We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good”
Review of Comptoir de Genes

Comptoir de Genes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$64
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visit this area at least twice a year and always make a point of booking in at this very well run Laithwaites owned restaurant. Although the menu is somewhat limited, everything we always have is tasty and beautifully cooked. The wine of course is a great attraction and you are given a glass with the set menu but that only encourages you to select more from the large range of bottles that are on view that you simply walk round the restaurant, select and hand to your waitress!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    69
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chateauneuf-le-Rouge, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just a quick easy lunch tonight, wonderful catch fish of the day, great sauvignon blanc.

Tha waitress was the owner and fantastic service.

Place to recommend.

Ronél & Daniel

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The second time we have been here and soooo good.
The food is excellent, welcome very friendly, and the experience very French .
We will be back! Already booked!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjudymwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Modern and fun”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Went here a while ago and remember it as a great dining experience with an interesting concept around the wines. You are free to walk around the many crates of local wine in the centre of the restaurant to pick and choose. The food was well presented (parfaits in little jars, plates with little impressive details such as a salad with a memorable tomato mousse). Fit for Bordeaux.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhirayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited this restaurant for the third time on a Saturday lunch time. Previously we have visited on a weekday lunch time and have had a good meal for a reasonable price. This time the meal was not so good, particularly my starter, rouleau de crevettes, which was mostly shredded vegetables with a very few tiny crevettes amongst them. Other courses were ok but at 19 euros for 3 courses and wine and coffee extra, certainly not the best value around and not as good as it used to be. Still a different place to eat so will give them another chance next time we are in the area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comptoir de Genes also viewed

Saint-Laurent-des-Combes, Gironde
 
Mouliets et Villemartin, Gironde
 

Been to Comptoir de Genes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing