We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rustic restaurant”
Review of L'Auberge de l'ancienne poste - CLOSED

L'Auberge de l'ancienne poste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Only fresh products
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing rustic restaurant”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We passed tyhrough Rions in the day and stumbled upon this restaurant by chance, where a weding was taking place so we booked for the evening. While typically basic looking we sat on the terrace and the owner served us like friends. The food is to die for and massive portions and his meat is some fo the best we have tasted ever. It is heavy on the meat and offal side, with cote de veau and boeuf, as werll as the escargot entrée all served with bone marrow, but if you like that sort of thing, this is NOT to be missed if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StromingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Words Cannot Do It Justice"”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were fortunate to spend 3 days with friends who guided us through Bordeaux - a wonderful adventure. We saw wonderful sights and dined in many different type restaurants (lunch and dinner) but none could compare to the lunch at De L'Ancienne Poste (and that includes Paris)! From the moment we walked in, I was taken by its unique charm. I knew immediately I was about to experience something very, very special - and I did. The tables were perfectly set with blue & white tablecloths and lovely place settings. The open fireplace used for cooking was the focal point of the restaurant and was surrounded by interesting artwork, corner lamp lighting and perhaps only 8 - 10 tables for a lucky few patrons. The food presentation was exceptional only to be outdone by the quality of the food, the wonderful service and the charming chef, Jean Jacques.

We started with Escargot each individually wrapped in a very light pastry dough. I had the grilled tuna steak from the open fire pit which was accompanied by thin, long slices of squash lightly cooked in a very light oil, and a few artichokes pieces to finish off the plate. A skillet of browned potatoes was placed in the center of the table. My companions had lamb shank and steak. Dessert was a chocolate cake filled with a warm chocolate sauce and included a small glass of a nutty ice cream. The wine list was more than adequate and well priced.

I could have stayed there all day so as not to end the experience! It was truly the best dining experience I've had in a very, very long time and I eat at very good restaurants. This place is not to be missed.

Rosemarie, Sarasota, Florida

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingaro, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty, beautiful, cozy, charming owner”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is such a nice restaurant. The owner is a tall, charming man who really takes care of you in his very french way. The first reason to come here is of cours for having a long and lovely meal, but there is another reason, the medieval little town Rions is well worth a detour.
The food: innovative combinations within a French South West framework makes this a very special restaurant for this region. The plates are beautifully put together so you eat with your esthetic senses as well as your taste. All detailes are highest quality. We don't eat meat so this was a challenge for this typical meat and grill oriented restaurant, I can tell you we were surprised of quality as well as creativity. The best of all the best was the dessert, Macarons Glacés. The famous and delicious little almond pastries had been filled with homemade ice cream. Hi class service and food in an open, friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in very french ambience”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Four of us ate here on a cold grey day in February, the superb food, cosy fire and friendly ambience really warmed us.
We chose from the 34 and 39 euro menu - excellent value. The food was freshly prepared using local produce as far as was possible given this was February. Our starters were beautifully presented absolutely delicious, I can recommend the smoked trout and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his terrine. We both chose the local veal chop cooked on the fireplace in front of us and were not disappointed. Puddings also very attractively served.
Our friends were similarly impressed with their meals. We intend to return on our next visit to the area in June.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the fireplace”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I ate here recently on a recommendation from a friend. They are famous for their dishes grilled on an open fire in the middle of the restaurant, and they didn't disappoint. It has a wonderful atmosphere with the fire going. The town has a lovely feel too - a very old medieval village - and worth a wander around.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeforacuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge de l'ancienne poste also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing