We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convivial place to imbibe”
Review of Casa la Nuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa la Nuez
Ranked #3 of 3 Almedinilla B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A convivial place to imbibe”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A very friendly welcome awaits you at the Casa Oasis.
The bedrooms rooms are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms - huge.
The terrace overlooking the garden and pool is a lovely place to sit and drink a glass of wine in the evening, before climbing down the spiral staircase to the patio for an evening meal.

The location is excellent if you want somewhere central from where you can visit Granada, Cordoba, Alcala Le Real, Iznajar.... and a multitude of interesting mountain towns and villages.
The local town Almedinilla has some very interesting attractions and the local tourist guide was excellent escorting us between them. (Jan phoned up beforehand on our behalf and oiled the wheels).
There are plenty of walks within driving distance of Casa Oasis, the tourist office in Priego de Cordoba was very helpful in providing a map of the National Park and highlighting several walks to us.

Mike and Jan are fantastic hosts willing to share their house with you, whether just for breakfast, coffee or the full evening meal and drinks experience.
Be prepared to imbibe the 'odd drink or two'!

There are a couple of tapas bars in Silerias, about a twenty minute walk away and a couple of restaurants in Almedinilla. If you want anything more elaborate though - you will have to get in the car.

All in all a very pleasant holiday - we highly recommend Casa Oasis.

Rog & Lin

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcwisleofwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We absolutely loved our short stay at the Casa Oasis, everything about it is
faultless. Our room and en suite were beautifully furnished and scrupulously
clean. The garden and pool is very attractive and it was lovely to have
breakfast served on the patio. Most memorable of all, though, is the
friendliness and attention from the hosts, Mike and Jan. They made us feel
like close friends from the moment they greeted us on arrival. We had intended
to stay for just bed and breakfast but after trying Jan's beautifully cooked and presented meal on our first night we never tried anywhere else..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Casa Oasis is a comfortable appointed retreat with everything you need to get away. The area is beautiful and serene and an easy drive to many of Cordoba's best gems. The rate is incredibly affordable and dinner can be added on for a very nominal upcharge. Hands down the best part of this retreat though are Jan and Michael, the owners and hosts. They can guide you on where to go and what to see, what to buy while you're there and where to dine. That said, once you spend an afternoon with them you won't want to go anywhere, just stay and enjoy their company. Friendly, fun, funny and unbelievably hospitable, I am a fan of Jan and Michael's for life!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMRenfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassy Creek, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My daughter and I were traveling in the olive country of Spain because I was doing a bit of research on the olive oil industry. I found Casa Oasis right in the center of where I needed to be--out in the olive trees in the triangle made by Cordoba, Jaen and Malaga. We both had a most enjoyable time in Jan and Michael's home. We felt welcome from the first moment to the last. My daughter (30) might have been bored with that part of our trip had it not been for their hospitality and conversation. NOT BORING. Jan and Michael are great fun. We enjoyed delicious meals served with wine, and Jan did our laundering so we could be out and about.They offered guidebooks and good advice, and a pleasant space. We didn't have time to enjoy the nice upstairs patio so we will have to go back. We regretted spending more time in Malaga than here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this delightful B & B run by Jan and Mike who were welcoming and very hospitable. We were impressed by the style and decor of our room and adjoining spacious bathroom. We had beach towels provided which was a nice suprise. Breakfasts were served on a pretty patio area. The table was covered with everything you could possibly want. We loved the scrambled eggs (courtesy of the chickens at the end of the garden), the fresh bread and best of all the freshly brewed coffee. Evening meals were just as impressive and leisurely. From our terrace there were breathtaking views over the garden to the olive tree covered mountains. All in all we had a very relaxing few days enjoying the good food, good company and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priego de Cordoba, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We could not have chosen a better place for our quite, relaxing weekend with a spotless, comfortable room, fantastic food and JAN & MIKE, who are the "salt of the earth", NOTHING was too much trouble for them, in fact the perfect hosts.
Highly recommended as a central touring base (Cordoba - Granada - Jaen provinces) or as a perfect chill-out hideaway, as it was for us.
With our thanks, Brian & Geri.

Room Tip: Both rooms are of equal size (as are the bathrooms) one with a double & one with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We ( two couples) stayed with Jan and Mike for five nights in mid June 2012. We arrived with an itinerary of places to see which at our request Jan improved out of sight! Jan cooked a great paella on our first night and she and Mike were fabulous hosts for pre dinner drinks each evening. Incredible value and a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueCMelbourne196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa la Nuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa la Nuez

Property: Casa la Nuez
Address: Calle Los Rios 19, 14813 Almedinilla, Spain (Formerly Casa Oasis)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Almedinilla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Almedinilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa la Nuez 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Nuez, a B & B for up to 4 people (and up to 2 children extra). You will stay in a typical Spanish house in the Andalusian style. One room has a double bed, the other two single beds that can be pushed together. We offer free wi-fi, bathrobes, a private terrace and access to the enclosed garden with swimming pool, sun terrace and shady spots. Each morning we will make sure fresh bread, milk, coffee and tea are ready when you wake up. In the afternoon we prepare a light lunch or comida as in Spain if you want and in the evening you can sit down and enjoy dinner. It is alternated between local and international cuisine and Belgian classics. Reservation in the morning at breakfast so that we can buy our ingredients fresh in the store or on the local market. Many customers come to us to visit the region with the Alhambra palace in Granada, the Mezquita in Cordoba. Granada is easily accessible in less than an hour. The Alhambra is one of the most beautiful historical palaces in Spain. It is strongly recommended in advance to order your tickets and if you want we can help you. Granada has so much to offer you can spend several days there walking around. At just over an hour away is Córdoba. A magical place with a very compact historic area. It is one of the most amazing cities of the Moorish period with flamenco festivals and local markets. Other very beautiful sites to see are Priego de Cordoba, Zuheros, Zagrilla, National Park Subbetica and Antequerra. And Caminito del Rey, the spectacular new trail through the gorge near Alora. The region around Almadinilla is so authentic and full of nature that she is a true haven for walkers, cyclists, birdwatchers and lovers of Spanish cuisine. Come on in ! Make yourself comfortable. We take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Casa la Nuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Nuez Spain/Almedinilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing