We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an oasis!”
Review of Chateau Carbonneau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau Carbonneau
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After finishing a long and horrid drive from Marseille (in bumper to bumper traffic) we arrived in paradise! We were worried that we would miss dinner since we were around an hour late, but they had waited, and had our wine ready for when we sat down. I loved the communal dining with the other guests, and since we were all keen on trying the wine we got the chance to sample most of it - wonderful. We especially liked "La Verriere". Dinner was simple and delicious.

Our room (Jonquil) was beautifully decorated in yellow, our water bottle always full, and a very comfortable bed!

We spent a lot of time at the beautiful pool - definitely recommend it. We also drove to St Emillion and Bergerac - close by and worth a day trip!

The hosts, Jacquie, Wilfred and Heather took wonderful care of us and were very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Carbonneau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Glass House at Chateau Carbonneau was a wonderful subject to paint. I won't forget the blue shadows created by plumbago, a gift to any artist. Then everything about this elegant house is very generous, even to the point that they built a pool for the horses to cool their fetlocks in when they arrived. Here you can just drift gently into a French way of life. The owners have Kiwi connections, so all the obscure questions that occur to one, are answered completely in English.
Their ethos is simple and that is Yes, Yes, Yes, with your every need anticipated. It must be very busy for them. I would have loved to compare notes on the trees and plants in the garden. When I come to think of it though, I got busy myself and never even visited their kitchen garden, but we ate the produce every night, and it was LUSH like their wines. Best of all was dinner when everyone sat around one big table. An esprit de corps, broke out due to shared tastes. Ultimately there were some firm friendships struck. If you can't get along with people, then there's always Doughnut a huge friendly dog just typical of the family behind this well nurtured enterprise.

Room Tip: They're all good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelclarke6062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I thought the place was absolutely beautiful and really such an amazing chateau. Would definitely recommend it in summer as it has a swimming pool and a huge backyard. From there you can visit Bergerac and other really beautiful villages around. My only downside is that I felt there was minimum care e.g. we stayed quite a few nights and still nothing was ever replenished and had to squeeze the last bit of shower gel left, towels were only replaced every 2 days and even that we only had one each. Diner is fantastic but I thought really expensive vs what you would pay at a restaurant. For those with kids and families, very often diner (optional) is only served at around 9 pm and we do not finish until 11:00 by desert. The building is quite old so everytime someone would use the toilet upstairs or on the side you would hear it quite loud in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden are quite nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticoco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a beautiful chateau with a park-like garden. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and spacious. We stayed here for one night on our trip to Paris. In the afternoon we enjoyed the beautiful pool. Jacquie and Wilfried were great hosts. Wilfried gave us a very interesting tour through the chateau. In the evening we dined together with the other guests on the large terrace. We were twelve people from five nations at one table. Jacquie served us a suberb diner. It felt like paradise and we were really sorry we had to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My wife and parents stayed two nights in June 2013. We had been travelling through Spain and France and had just arrived from Bordeaux city. After much (enjoyable) traipsing around cities and towns, this was our relaxing stop before hitting Paris. We could not have asked for more. Jacquie, Wilfred, Donut and the cats made us feel right at home and are all exceptional hosts. The rooms were extremely spacious, clean, tidy and functioning to a very high standard. My wife and I stayed out in the "Pigeoneer" which is separate from the Chateau (maybe a 20 second walk) which was like being in a little house. We were most happy there. Mum and Dad stayed in the "Telephone" room which was also huge. If you want a place to chill out, relax, enjoy great house wine (the Margot is recommended in particular) and take in the fresh air of the Bordeaux country side, then it is hard to look past Chateau Carbonneau. It is a short drive to lovely nearby towns and the market in Issigeac is well worth a look. Tip: You must reserve a meal at the Chateau. Jacquie's cooking is just another thing to write home about. Very good value for money. Thank you very much once again Jacquie and Wilfred.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy and away from other guests then the Pigeoneer is a good option.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I returned to this chateau staying 5 nights in July 2013.Once again Jacquie and Wilfred made us feel very welcome and were great hosts. We enjoyed excellent dinners on the terrace on two occasions.The chateau is set in lovely quiet surroundings and the swimming pool is a good size. All the bedrooms are good and the web site has accurate descriptions. We will return and would recommend it without any hesitation. The wine is very good too!

Room Tip: Check the web site which is very clear
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hardly a day goes by when I don’t think about our time at Château Carbonneau! Jacquie made us feel so comfortable within seconds of arrival and we felt like the estate was all ours to enjoy, indulge and relax. Private, quiet, sophisticated and truly special. Jacquie gracefully attends to the house and guests and cooks amazing, delicious and beautifully dinners; working so hard from early morning to late night to accommodate a household of international guests. The estate grounds and vineyard is attended to by WIlfred who is happy to give guests a tour of the winery. The rolling hillside, cows grazing in the field, vineyard, reflection pond - all invite one to take leisurely walks. The Parc room, overlooking the expansive patio and French countryside, is beautifully appointed as well as their other individually desigend guest rooms where so much attention is given to detail. In this world, there are not many places we would return to…but Chateau Carbonneau is one of them. PS - try their wine - delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pessac-sur-Dordogne
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
136 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
880 reviews
9.5 mi away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
#1 of 8 in Montcaret
47 reviews
12.9 mi away
Les Belles Perdrix
Les Belles Perdrix
#8 of 24 in Saint-Emilion
88 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Carbonneau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Carbonneau

Address: 1 Chateau Carbonneau | Saint Emilion/Bordeaux, 33890 Pessac-sur-Dordogne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pessac-sur-Dordogne
Price Range: £84 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Bordeaux vineyard, Chateau Carbonneau is ideally situated between Saint Emilion and Bergerac. In a unique and idyllic setting, the chateau offers luxury accommodation and fine wines on the slopes of Pessac sur Dordogne. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Carbonneau Hotel Pessac-Sur-Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing