We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in the heart of Andalucia”
Review of Hospederia la Era

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospederia la Era
Ranked #1 of 3 Almedinilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at La Era for five nights in late May. We made our initial decision to visit based on the strong reviews and convenient location--within easy drive of Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla, and Malaga. The proprietors, Davinia and Raul, have created a wonderful, homey environment for their guests, and go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome. This is hospitality that truly transcends language; we spoke limited Spanish and French, they spoke limited English. Davinia, however, is taking English-language courses, and she made a heroic effort to communicate with two, fast-talking New Englanders throughout our stay.

The room was very rustic and tastefully decorated. Our only "complaint" was that water came out of the faucet into the vessel sink very powerfully, so we kept spraying water all over the bathroom! Also, La Era is on a town plaza popular with local families. Although it's nice to see kids playing out the window, it sometimes made it difficult to catch an afternoon/evening nap. In the end, we weren't in the room too often, so it wasn't a big problem for us. Rear-facing rooms are probably more quiet. We did, however, enjoy the view from our room, which looked out over the town to the olive-covered hillsides beyond.

The inn itself is in a fascinating older building. My understanding is that it used to be the community threshing facility, and you can still see the architectural evidence of agricultural use. There are no electric lights in the communal areas at night, only charming lanterns. The pool area is relaxing, surrounded by fruit trees. Breakfast is out on the patio, weather and temperature permitting.

While we appreciated both the hospitality and the accommodations, the food at La Era really put our stay over the top. Breakfast is a slow-food experience in multiple courses, with an emphasis on house-produced or locally-sourced items. Local breads, a wide variety of regional olive oils, homemade yogurt and jams, house-made cured meats, and always a sweet ending...our breakfasts were a highlight of every day. We had to leave quite early the day we departed, and Davinia and Raul were so accommodating to wake up extra early to see us well fed and on our way.

Dinner was also tremendous. One night we ate in Priego, but after that, we realized we could get a better meal at La Era! This is simple, wholesome food beautifully prepared. In particular, we appreciated the large, fresh salads (surprisingly difficult to come by in Spain,) as well as some of the local dishes. The salt cod, orange, and olive oil dish sounds bizarre--an absolute must try. We also enjoyed a dish of fire-roasted peppers with tuna, the salmorejo (tomato/bread soup), and all the wonderful meats. Everything is organic/bio whenever possible.

Overall, we cannot recommend La Era highly enough. Thank you Davinia and Raul for making our vacation that much more special and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hospederia la Era
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a beautiful cortijo! A cortijo is the equivalent of a caserio up north. It was basically a farmhouse where the animals occupied the ground floor, which served as a barn I guess, and the family lived above. The walls are thick to withstand the heat of the summer and the roof is barrel tiled. They have done a fabulous job of converting it to a Hospederia. It has only 8 bedrooms and Davinia and Raoul are our hosts. They are a delightful couple and cannot do enough for their guests.

Room Tip: All Organic, and great homecooking with many vegetables from their own garden. Homemade yogurt, hone...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Please don't forget to pay the bill when you leave la Era. We say that because you won't feel like you're checking out of a hotel, rather that you've just been staying with a couple of good friends. We chatted with Davina and Raul until the early hours of the morning. Although we're sure that a lot of hard work takes place behind the scenes, they are naturally kind, sensitive and easy-going hosts and nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them. So much so, that we almost felt embarrassed when they were waiting on us "hand and foot"!

Their hard work certainly is evident from the interior decor of the building. It is clear that an amazing amount of effort has been invested in the thoughtful way in which the large bedrooms and the open areas have been planned, constructed (Yes, although once inside you'll feel like the building has been there for centuries, Raul built it all himself!) and decorated. Outside, sitting by the pool in the back garden you can relax and enjoy a magnificent view out over the olive grove-covered hills.

The food was carefully prepared and presented, exciting and delicious. Davina and Raul are rightfully proud of the fact that the ingredients all are of a high quality and as much as possible is organic.

Almedinilla is a pretty and quiet, with a little square in the centre outside the local bar where (if you can tear yourself away from the hotel restaurant) you can sit and have a meal. If you have time, pop along to the Roman village (very impressive, intact mosaic floors) or the olive oil museum. The village is very well placed for day trips to Cordoba and Granada. We certainly appreciated being able to base ourselves there and avoid the hassle of having to pack and move on twice to yet another hotel.

We would go out of our way to stay at La Era again. Davinia and Raul deserve success. We wish them lots of luck with the business and hope very much to see them again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlnMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful restaurant. We really enjoyed sampling the local food and wines and also chatting to Davinia - practising our Spanish! A lovely leisurely lunch admiring the fabulous scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We just went for lunch on a cold day. But we had a fantastic meal. The food was truly Andalucian. Try the orange and salt cod salad. Sounds awful but is actually wonderful and you do not need a cosmopolitan palate to enjoy it. On a cold day the heating system is incredible and worth going for in itself. Service is excellent and the whole experience cost 40 euros including a glass of excellent house red coffee and tip! (We had lots more than just the salad). If the rooms are as good as the restaurant we will be staying there next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laera, Gerente at Hospederia la Era, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hello partner,

Thank you very much for take your time to dedicate a few words. It's wonderful for us to work with people like you, to see the faces of pleasure with a simple salad or with a heating system as old.

We look forward to seeing you the same happy faces. We wait for you!
Thank you very much again.

A hug,
La Era.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

...because I feel it will be tough to get a room here pretty soon. Staying here quickly feels more like visiting friends than like staying at a hotel. Davinia and Raul will take any effort to make you feel comfortable. When it comes to food, you can tell they are on a mission: Breakfast varies from day to day (and so does the olive oil). Dinner is organic where possible, regional, excellent, and comes at very fair prices. Rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. (There is also fast WLAN, but you'll soon have little desire spending your time in the internet)
There is not much to see or to do in Almedinilla, but it is a perfect base when you want to go hiking, biking, or just want to explore rural Andalucia. It is also a good base to visit Granada (60 minutes by car) and Cordoba (75 minutes).
This hotel made it into my favorite 5. I am pretty sure we will be back (if we get a room).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fruehstuecksdirektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laera, Propietario at Hospederia la Era, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hello couple,

First of all thank you for taking some of your time to us and wish that success.
Do not worry about the rooms that are sure to be some free for you, hahaha.
We are sure that we will see in the future and we promise to accompany you in any route during your stay in our house.

Thank you again.

Hugs from La Era.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were in la Era for 3 nights and with pain in our hearts we had to leave there.. Because it was really wonderful !!
The breakfast was very nice and everything or home made or ecological (bio) and every day a surprise, and Davinia tries so hard to speak English, so cute.. And now we are addicted to olive-oil :-)
The dinner is also very very good, we never ate lamb that tasted so good !!!
At the evening we had talks at the large table with Raul (he speaks excellent French) and Davinia about everything : biofood, politics in Spain and Belgium,....
We loved our room, typical Spanish.
From us La Era gets a 10 !! (and more if it was possible...)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laera, Propietario at Hospederia la Era, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Nancy & Carl,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write these words as magnificent of us and our home.
Great profile picture!! Hahaha
At this time of year, a good company with good conversation and the warmth of the fireplace makes our work becomes a privilege.
For us it was a pleasure to talk about so many different topics, we thank you the confidence to talk about these issues.
We are delighted you appreciate the philosophy of our cousine.
Hopefully see you soon and good luck with your future projects.
A hug from La Era,
Davinia & Raul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almedinilla
21.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
109 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Casa Olea
Casa Olea
#1 of 12 in Priego de Cordoba
402 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
282 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cortijo La Fe
Cortijo La Fe
#1 of 3 in Montefrio
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia la Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia la Era

Address: Calle Era 1, 14812 Almedinilla, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Almedinilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Almedinilla
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia la Era 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the "Hospederia la Era",in the Subbetica Mountains Natural Park, on the foothills of the Sierra del Albayate, where people once worked on the land with humility and lived on hopes and dreams, you can now enjoy our hospitality, tranquillity and friendship. Come and discover Andalusia. There are many reasons to visit, so many more to return.Our rooms, all with their own personality, greet you with the warmth and the charming tradition of Andalusian architecture, heritage of our Roman and Moorish past. Earthenware hand-made floors, authentic tiles and clay wash hand basins, lovingly restored wooden beams ... A harmonious blend of patrimony and all the comforts of our time: fully-equipped bathrooms, TV, Wifi, heating, air-conditioning ...Our restaurant radiates tradition: our homemade cuisine encapsulates Mediterranean textures, aromas, colours and flavours. Our Extra-Virgin Olive Oil with AOC, pillar of the Mediterranean diet, bonds our love and respect for the land, through an ever growing presence of organic products.Our wine cellar offers you a wide selection of Spanish "Appellations d'Origine" as well as cheeky local or regional suggestions.Relax, enjoy your stay with us.Comes the summer: cool off in the swimming-pool, get to know the surrounding area through bike rides or hiking trails, feel the magic of an evening on the moon-lit terrace ...When the seasons turn, there's just nothing like a friendly chat by the fireplace in one of our spacious lounges, a good book in the library corner, a guided visit to the olive grove during harvest (from November to February) or a tasting session of our liquid gold: discover our Extra Virgin Olive Oil of the "Appellation d'Origine Priego de Cordoba ", rewarded for its taste and quality year after year worldwide.Discover Andalusia: From our central location, you can visit the main attractions in the region without sacrificing the pleasure of a peaceful stay in our house. You'll be back in time for dinner.Explore Nature: Ancient olive groves alternate with Mediterranean forest in the heart of Andalusia: a thousand paths to walk, a thousand scents to perceive.Surprise yourself with Almedinilla: One of the most spectacular natural settings of the Subbetica region, where the successive encounters and clashes of different cultures that came before us is reflected in our rich legacy. With English-speaking guides, visit the Iberian settlement of Cerro de la Cruz, the Roman Villa "El Ruedo", declared of Cultural Interest and the Archaeological and Historical Museum, housed in one of the most emblematic buildings and sceneries of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hospederia la Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia La Era Spain/Almedinilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing