We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best experiences”
Review of Chateau Carbonneau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau Carbonneau
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best experiences”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Everyone of course is entitled to their opinion, but contrary to 546John's comment, we had the most perfect time at the Chateau (we visited over the same weekend). Amazing setting, beautiful Chateau, great room, delicious food, perfect hosts. We really couldn't have wished for more. We shall return & would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We based ourselves at the chateau with friends over several days, whilst attending a wedding locally. We were thrilled when we arrived (it's beautiful) and felt like we were leaving something very special when we left. It felt grand and homely in equal measures and we felt really looked after. The ever graceful Jacquie is a wealth of knowledge from local shortcuts to interesting things further afield and family's history at the property is fascinating. We had a beautiful home cooked meal prepared for us on our first night and of course, they make some very nice wine!
Thank you to the whole team.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I was one of party of seven who stayed at Chateau Carbonneau recently & had the dubious pleasure of hearing 546John moaning about the plumbing over breakfast one morning. Our collective experience of the Chateau was quite the reverse - Jacquie was a delightful & welcoming hostess & we found Heather to be charming & more than "able" & both greatly added to our enjoyment of the stay. We found the accommodation, service, food & wine to be excellent & wouldn't hesitate to recommend the chateau.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had booked for two nights in the "Piggeonaire". The owner had told us she would be away, but we would be looked after by her "able American assistant". After we had been in the room for a few minutes, there was a noise like a small jackhammer from the bathroom. It lasted for a few seconds and then re-occurred intermittently at random times. Sometimes every few minutes and sometimes not for 30 or 40 minutes. It went on all night. It was impossible to sleep. In the morning I complained to the American assistant who made no apology, but merely said "ok".
I then spoke to the owner on the telephone who to my astonishment said she knew about the noise, but claimed that it only occurred when someone in the Chateau turned on the water!
The price of the room was 125 euros. The owner had the temerity to only offer a discount of 25 euros. We eventually settled at 50 euros and left after a very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 546John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We recently took a 16-day trip through France. Essentially we circumnavigated the country starting in Paris, going to Lyon, Chamonix, Bordeaux, the Loire valley, Mont St Michel, the D-day beaches, the American Cemetery near Bayeux and then back to Paris. We used rail passes and stayed in numerous hotels, and B&B’s. Without a doubt however the best accommodations were at Chateau Carbonneau.

The Chateau is located near the village of Gensac, about an hour east of the city of Bordeaux. Set in rolling hills of the Bordeaux countryside it’s a beautiful estate that has been in the family for several generations. Wilfrid and Jacquie Franc de Ferriere are the current owners. They are wonderful, gracious and charming people and the home is grand. Even their dog “Donut”, a very large Bernese Mountain Dog, is a friendly ambassador of the estate.

Our room was the Parc room, which is upstairs in the chateau. It’s a very large room with a sitting area, closet and a huge bathroom that includes a claw foot tub and a separate walk in shower. The room looks out over the terrace in the back of the house, down the hill to the pond and off to the vineyard beyond.

Our first evening there we were treated to an absolutely delicious dinner prepared by Jacquie. Before dinner we had wine and snacks in the parlor. Their own delicious white wine, olives and nuts whet our appetites for the dinner to come. Dinner started with a tart that had cheese and red onion jam that was delicious. The entrée was duck a l’orange that was fall-off-the-bone tender. Fabulous. Dessert was a parfait of mascarpone, strawberries, raspberries and biscotti. The dinner was paired with their Sequoia wine, a medium bodied red that is delightful. Dinner the other two nights of our stay were also prepared by Jacquie and were equally as grand.

There were numerous other guests there during our stay. A couple from the Normandy area, a couple from Switzerland, a couple from England, a couple from New Zealand and their son and his wife who live in Dubai. Conversations at dinner each night centered around each of our respective homes, families, past travels, and what we each did that day or what we had planned for the next. Wine and appetizers started each evening about 7 PM. Dinner started at 8 PM and the conversations were so lively that we did not leave the table before 11:30 PM any night of our stay. With the international mix of guests, the stimulating conversation, the wonderful food and wine, and the beautiful setting, there were moments where I felt like I was in an episode of Downton Abbey, although with decidedly more casual attire. It was magical.

Not knowing the area or the distances involved, we had not rented a car, which would be advisable if you plan on seeing the countryside (supposedly the closest place to rent a car is in Libourne). However being the ever-resourceful hostess that she is, Jacquie arranged for a cab to help get us around. Her friend Sophie, who is a delightful local cabbie, shuttled us between St. Emilion, the chateau and the train station in Velines. Jacquie also arranged for bikes one day so we could ride to the market in St Foy La Grande. What a fun day that was biking through the vineyards of Bordeaux.

Our last evening at the chateau, just before dinner, Wilfrid gave all of the guests a tour of the winemaking operation, speaking to us about winemaking in general and also winemaking particular to the region of Bordeaux. We learned some new things about winemaking and also cleared up some misconceptions as well.

On the day we left, contact information was shared, bottles of Sequoia were packed into our luggage, there were hugs and pictures all around, and we felt like we were leaving our newly discovered French relatives.

I cannot say enough about our wonderful experience at Chateau Carbonneau. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UlvaZell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were recommended Chateau Crbonneau by friends and were not disappointed. Jacquie and Wilfred are warm hosts, the Chateau and the grounds are beautiful and Jacquie's cooking on the evenings she offers dinner, is delightful. Their wine is superb.
We relaxed instantly here and the table comun for dinner allowed us to meet some interesting and entertaining fellow guests.
We are looking forward so much to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Thoroughly recommend going there!
The most beautiful room and fabulous welcome.
Have started tasting the wine with friends and they love it too! I'm sure that we'll be ordering more.Would plan on going back but it's a bit remote from the areas we visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pessac-sur-Dordogne
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
124 reviews
15.9 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
798 reviews
11.3 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Domaine les Jourdis
Domaine les Jourdis
#1 of 2 in Les Leves-et-Thoumeyragues
57 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
513 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Ostal en Perigord
L'Ostal en Perigord
#1 of 1 in Velines
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Carbonneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Carbonneau

Property: Chateau Carbonneau
Address: 1 Chateau Carbonneau | Saint Emilion/Bordeaux, 33890 Pessac-sur-Dordogne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Bordeaux vineyard, Chateau Carbonneau is ideally situated between Saint Emilion and Bergerac. In a unique and idyllic setting, the chateau offers luxury accommodation and fine wines on the slopes of Pessac sur Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Carbonneau Hotel Pessac-Sur-Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing