We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem indeed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Villeneuve-Minervois, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

susanmadd...
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem indeed”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a really lovely stay in this tranquil traditional French village house which is beautifully furnished, well equipped and well maintained. Perfect to sit outside in the pretty courtyard garden enjoying a glass of wine and the bbq or breakfast coffee and the best croissants ever from the boulangerie just five minutes walk away. The village is a perfect location as a base for visiting other local towns and markets within easy reach and the village has a butcher, boulangerie, grocery shop, a couple of good restaurants and a bar all within a few minutes walk from the house. A gourmet food and wine tour with Vin en Vacances was excellent. We will definitely book this property again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for your five star review which is very much appreciated. It sound like you enjoyed the house and our 'real' French village to the full! Especially pleased you enjoyed the Vin en Vacances tour - Wendy and her team are so knowledgeable and a pleasure to spend a day out with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry D
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome property!!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Woderful holiday gite, in a very friendly village in the heart of Minervois wine growing region.
You only need to take a change of clothing, every thing else is completely provided.
The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, with a toilet, and bathroom on each floor.
The master bedroom at the top floor, has patio doors leading out on to a sun trap balcony cut into a portion of the roof space.
Even "British sized pillows" provided for a good nights sleep. Great heating on the chilly nights
Very handily located for trips to Carcassone, Narbonne, Bezier, Perpignan and all points of southern France, or into Spain. Great for visiting the Midi Canal and its various workings.
Locally the walk to the restored "Moulin" is worth the stroll, with a sampling of the very local wine available and to be purchased to be carried home in the rucksack
Great bar and very good artisan Pizzaria next door, with great restaurants just up the road and around the corner. Wine caves abound with free tasting and great conversations regarding the growing of the grapes and caring for the land.
Lovely visits to the beach, or to the local lake just down the road to feed the left over bread to the wild fowls and swans.
Friendly local shops with,as always in France, an artisan baker.
Reasonably sized Carrefore10 mins down the road, passing a great fresh veg and fruit stall on the way.
All in all a superb place to holiday in locally, or use as a base for visiting the area.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was better than our expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pritchmus
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were looking for a small un-touristy village where we could experience the real France, and we weren't disappointed. The house has great character and the bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and well decorated. The little courtyard with barbecue and shady palm tree is a lovely private area, where we could sit out in the sun and relax with a coffee and a book - more than warm enough even though only March. In the evenings a stroll around the village,a 'coarse' game of 'Boule' and a Pastis at Keke's bar, then back to the house and light the stove. So cosy and just what we wanted.
The quiet and well looked-after village has a butcher, baker and two good restaurants. We will book again.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was exactly what we imagined it would be
Liked least: Traffic on the Toulouse ring road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally J
Wem, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful get away from it all Christmas”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely house within a quiet village, but with all the amenities. Comfortable and relaxing. Easy travelling distance to many wonderful sites and lots of great walks right from the house. Very friendly villagers. Good local wineries, good local restaurants, good vet at Rieux Minervois for those who need one. We were able to ignore the festivities and have a rather great wind down time.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor area - great for lunches and barbecues
Liked least: King size double beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollygare...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A wonderful house with lots of charm and character, yet all the modern comforts you would expect from high quality accommodation.
The surrounding area is truly beautiful, sometimes spectacular. We found lots of places to visit, a week was not long enough.
Read Kate Mosse's novels before you visit Carcassonne and the other Cathar sites, and the history and stories will come to life.
We enjoyed using the outdoor kitchen to cook meat bought in the village. Make sure you have water on hand to dowse escaping cinders. We visited the boulangerie most mornings to buy our breakfast and bread for picnics. It was great having everything we needed on the door step. Our children (9 and 13) were quite at home here and said they would like to go back. They were particularly excited when I found a large scorpion on the roof terrace.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, charm and character
Liked least: No parking at the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyng3...
Fareham
2 reviews
“Everything you would wish for in a holiday home and much, much more.”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A centrally located property in quaint quiet French village, with a couple of restaurants, village bakery, butcher and small Spar shop, for all your day to day needs. Sitting in the local bar of an early evening and watching the starlings come in to roost, a real experience. If you like walking this is the place. Canal du Midi is on the doorstep, as is Carcossone. Love the White Compny linen.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eilin k
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful gated property in tranquil surroundings.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Delightful gated property in a most tranquil setting, with its own private courtyard, log stove and fabulous barbeque area. We ate out in two good quality local restaurants in Villeneuve Minervois and with easy access to super markets were able to cook-in and enjoy the lovely ambience of the house. We enjoyed bread from the local patisserie and inexpensive local wines.
We had such peaceful sleeps with the shutters closed in a most comfortable bed. Having hired a car we were able to explore the surrounding countryside, vineyards and got glimpses of the snow covered Pyrenesse. Also La Grasse a lovely market village where we visited the Benedictin Abbey and the beautiful Medival city of Carcassone. It is an house we would like to revisit and an area we would like to further explore.

Date of stay: February 2014
Liked best: The overall style of the property and the peaceful location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.