We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here”
Review of Refuge Orisson

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uhart-Cize
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refuge Orisson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The walk up from St Jean Pied de Port is steep, but magical and one almost expects the fairy tale to continue, but alas it turns into a nightmare when realizing what is actually in store. We booked and paid for our accommodation at the adjoining little overflow refuge Kayola, 3 months in advance, due to this establishment being the only accommodation available before a hefty climb into the Pyrenees and down into the next town. The owner seems to have capitalized on his 'good fortune' as the only place to stay in this isolated part of the Camino walk.

We arrived in very hot weather in much need of a good shower. A few disgruntled pilgrims including myself had to do with ice cold showers, the owner later coming to our rescue in a filthy mood and spending 3 hours knocking , banging and clanging to make the plumbing work so it could emit warm water, by which time it was too late as we had already retired for the evening. Myself and my husband were then literally accosted to show our proof of booked and paid for accommodation, which was not accepted due to a sudden lack of communication. Strict instructions were laid down to not enter the rooms with shoes, however, the owner stomped up all the way into our room complete with muddy shoes from fixing the plumbing, to give his regalia in French in front of everyone, that we did not have a booking. All pilgrims unanimously agreed that our printed version with our accepted payment on our iPad was indeed sufficient proof, however, Monsieur Arrogance snorted and stomped off to save face, pretending not to speak English even though his communication to us previously was in acceptable English per email.

The following morning, we were denied breakfast of bread, jam and coffee (that was all) by him telling us "to depart" from his establishment. In all our years of travel across the globe; we have never encountered such inhospitable and rude behaviour. This was nothing short of disgusting and in future, we will rather camp on the slopes of the Pyrenees than stay at this Auberge called Orisson or the overflow Kayola.

In fact, after about 4 km of walking, we came across a very nice local guy who sold beautiful fresh fruit, muesli bars, excellent coffee, boiled eggs and his own home made sheep cheese and gammon at half the price of the Auberges' dried up bread and coffee so called breakfast which was served up in extreme haste and even less taste. We don't recommend that anyone stay at this man's place who is treating pilgrims like numbers on a conveyor belt and expecting gratification for his lame efforts.

We are well into our pilgrimage and have enjoyed very good service, food and hospitality, all who have received the same booking and payments, 3 months in advance.

Room Tip: Rather camp.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank aquacapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Refuge Orisson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Refuge Orisson last night as our first stop on the Camino Frances from St Jean Pied de Port and recommended it to everyone!

Firstly the staff are amazing. It is simply not possible to praise them highly enough. They were welcoming, helpful and attentive. They created the perfect atmosphere for a first night on the Camino.

The facilities are excellent. You can get take away sandwiches/baguetts/bocadillos pretty much all day. Dinner, lunch and breakfast were great. The rooms are good and showers and facilities are good as well.

The views from the outside deck are world class and the perfect place to have a coffee, beer, wine or orange juice!

if you are walking the Camino Frances via Route Napoleon, stop at Refuge Orisson and stay the night, even if you don't think you need it. It is worth the stop.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

As most do we began our Camino with a night in St Jean Piet de Port , the next scheduled stop is the vast Roncesvals refuge/ monestary/ church complex 23 km and a climb of 1,600 metres over the Pyrenees away. That trek and climb would take around 8 -10 hours , we opted ( as it was our first day ) to climb approx 1/2 way up the French side , 3 to 4 hours climbing for about 800m. This little auberge was a true refuge a great warm hearted welcoming place which proved a great introduction to further hospitality to be encountered as we walked the Way . A late morning start and mid afternoon arrival allows for a deserved rest and a ponder on the small verandah overlooking the just climbed valley whilst enjoying a few glasses of the local brew and wishing those more hardy souls passing by only feet away and setting out to make Spain on the 1st night -" Bon Camino ". The traditionally served Pilgrim menu was hearty and plentiful - be prepared for the host, following the communal meal , to request each present to say a bit about themselves and why they are undertaking the Camino !

Room Tip: Dorms, so - Grab a bunk quick , take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BrislBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetGourmand1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu2262, Propriétaire at Refuge Orisson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JonAlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu2262, Propriétaire at Refuge Orisson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jamila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu2262, Propriétaire at Refuge Orisson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uhart-Cize
2.0 mi away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
41 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Roncesvalles
Hotel Roncesvalles
#1 of 1 in Orreaga-Roncesvalles
262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
Logis Hotel Xoko-Goxoa
#1 of 2 in Saint-Michel
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Andreinia
Hotel Andreinia
#1 of 1 in Esterencuby
200 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ramuntcho
Hotel Ramuntcho
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
139 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Coquille Napoleon
La Coquille Napoleon
#2 of 2 in Uhart-Cize
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refuge Orisson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refuge Orisson

Address: Chemin de Compostelle | BP 13, 64220 Uhart-Cize, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Uhart-Cize
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Uhart-Cize
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing