We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Very relaxing time, everything you need is to hand”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Girasol
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Girasol
The sun terrace, barbeque area Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
33 reviews
Casa Girasol
The sun terrace, barbeque area
Bedroom
Living room
Andalucian kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom looks out onto the olives
Our main house next door
Your private pool as seen from the sun terrace
Private pool in the olive grove
view from the pool towards the casita
Debbie and Jay, your hosts, enjoying Priego
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Almedinilla, Province of Cordoba, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yvonne B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing time, everything you need is to hand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The casita is very easy to find with Debbies directions, it is quite isolated so you do need a car. There is everything you might need including towels, bedding, basic spices and Debbie and Jay are a mine of information. The plunge pool is a very welcome luxury on hot days.

We loved Andalucia and visited many places in addition to spending relaxing days at home.

The food and drink in the area is excellent and very, very cheap at the moment!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The isolation and peacefulness of the place
Liked least: There were some neighbouring dogs barking a few days/nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
Totally agree you need a car, although once here, the walks are amazing. Got loads more to show you - come back soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djbpdx
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Casa Girasol because of the great reviews we had read, the attractiveness of the property, and the location. We were not disappointed.

First, Jay and Debbie were excellent hosts. They provided clear directions, a wonderful welcome, and great advice about things to do and see in the area. Thanks to them we were able to uncover some great unplanned visits and share them with family who also enjoyed these sites.

In addition to the great hosts, the casita itself was just right: clean, comfortable, the accommodations we needed and wanted, and a great place to relax. I can easily imagine (and dream of) spending more time there relaxing into the rural life that surrounds it. For us, it was a great change of pace from life at home, yet had the kind of homeyness that made it a great fit. Of course having Granny, Tonto and Mai there (the pets) didn't hurt, either.

This is a spot in the country surrounded by farms and olive groves, with bright stars at night, the sounds of crickets and frogs. While it is about 10 km from Almedinilla, the small towns that are closer provide enough (and so do Debbie and Jay) to get by without having to drive into "town" all the time. You do need a car, however, and will want to have it to see the great sights, many of which are less than 30 minutes a way.

This was a wonderful choice, and we hope to return again soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything was exactly as we were told, and better!
Liked least: Lack of WiFi, but we managed to find that in Almedinilla without a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
And you were excellent guests! Come back any time, you are most welcome x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbyCrosb...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful, unbelievably best value, happy holiday we have had so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit to Debbie and Jay’s Casa Girasol casita and guess what - it beat the first! Which I did not think possible! Once again, the casita blew us away with how pretty and well equipped it was, with such a relaxing atmosphere and the awesome patio looking out across the outstanding landscape with your own luxury sun loungers! I could spend hours lying in the olive groves, dipping in the plunge pool , and listening to the wildlife that surrounds you.

Aside from just happily relaxing and spending eh evenings sipping delicious Spanish wine (which can be bough for 6 Euros for 5 liters from the local supermarket! More than enough to get us through 10 days and share with friends!), we were blown away by trips to the local waterfalls (we felt like we were in a movie) and the beautiful little villages and towns that are no more than 10 minutes away. And we spent the most fabulous night in Granada as a treat, as that is only 45 minutes down the road.

I cannot express enough that this place is a hidden gem - people who are at all considering holidaying in Spain, let alone the Andalucía region, should immediately consider booking in here. And to top it all, you are hosted by two of the loveliest people I have ever met who will do anything they can to make your stay the best you could possible want it to be.

I am jealous of anyone who is booking a holiday from reading this review - I wish I were going back tomorrow!

Thank you Debbie and Jay x

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The environment and lanscape
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
Your home-away-from-home awaits, come back soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaineb55...
Hoylake, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, peaceful little hideaway in sunny Andalucia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous two weeks in the casita at Casa Girasol. Debbie & Jay were very welcoming & helpful., sharing the best places to visit and even tips on pickling your own capers! The casita was beautifully clean & well equipped for all weathers, the plunge pool a welcome relief from the fabulously hot sunshine. We had intended to visit Cordoba, Seville & Granada, all within easy reach but only managed Cordoba as it was too hot to be wandering the streets of a big city, so we took Jay's advice & learnt to chill Spanish style. There are so many interesting villages and historical sites to visit close by that long car journeys are unnecessary in the height of summer. The Aurora waterfalls just 15 minutes away were fabulous and we had them all to ourselves, in fact many of the sites we visited were very quite and therefore very enjoyable for us as we enjoyed the welcome peace and quiet. The drive from Malaga airport is just two hours and very straight forward. Casa Girasol, Las Navas is situated in such an interesting part of Andalucia that we are sure we will return at a different time of the year to experience some of the other things it has to offer.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The heat at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
There is so much more culinary-wise, to share...from matanza to olive picking. Hoping you are able to manage a return visit soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and great hospitality.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
We are the lucky ones - we have such interesting guests who really want to make the most of this very special little corner of Andalucia. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Ringwood, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Malaga
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2013
This is such a special little corner of Andalucia and it was our pleasure to share it with you. Looking forward to your next visit - and Dai says hi :)
Debbie and Jay x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cumbria_t...
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat with fun and friendly hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Most visitors to Casa Girasol won't need the comfort of a roaring wood burner, cosy red blankets on the bed and warm woollen throw to wrap up in, but these additions to the casita were very welcome as the first couple of evenings of our stay were cool after some unusually heavy rain in the region. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, our hosts kept us informed and entertained, and on our first evening provided us with a lovely and very reasonably priced meal. The small terrace overlooking the olives was a great place to eat our breakfast, but sadly the plunge pool couldn't tempt us out of our fleeces, even after a childhood of bathing in the freezing seas round Britain :) We left feeling we had only scratched the surface of the area; there were many things to see and do.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The sound of bird song in the olive grove at dawn
Liked least: The sound of dogs barking in the night (apparently the neighbours apologised for this)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thank you so much for the beautiful watercolour you painted of the mass of marigolds outside the casita during your stay - the bright sunny colours have pride of place for future visitors to see. You must come back to see the sunflowers!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing