fish cakes presented as they would have been at a high end restaurant in the city...not 18 or 19 century Labrador.(!) Next was the tour of the restored buildings. The amount of work already gone into the restoration this site is amazing...but not complete to the point of being open for tours. One building contained left over furniture, others contained only the wood it was built with.(!) The tour was long and repetitive. Next came supper. Again, there was no choice with food, nor was there authentic Labrador food. Another attempt at city fine dining.(!) There was no socializing, no entertainment, just eat your no choice meal and go back to your cottage.(!) Once darkness came the only life was a fire at the far end of the community(supposedly for some of the staff) to which guests were not invited. The next morning we ate breakfast (no choice, not traditional period food!) and went back to the mainland. My dream of seeing the Battle Harbour my Dad had gone to in years gone by, didn't happen. Battle Harbour is hauntingly beautiful and serenely amazing. The cultural experience was a bust.

1  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BattleHarbour, General Manager at Battle Harbour National Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hello Sally,
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you were looking for. I am even more sorry that you felt I was complaining about other guests. I will make sure to not comment on others in the future. I obviously felt comfortable in your company.

I am not sure if you were made aware that Battle Harbour was on the brink of not opening last summer. Something had to change. One of those things was the menu. Cuisine is an important part of most travelers experience, as it was for you. We have attempted to present meals as you described, traditional (fishcakes) with a touch of fine cuisine. To make Battle Harbour sustainable, we must offer what the traveler is looking for. We will never satisfy everyone, but we want to present a favorable experience to most. Further to this, we now have a four day menu and do not offer a la carte. This is a common practice at many tourist destinations. That said, we do offer alternatives for guests with allergies or other dietary restrictions. As we move forward, we will certainly look at the possibility of offering a choice for meals.

I will say that we are more than complete to be open for tours. We are a working site and the buildings you describe are for storage and not part of the exhibit. I will make sure that these doors are kept closed in the future. Thanks for pointing that out.

I will agree with you on your comment of the entertainment at the time of your visit. Since then we have opened 'The Loft', our common area. Guests may gather there for a drink and some good conversation. The lack of entertainment is also something we are working on. Next summer we plan to have an entertainer at the Loft each night. We are also looking at some other forms of activities for guests.

I am not sure what the fire was that you saw at the other end of the Island, but it might not have been staff. There are local cabins on the Island, and they might have had a fire. We are looking at activities like evening campfires as we move forward next season.

The Battle Harbour Historic Trust is working hard to ensure that this national treasure remains open for decades to come. We appreciate your comments as they will help us fine tune the site and the activities we can offer to make sure that happens.

Sincerely,
Peter Bull
Executive Director
Battle Harbour Historic Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Battle Harbour is a great experience! Wonderful scenery, great accommodations and food, but most of all exceptional staff! A trip to Battle Harbour is like a step back in time, a true Newfoundland experience! It is great value for your money and we highly recommend it! The road to Mary 's Harbour is not paved yet but is under construction and is in good shape. The ferry ride to the island is also fun! Don' miss this unique experience

Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We traveled to Battle Harbour with 2 small children. The gravel road from Red Bay was a bit of an adventure, but part of the experience. The road is being improved currently, but make sure you have a good spare tire (we needed it). We stayed 3 nights and easily could have been there a week. The island is breathtaking. There was coastline to explore, a place for a beach fire, room enough for some kite flying for the kids, and various hikes. One place not to miss for hiking is the Great Caribou Island, just across the "tickle". Staff on Battle Harbour can arrange to transport you there (a 1 minute boat ride). For the adults, the quiet and the beauty were lovely. Every place you looked was gorgeous, and photo opportunities abound. Numerous icebergs greeted us on the way from Mary's Harbour, including one particularly stunning arched berg. One fun adventure was snaring some "bergie bits" from an iceberg that was breaking up close to shore. Not having to cook was fabulous, as the meals were delicious. We loved the kitchen staff. They adapted to our small kids and balanced all our food requests with ease and grace. It was through them, as well as other staff members, that we were exposed to what life in Battle Harbour once was like. A trip here is so much more than just ticking off a list of sites. You really get a flavor of a unique place that played an important part in Labrador's history. We are so glad we went, and would recommend staying for multiple nights, if at all possible.

2  Thank BTET76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BattleHarbour, General Manager at Battle Harbour National Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks for your kind words. You are right, to do the Island justice you need to spend at least two nights. Hopefully the road will be paved sooner than later. Come back again when your kids are bigger :-)
Sincerely,
Peter Bull
Executive Director
Battle Harbour Historic Trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

On my recent bus tour of Newfoundland & Labrador, we were privileged to spend one night on this glorious island to explore and whale watch of which we saw many! After watching a wonderful sunset, we spent a quiet, peaceful night under the stars! The meals were wonderful also. For anyone who enjoys the great outdoors, this would be worth a trip.

Thank bruken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battle Harbour National Historic District also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
Labrador, Newfoundland and Labrador
 

Been to Battle Harbour National Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing